logic103

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly as reviewed by logic103

May 19, 2019
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, B0023464-01

The actual sound of this record is amazing. It's mastered extrememly well. However, there is a fair amount of surface noise that is barely noticeable in the parts with music, but very noticeable in the spoken interludes. I tried cleaning it but it didn't change. Maybe my cleaning method isn't good enough though. Keep in mind the surface noise was there from the first play and I bought this record brand new.
MalachiLui

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly MalachiLui

May 5, 2019
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009
Avoid the in-house GZ cut EU pressing and get the US pressing cut by Scott Sedillo and pressed at RTI instead. THAT'S a FANTASTIC sounding record. I've used it to test review equipment before - it's that good.
leonthepro

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly leonthepro

October 10, 2019
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009
smurphy031
I have a 2015 EU press and 2015 US press. I think the EU is far superior, specifically in dealing with sibilance.The US pressing I have may not be the one you referenced, are there any indicators for me to find out who pressed it?

Who pressed it doesnt matter much but you can do that too. If it has SS in the deadwax then its the copy Lui mentions.
smurphy031

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly smurphy031

May 9, 2019
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009
I have a 2015 EU press and 2015 US press. I think the EU is far superior, specifically in dealing with sibilance.

The US pressing I have may not be the one you referenced, are there any indicators for me to find out who pressed it?
evertonis111

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly as reviewed by evertonis111

January 11, 2019
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, RP, Gat, 0602547311009
Fantastic pressing... I'm assuming by the matrix runouts that the original press was manufactured by GZ... This may be an improvement. Also much better than my US copy, which was riddled with sibilance and surface noise (Which this does not have) Definitely worth importing an EU copy if you're in North America!
drogariasneptuno

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly drogariasneptuno

June 5, 2018
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, B0023464-01

Kendrick's a goat and he had created one of the biggest albums of this all century.
nsomers59

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly nsomers59

March 20, 2018
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, B0023464-01
Pressing sounds good, however there are a few issues. First, the center hole was a little too small so I had to shave it down a little with a razor blade.

Second, both discs are slightly warped. It's not enough to get a replacement or affect the sound quality, but it bothers me a lot when I buy a new record and it's fucking warped. This might be Amazon's fault because that is where I bought it, but there's also little spots on the dead wax that look kind of wavy as well.

The last issue is the gatefold sleeve. It's incredibly thin, like it bends on its own when I open or close it if there isn't a disc inside. I don't have any other records with a sleeve this thin it's kinda crazy that someone thought it was acceptable. Probably why its warped now that I think about it.

But at the end of the day, the records sound good, so I can't complain too much
therealericmontana

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly as reviewed by therealericmontana

November 20, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009

The sound on this pressing really is amazing. One of the best sounding records I own.
JM92

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly JM92

July 30, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009

Best rapper of the decade (although that isn't saying much), a greater compliment is that he stands alongside the greats of the 90s. He makes true masterpiece albums in the classic album era style. Truly compelling albums, tied together with spoken word pieces and fantastic music, jazz can turn to funk in an instant, you don't want it to end; "Art-Rap", Hip Hop at its finest. The European vinyl pressings are excellent also.
sconejohn

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly sconejohn

April 19, 2019
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, CD, Album, AFTMB002295802CD
hahahahahha thats a good joke bruv! thats going in my diary
synth_

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly synth_

July 23, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, B0023464-01

Best Jazz-Rap album of 2015 in my opinion -- I really found the direction Kendrick took with his sound on this album less commercial, but overall most enjoyable compared to his other works.

The vinyl itself sounds great!
braco.v

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly braco.v

May 16, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009

Really nice pressing. On my copy the matrix readings are:
4731100-A 135561E1/D
4731100-B 135561E2/H
4731100-C 135561E3/H
4731100-D 135561E4/H
melonhead57

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly as reviewed by melonhead57

May 2, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Unofficial, Cle, AFTMB002295802LP

Sound is OK. Tracklist is different than official release. Sleeve quality is average. Would prefer the official release.
conditionals

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly conditionals

April 30, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009

Not the biggest fan of this album, or Kendrick in general, but this was a purchase I'll never regret. This pressing sounds absolutely fantastic. King Kunta is smooth as all hell.
rahbical

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly rahbical

February 18, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009
really really great pressing of this wonderful album, very bassy and full of life! My only problem with this pressing is the same as whats been stated by others, the front cover image is very low quality, though with the quality of the rest of the pictures, it might have been intentional? Anyway, beautiful pressing, highly recommend!
nIdentify

Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp A Butterfly nIdentify

January 24, 2017
referencing To Pimp A Butterfly, 2xLP, Album, Gat, 0602547311009

This is amazing! I could not be more pleased to have one of my favorite albums on such a great pressing.