8bitBarry

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color 8bitBarry

November 24, 2019
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Bla + LP, S/Sided, Etch, Bla + Album, 180, RTRADLP750
It’s a ballsy edgy MF of a blues rock masterpiece. Before I bought the vinyl I was listening to it digitally and it’s so much better on vinyl - creamy sounding, less congested, tighter bass, smoother, and thankfully on super quiet vinyl (European version) and then Side C ruined it all - crackling all the way through - back to Amazon it goes - production wise it feels just a little too compressed / veiled at times and I’m sure it could be an absolute sonic masterpiece in the right hands - it’s exactly the sort of title that MFSL should remaster. I love how it utilises the stereo field, overdriven amps washed in spring reverb; it’s a signature sound throughout. I’m in love with this intelligent, fresh, explosive blues.
MrShocktime

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color MrShocktime

March 25, 2019
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

Super noisy wax and both discs are significantly warped. Pops everywhere. Music sounds great though, only if the actual vinyl was better.
austenjt

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color austenjt

July 1, 2018
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Etch, Cle + Album, Ltd, RTRADLPX750, RTRADLP750

Anyone know how many of these were printed? I like to keep track of it in the notes column.
DavePrime

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color as reviewed by DavePrime

February 2, 2018
referencing Sound & Color, LP, 180 + LP, S/Sided, 180 + Album, ATO0269

Better than the regular pressing,but not as well done as most 180 gram vinyl. Mine still has a warp, but has less surface noise than light pressing. Looking for the European pressing.
DavePrime

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color DavePrime

January 21, 2018
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

Dose this pressing clean up if you put it through a record cleaner, mine is kind of noisy out of the sleeve with some dust also.
whatnots

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color whatnots

May 18, 2019
edited 6 months ago
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

I cleaned mine with an MKII record washer. It sounds good, though crackling is still present during quiet parts.
Bodonn

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color Bodonn

October 26, 2018
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269
I'm with you. I can't figure it out—is it a mispress? Or a small batch of them were? Because straight out of the package it has been noisy as hell.
whatnots

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color whatnots

May 18, 2019
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

Yes, while sides A-C are very accessible to the layman's ear, side D takes more experience and sophistication to appreciate.
I.DIG.WAX

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color I.DIG.WAX

May 2, 2019
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

No wonder it sounds "flat". Thanks for letting me know!
blueandthemoon

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color blueandthemoon

July 9, 2018
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

You do know side D is blank, right? It's single sided.
I.DIG.WAX

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color I.DIG.WAX

December 8, 2017
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

Yeah. I thought the same thing. Sounds so flat compared to the other sides. Oh well, I'll just enjoy A-C.
davosmall83

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color as reviewed by davosmall83

April 27, 2017
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

Good sound on this pressing. I am very happy with it.
airwolfmach2

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color airwolfmach2

April 20, 2017
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269
Still for sale in this clear vinyl 2xLP gatefold set from Barnes & Noble as of April 2017.
thegroovyguru

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color as reviewed by thegroovyguru

March 2, 2017
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269
I have the gatefold cover that contains no records! These were being given away on Record Store Day! Were the records sold separately to be inserted into these covers, or was this just a promotional gimmick? I own four Mint gatefold covers, but none contain the vinyl! Please help!
MutinyRecords

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color MutinyRecords

September 30, 2016
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269
I have a promo CD version that comes in a booklet that has lyrics, photos, credits, press quotes & accolades, "about the album" liner notes, and also contains an additional CD of music videos. It does not seem to have a unique catalog # on it.
KcEatEva

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color KcEatEva

March 25, 2016
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Bla + LP, S/Sided, Etch, Bla + Album, 180, RTRADLP750
Were all these press done by United records? Anyone have any info on this?
Martin_Technics

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color Martin_Technics

January 4, 2016
referencing Sound & Color, LP, 180 + LP, S/Sided, 180 + Album, ATO0269

WOW! Perfect pressing. Records are flat with a little film of mold release agent(?). Dead silent: no ticks, pops nor clics. No sibilance. The sound stage is wide and the signal to noise ratio is quite high. Dynamic pressing. The bass and drum are "organic" and you can hear the instruments as if they were in the same room. I am a happy customer.
whenkittensatk

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color whenkittensatk

October 13, 2015
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

New to vinyl and this is one of the better records I own for sound quality.
erik7778910

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color erik7778910

July 28, 2015
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269
Same thing on my copy, edges are pretty rough too.
LeonardoA

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color as reviewed by LeonardoA

May 31, 2015
referencing Sound & Color, CD, Album, HN1234CD
Before the first album of Alabama Shakes came out kluste Brittany Howard at as a postman. After the debut album of her group cheering was received, the frontwoman of the group not go back to the post. The Group was on the largest stage of Lowlands and also in their own group did the United States well. The debut was nominated for three Grammys. The good news is that successor Sound continues where the Group remained unperturbed & Color was. Alabama Shakes pit still from the sources of the blues, soul and rock from the deep South of the us. With her distinctive voice adds Howard there is definitely something to it. She begs, lisps, screams and cheers in eleven memorable songs. The production of Dan Auerbach is full of finds that further lifting the height in the songs. Alabama Shakes put her victory with the inspired Sound & Color on.
antipho

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color antipho

November 16, 2015
referencing Sound & Color, CD, Album, HN1234CD
Auerbach wasn't involved in this album, but Blake Mills did co-produce with the band. As I do with every chance I get, I recommend that anyone reading this check out Blake Mills' solo albums. Two incredible pieces of work.
juhpopey

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color juhpopey

May 7, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269

Pressing isn't so great. Lots of noise. As expected from United.
notquitefaust

Alabama Shakes - Sound & Color notquitefaust

May 15, 2015
referencing Sound & Color, LP, Cle + LP, S/Sided, Cle + Album, ATO0269
mine is pretty quiet. then again, i even run my new vinyl through a RCM before playing. i think it sounds great!