mormexx

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash mormexx

January 20, 2021
edited about 4 hours ago
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
I have my copy on brown and orange colours and I must say, regardless of a boot pressing, it’s sounds very very good on my system ...my neighbors can agree too
UnexistPsycho

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash UnexistPsycho

December 29, 2020
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
Also looking for this one. And I am also looking for this one
Experia

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash Experia

December 17, 2020
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 2xCD, Comp, Ltd, Dig, WarpCD102
But hopefully then with proper versions (unedited, no mastering-upscaled MP3 versions).
Experia

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash as reviewed by Experia

November 23, 2020
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 2xCD, Comp, Ltd, Dig, WarpCD102
This compilation was in my player for weeks back when it came out. I heard it quite a long time (long enough to memorize several turning points in the music even)- why I say that? Because I was pretty surprised when I bought all original CDs these remixes are lifted from. As an entry to Aphex' remix works and his diverse range of recreations this is a good preview but sadly nothing more.

One problem is that several tracks have been edited to fit the 2xCD edition. Compared to the original remixes this interrupts the flow of the reworks to a large degree. A way more serious point- some tracks are sourced from low bitrate MP3s. "Heroes (Aphex Twin Remix)", "Your Head My Voice (Voix Revirement)" and "Deep In Velvet (Aphex Twin Turnips Mix)" are somewhat up-mastered to disguise the poorly encoded origin. Bowies rework is shrouded in heavy compression to fill the sonic gaps left by the low MP3 codec resulting in a blown-out bass. Compare it to the original Japan MiniCD and you will see why the 26 Mixes-version is subpar.
The Saint Etienne remix suffers from harsh frequencies whereas the unscathed rework on the CD sounds more balanced.
The Boa remix is taken from a vinyl copy audible at the start of the track. Also here compression reduces the joy hearing the version.

If you are able to track down the original CDs with the remixes- go ahead and do yourself a favour.
Dave_82

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash Dave_82

September 25, 2019
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
Anyone selling a copy please get in touch. Thanks sss
muted81

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash as reviewed by muted81

July 3, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 2xCD, Comp, Ltd, Dig, WarpCD102

Some interesting comments here. I think that there is some really great tracks on this comp... the baby ford, flow coma rmx, both nin mixes, gentile people ect.... some slightly anti-climactic stuff, but something different here for sure and probably something for everyone. Even a few dance floor bangers to even things out a bit... ;)
StanleyKindly

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash StanleyKindly

October 14, 2018
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
My copy sounds pretty trashed. I was expecting bootleg quality of course, but even this is a bit lower than that. Mine is the clear vinyl release (looks very slightly blue tinted), I wonder if these were later pressings and the stamper had just been used and abused? Mine is also cut a little off centre. All this aside, I still enjoy the throwing these on, it's nice to have a vinyl copy of this classic! (also, the ONLY way to own two classic Nine Inch Nails mixes on vinyl...)
medida

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash medida

September 25, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
Reading this reviews I was expecting a horrible pressing. But sound quality is really ok. I bought this album in cd when it first came out in 2003, so I know quite good how it sounds, and believe me, this is quite good for a bootleg. This -I guess- is a cd rip, maybe remastered for vinyl from already mastered cd tracks. So of course you have some sound issues, some surface noise in quiet moments (as in Nobukazu Takemura's song), etc... But this is something you expect from a bootleg!!!
Mine are clear copies. Hope a better packaging and black lps in the future. Warp, come on, listen to the people!
Lukaas18

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash as reviewed by Lukaas18

September 17, 2018
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 2xCD, Comp, RE, Jew, WarpCD102

Quite of a strong compilation. Disc 1 was good, but Disc 2 was even better.
shade1on1

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash shade1on1

August 24, 2018
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
It's garbage. Pressing sound is godawful. Sure, great thing to have but not worth it. Stay away. Seriously.
some1inmydictionary

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash as reviewed by some1inmydictionary

August 5, 2018
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
Purchased quad LP pressing, though mine is on clear vinyl. WORST pressing of any record I have ever bought. Surface noise, tiny audible bumps in the record, rough patches that sound like static each time the needle goes through them, even a random locked groove on the outside edge of a record (which would be a neat thing if someone did it on purpose, but given the huge number of other problems, i attribute it to more incompetence). Returned. Terrible. Worthless.
unusualchannels

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash unusualchannels

November 28, 2017
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
Be warned the reviews look bad. I just saw it in a local record store and opted to buy Analogue Bubblebath 1-5 instead, I am now hoping to return that.
BasseSweden

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash BasseSweden

August 21, 2019
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
Did you do it? Because Analogue Bubble bath 1-5 is pretty neat. Recommend getting it!
ArabburnvictiM

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash ArabburnvictiM

November 8, 2017
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
I grew up with this album and would love to have it on vinyl. Message me if anyone is looking to sell.

How did people hear about this release anyway? Just random digging?
musicforfreepeople

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash musicforfreepeople

August 22, 2017
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
The sound quality is quite good, all is gold, buy it.
Even it's not official, it's all well done.
onedayinmygarden

Aphex Twin - 26 Mixes For Cash onedayinmygarden

June 21, 2017
referencing 26 Mixes For Cash, 4x12", Comp, Unofficial, Col, APHEXVINYL102
Sound quality is surprisingly good - doubt this will ever get an official release so this will have to do.