funkylikklebugger

Kamasi Washington - The Epic funkylikklebugger

June 6, 2021
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
my copy looks and sounds wonderful. Nice flat records with zero surface noise
Napalm42

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Napalm42

March 4, 2021
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Right up my alley as far as composition goes. Agree with the comments, not the most audiophile pressing. When things get busy a lot of tones can get washed out by the sax. His later Heaven and Earth pressing is of far better quality, but I'm a fan of Kamasi and am just happy to have his stuff in my collection.
edgeless22

Kamasi Washington - The Epic edgeless22

January 19, 2021
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

We are talking about almost 3 hours of music, so it's 30 minutes per side. Don't expect a super audiophile pressing, it's just impossible to do it here (it would take 6x12" to make it great). The pressing is good anyway and the listening is more than decent. The packaging is lovely!
AlbertHofstein

Kamasi Washington - The Epic AlbertHofstein

November 9, 2020
edited 7 months ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
I just wonder why this record shows up in my "recommondations" list with a few certain other records about 90% of the time I click through such genres. It certainly gets heavily pushed in my face through Discogs algorithms, but hasn't reached my ears yet. Maybe some day.
martin3801

Kamasi Washington - The Epic martin3801

January 10, 2021
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Worth a listen surely. I guess there will be some "jazz experts" who play it down. I liked it quite a bit but still need to invest more time in it. I'm still in the investigative phase of jazz. I may remain that way for some time.
kraaaamer

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by kraaaamer

August 4, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

Although it becomes a little long in the tooth, The Epic is a sensational debut.

Sadly, this version is marred by a poor pressing. It's a shame because a lot of thought went into the packaging, and the physical presentation is very nice.

My records shipped with a large amount of surface noise and spindle holes that are way too small. The digital presentation of this album is vastly superior. What a shame.
drgn238

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by drgn238

March 15, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Had this one, listened for about 3/4 times...
Really tried to like it...
...bu I just don't get it !
Yeah, technically top played,Marsalis brothers are also technically one of the best!
Executed very sharp, but idoes it say anything ( at least to me ) ?
I rest my case on this one: JUST PASS ME BY !!!
DrBenton

Kamasi Washington - The Epic DrBenton

October 21, 2020
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Totally agree. Same on me here. I've been listening to jazz (bop, modal, fusion, etc.) for years, and this just doesn't cut the mustard for me either
Harrison_Bergeron

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Harrison_Bergeron

June 21, 2019
edited 8 months ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
The real question is why you wrote two identical meandering and misspelled (despite spellcheck) reviews with the same uninspired, subjective opinions, not backed up by anything except your own strange musical taste (or lack thereof).

It's almost as if you feel left out of something that other people are enjoying and resent the fact that they are enjoying it. As you tried to say but executed clumsily--time to move on
Juxienn

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Juxienn

June 10, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
And I am all for new jazz! Just not his version ;-).
Juxienn

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Juxienn

June 10, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Exactly. Had this record for some time and really tried to understand why everyone is so lyrical about it, but I just don’t like it. It’s just a rock-player trying to play jazz. It may speak to a jazz audience, but not to me... I even went as far as going to one of his shows to understand it, but I couldn’t make it through to the end of the show. For me he’s an overhyped rock-player, playing hard solo’s all of the time.
Fermented_Head

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Fermented_Head

April 10, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
I agree 100% man, never really understood the hype about this guy. The album should be renamed Fischer Price: My First Spiritual Jazz
anthonylukefoto

Kamasi Washington - The Epic anthonylukefoto

February 15, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

Great sounding pressing! Wide dynamic range with solid bass and clean treble. No noticeable surface noise even at loud volume levels.
kapervisser

Kamasi Washington - The Epic kapervisser

February 6, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
I love jazz but i sold the lp box pretty fast. For me this feels way way overrated. I absolutly agree with drgn238's post below.
Sveniboy

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Sveniboy

June 30, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
Agree, same here. Never understood how that was hyped to be a jazz X hiphop thing...
drgn238

Kamasi Washington - The Epic drgn238

October 10, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
I am busy for more then 40 years with music collecting, concerts and am open to different sorts of musical experiences.
Don't know exactly, bust probably tens of thousands of musical pieces came by.
I did really tried this one, but after several, definitely more then five times, I can not understand what should be that georgous about it.
Sounds like somebody technically very / highly skilled ( think of Marsallis brothers ) but with hardly anuthing of value to communicate / say.
Well, if someone is making his / her's aquaitance for the very first, or one of the first steps into realm of this kind of music, it's
quite easy to be impressed by all this.
I wish this guy a lot of money on his way ( to where ?), but music has not that much to do with it.
Don't mind people loving it or those hyping/pushing it,but... beat least honest and see it for what it is:
GREAT MARKETING !!!
phreakbrain

Kamasi Washington - The Epic phreakbrain

February 28, 2020
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
I'd take your opinion seriously if you could spell. .
greenartist

Kamasi Washington - The Epic greenartist

July 12, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050

Does anybody know why tracklists on CD's and on LP's differ ?
And what tracklist is correct ? Or both are correct ??
TommyVF

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by TommyVF

May 28, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

Impressive and beautiful. Just what we needed, and gorgeously backaged. I'm so glad this talent got the space needed to produce and collaborate, resulting in a pretty condensed, ambitious and massive pack of pieces. The poetic quality in the lyrics, plus the arrangements make this awesome (for me).

Thank you, Kamasi. Peace! <3
whitespyder

Kamasi Washington - The Epic whitespyder

May 15, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
After long & stressful readings on forums, i've decided to pull the trigger on this one since the boxset was pretty cheap on Amazon.fr (i mean, 35€ for a 3 LP set in a nice box, that's a steal).

Indeed, the presentation is pretty lavish considering the price. My version doesn't have the issue with the box being too tight as records and sleeves fit perfectly.

As for the pressing, everything seem fine on my system.
Since a lot of people has reported problems (mainly on the 1st side), i've listening to the whole thing VERY loud (it's pretty silent since there is so much music per side) and with great attention, and i can tell i have no real issues.
The music doesn't sound muffled or compressed on my copy... honestly, i don't know how they've managed to put +30 min on some sides without compromising too much.

I guess they had some QC problems at the beginning... or maybe i just got lucky!
lazylistener

Kamasi Washington - The Epic lazylistener

May 13, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Not sure what people are expecting when they're buying vinyl records with 30min per side. These sound fantastic for what they are, and I think the cost-cutting measures only add to the fact that more people can enjoy this on wax, rather than it being a pricey, limited 6xLP box set.
deadwaxsecrets

Kamasi Washington - The Epic deadwaxsecrets

April 7, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Purchased my copy on release & fortunately no sound issues for me, amazing pressing & what's more it's less than £30 new which begs the question how the hell are other, single LP's as much or more.