SumDumGoy

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by SumDumGoy

October 12, 2019
edited about 1 month ago
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
MY OPINION: Good thing Kamasi hired that choir and string section, otherwise I'd forget how "epic" this three-hour snoozefest is. I don't care how talented or competent or technical your musicians are... if there's no soul, your jazz album won't be worth a hoot in hell once the hype evaporates. I'm talking Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Billie Holiday... hell, I've heard more soul in Wesley Willis for crying out loud.

Also of note here is how easy it is to feign spiritual depth by sampling an amateurish speech by Malcolm X, who tries equating Chritianity, Judaism and the Muslim faith by positing that, despite the critical, incompatible theological differences between all three, they all worship the same god. (I laughed out loud when he ended that part with, "...probably.") Also, Malcom's here to extol how great the Muslim faith is. Unless you're a woman or a homosexual, of course. Guess Kamasi forgot to sample that part.

The Epic is an experienced listener's pump-and-dump, period.
kraaaamer

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by kraaaamer

August 4, 2019
edited 4 months ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

Although it becomes a little long in the tooth, The Epic is a sensational debut.

Sadly, this version is marred by a poor pressing. It's a shame because a lot of thought went into the packaging, and the physical presentation is very nice.

My records shipped with a large amount of surface noise and spindle holes that are way too small. The digital presentation of this album is vastly superior. What a shame.
drgn238

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by drgn238

March 15, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Had this one, listened for about 3/4 times...
Really tried to like it...
...bu I just don't get it !
Yeah, technically top played,Marsalis brothers are also technically one of the best!
Executed very sharp, but idoes it say anything ( at least to me ) ?
I rest my case on this one: JUST PASS ME BY !!!
Harrison_Bergeron

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Harrison_Bergeron

June 21, 2019
edited 5 months ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
The real question is why did you write two identical meandering and misspelled (despite spellcheck) reviews with the same uninspired, subjective opinions not backed up by anything except your own strange musical taste (or lack thereof). It's almost as if you feel left out of something that other people are enjoying and resent the fact that they are enjoying it. As you tried to say but executed clumsily: time to move on.
Juxienn

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Juxienn

June 10, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
And I am all for new jazz! Just not his version ;-).
Juxienn

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Juxienn

June 10, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Exactly. Had this record for some time and really tried to understand why everyone is so lyrical about it, but I just don’t like it. It’s just a rock-player trying to play jazz. It may speak to a jazz audience, but not to me... I even went as far as going to one of his shows to understand it, but I couldn’t make it through to the end of the show. For me he’s an overhyped rock-player, playing hard solo’s all of the time.
Fermented_Head

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Fermented_Head

April 10, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
I agree 100% man, never really understood the hype about this guy. The album should be renamed Fischer Price: My First Spiritual Jazz
anthonylukefoto

Kamasi Washington - The Epic anthonylukefoto

February 15, 2019
edited 9 months ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

Great sounding pressing! Wide dynamic range with solid bass and clean treble. No noticeable surface noise even at loud volume levels.
kapervisser

Kamasi Washington - The Epic kapervisser

February 6, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
I love jazz but i sold the lp box pretty fast. For me this feels way way overrated. I absolutly agree with drgn238's post below.
Sveniboy

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Sveniboy

June 30, 2019
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
Agree, same here. Never understood how that was hyped to be a jazz X hiphop thing...
drgn238

Kamasi Washington - The Epic drgn238

October 10, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050
I am busy for more then 40 years with music collecting, concerts and am open to different sorts of musical experiences.
Don't know exactly, bust probably tens of thousands of musical pieces came by.
I did really tried this one, but after several, definitely more then five times, I can not understand what should be that georgous about it.
Sounds like somebody technically very / highly skilled ( think of Marsallis brothers ) but with hardly anuthing of value to communicate / say.
Well, if someone is making his / her's aquaitance for the very first, or one of the first steps into realm of this kind of music, it's
quite easy to be impressed by all this.
I wish this guy a lot of money on his way ( to where ?), but music has not that much to do with it.
Don't mind people loving it or those hyping/pushing it,but... beat least honest and see it for what it is:
GREAT MARKETING !!!
greenartist

Kamasi Washington - The Epic greenartist

July 12, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050

Does anybody know why tracklists on CD's and on LP's differ ?
And what tracklist is correct ? Or both are correct ??
TommyVF

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by TommyVF

May 28, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

Impressive and beautiful. Just what we needed, and gorgeously backaged. I'm so glad this talent got the space needed to produce and collaborate, resulting in a pretty condensed, ambitious and massive pack of pieces. The poetic quality in the lyrics, plus the arrangements make this awesome (for me).

Thank you, Kamasi. Peace! <3
whitespyder

Kamasi Washington - The Epic whitespyder

May 15, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
After long & stressful readings on forums, i've decided to pull the trigger on this one since the boxset was pretty cheap on Amazon.fr (i mean, 35€ for a 3 LP set in a nice box, that's a steal).

Indeed, the presentation is pretty lavish considering the price. My version doesn't have the issue with the box being too tight as records and sleeves fit perfectly.

As for the pressing, everything seem fine on my system.
Since a lot of people has reported problems (mainly on the 1st side), i've listening to the whole thing VERY loud (it's pretty silent since there is so much music per side) and with great attention, and i can tell i have no real issues.
The music doesn't sound muffled or compressed on my copy... honestly, i don't know how they've managed to put +30 min on some sides without compromising too much.

I guess they had some QC problems at the beginning... or maybe i just got lucky!
lazylistener

Kamasi Washington - The Epic lazylistener

May 13, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Not sure what people are expecting when they're buying vinyl records with 30min per side. These sound fantastic for what they are, and I think the cost-cutting measures only add to the fact that more people can enjoy this on wax, rather than it being a pricey, limited 6xLP box set.
deadwaxsecrets

Kamasi Washington - The Epic deadwaxsecrets

April 7, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
Purchased my copy on release & fortunately no sound issues for me, amazing pressing & what's more it's less than £30 new which begs the question how the hell are other, single LP's as much or more.
Nufsterhoochie

Kamasi Washington - The Epic Nufsterhoochie

February 27, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
My copy has a wobble on all three records.

Sonically they sound compressed. They remind me of the old "Direct disc" or digital recordings of the 80's where the music comes of sort of cold, distant, and compressed.

This music deserves dynamics, natural earthy tones and natural voices, but unfortunately this vinyl has neither of these qualities. It is all on the same plane, it never opens up and lets the listener in like good recordings do.

The sax, which is the main instrument here is maybe the biggest disappointment. It sounds distant, thin, weak and without any of the organic qualities that vinyl and saxophone can produce together.

So this recording is a big disappointment. I am looking forward to hearing what Kamasi can produce with a better production team working for him, because the music holds a lot of promise.
REENO

Kamasi Washington - The Epic REENO

July 3, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
What exactly do you mean by "wobble". Please elaborate. Maybe you would enjoy the sonics on the cd version.
ANTonIn_ARTaud

Kamasi Washington - The Epic as reviewed by ANTonIn_ARTaud

January 13, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050

probably the best vinyl pressing I have ever listened to. crystal clear sound, no hissings or cracks, the quiet parts sound unbelievable! Thank you Mr Kamasi for that masterpiece!
eveningalbum

Kamasi Washington - The Epic eveningalbum

January 6, 2018
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
I'll add my comments to those others who have clean, flat, and excellent-sounding vinyl copies. Delighted with the content and quality of this amazing jazz record. Jazz is neither dead, nor smells funny any more, Mr. Zappa...you'd be delighted too!
krhamrick

Kamasi Washington - The Epic krhamrick

December 25, 2017
referencing The Epic, 3xLP, 180 + Box, Album, BF050
I have this on CD and held off getting the vinyl box because of quality concerns but recently found a sealed copy here for cheap. I was pleasantly surprised that my copy is flat and quiet. Sure, I’d love to have a version that’s 45 rpm over 6 Records, but it sounds pretty good even given the 30 minutes per side.
EdwinBohm

Kamasi Washington - The Epic EdwinBohm

October 2, 2017
referencing The Epic, 3xCD, Album, BFCD050

I’ve heard the future of Jazz and his name is Kamasi Washington. One triple album and a mini album so far. Warm, Soulful, Diverse, Complex, Melodic! I’m impressed!