thediscoworld

Jesse Saunders - On And On thediscoworld

July 8, 2021
edited 5 months ago
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
On and On is a slow down version of the bassline from Playback - Space Invaders 1979.

"Beyond The Clouds" from the Quartz, Quartz album 1978. If that isn't early house, edit me.
Jarren

Jesse Saunders - On And On Jarren

August 8, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
House? This is Hi-NRG (Bobby "O" style).

Ok, I hear the TR-808 programming, but is that qualification enough to say this is the first ever House record?

Charanjit Singh didn't claim to have created Acid House in 1983 (Synthesizing - Ten Ragas To A Disco Beat), but judging on the evidence he had as much right to claim Acid House as his creation if Jesse can with House.
Crash-Loader

Jesse Saunders - On And On Crash-Loader

October 8, 2019
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Nah! 808's were used in everything from pop to funk & disco even before then... and remember, house is tripped-down disco in it's purest. one thing i think might justify this as a house record is the piano style.
if 808s were the only justifier, then count Fashiøn* - Fabrique as the first House album! (pulls cheeky grin)
monsieur_cedric

Jesse Saunders - On And On monsieur_cedric

September 21, 2018
referencing On And On, 12", Whi, JS9999, PRL8426
The first house-music record ever pressed. Jesse Saunders is the one who actually really created the "house" sound.
LeviB74

Jesse Saunders - On And On LeviB74

January 17, 2020
referencing On And On, 12", Whi, JS9999, PRL8426
So much debate on this but I agree! I'm fortunate to own an original 'Black' label copy. :)
2Smkd

Jesse Saunders - On And On 2Smkd

February 20, 2018
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Anyone can tell me something more about the sound quality of the RH's repress?
tnadnort

Jesse Saunders - On And On tnadnort

April 20, 2018
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
In my opinion: all good; although On And On is every so slightly shorter in length than the black or white label pressing found on Jes Say Records.
mjb

Jesse Saunders - On And On mjb

October 9, 2010
edited over 11 years ago
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999

Time for a contrary opinion: "On and On" and "Fantasy" may well have been the first records to come out of the Chicago club scene after the disco era had ended in the rest of America. That these tracks were influential in house music's formative years also isn't in dispute—"On and On", at least, is cited by some of Saunders's peers as being an inspiration for them to try their hand at producing fully original tracks (now house classics), in part because they felt they could do much better...and they were right.

But as for these records actually being the first house recordings, which Saunders himself is especially fond of saying...well, it's hard to hear very many similarities between this (or "Fantasy") and the slightly later productions by other artists which are clearly identifiable as house music. There are definitely a couple elements of early house there, and Saunders certainly deserves props for reworking the Mach edit into something more futuristic and creative. But musically, even when taking into account how varied the house sound was in the mid-'80s, the songs are both just a bit too steeped in New Wave-ish synth-pop and disco (and Italo Disco, in the case of "Fantasy") for me to hear them and think of them as being very closely connected to all the house classics that were created over the next three years.

So I feel "On and On" and "Fantasy" are more just important parts of the many-faceted beginnings of the house scene, rather than being the mythical one true "first house records/recordings" from which all other house music flowed.
tnadnort

Jesse Saunders - On And On tnadnort

April 20, 2018
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Agreed; Chip E really pinned it down in 1985 with these genre defining "It's House" & "Time To Jack" House tracks. Original compositions as opposed to cover versions or recreations of already existing records, repetitive, stuttering sampled vocals of Joe Smooth and the bold statement "The Sounds Of Chicago" (T. S. O. C.) printed on the label of the original release (which in 1986 was later adopted and modified to the more well known "The House Sound of Chicago" when the genre was marketed for the European market). It doesn't get any better than that and I couldn't think of more worthy contender as the Jack Trax release by Chip E to hold the title of the first House record on vinyl; it's all there, it ticks all the boxes!
cratebug

Jesse Saunders - On And On cratebug

October 10, 2016
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Agreed. I've always considered Chip E's Jack Trax' "It's House" & "Time To Jack" the first real House tracks....~Cratebug
spettro1

Jesse Saunders - On And On spettro1

November 11, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Agreed. Well put. Also, I just don't get the whole "Originator" of House Music claim by Jesse. We don't call it House Music because of Jesse Saunders, we call it House Music because of Frankie Knuckles...I think most of us know that by now. Jesse clearly has a pivotal place in the history of this movement, but I just don't see the connection w/ Jesse being the "originator" of House Music. Unless I'm missing something?
mjb

Jesse Saunders - On And On mjb

September 11, 2014
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999

You're right. I was really focusing on the A-side, when it's really the B-side tracks, raw as they are, that were a notable part of house's early brickwork.
hottlipps

Jesse Saunders - On And On hottlipps

September 30, 2012
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
I can understand what you are saying, because when I first heard it I was like, uh, that's just ok, I can't imagine playing that. The "bitch" thing from white horse... It's not like how "no way back" or early fingers makes me feel. But it is the first house record because the B Side beat tracks being released on a Chicago independent label in January 1984. The cover of Mix Your Own Stars "119" and the following beats show this major motivating drum machine skills that would become part of house music, total master of the TR-808. Jesse & Vince were sick. I think it's easy to hear those rhythms in everything from Chip E to Jamal Moss. And the same weaknesses you perceive drove other producers to try and top this, which happens by 85.
maroko

Jesse Saunders - On And On as reviewed by maroko

September 12, 2010
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Although many have claimed the flattering title of releasing the first ever house record, the general consensus amongst the majority is that the "On And On" (although a track heavily influenced by First Choice, Frankie Knuckles' DJ-ing style and Mach) vinyl release by Jesse Saunders and Vince Lawrence is where it all began in 1983, when they published it on Jesse's Jes Say imprint. Legend has it that Saunders and Lawrence contacted Larry Sherman, a local enterpreneur who at the time had bought the only vinyl printing plant in Chicago, and literary asked him if he'd be willing to print 500 copies. He agreed, and they told him they'd be back in twenty minutes, and that they'd pay him 5$ per copy. Not only were they back, but they asked if another 1000 copies were possible. Hence the first 500 being pressed with a white label and black text, while the second batch was viceversa.
Fascinated by the demand the crowd in Chicago had for this new sound, Sherman started Trax records, and made the label's debut with Jesse Saunders' Wanna Dance, recorded under the Le Noiz moniker.
The rest is history: Trax became the leading force behind the Chicago house sound in the mid eighties, playing the main role in developing and consolidating the local scene, but also exporting the sound and the vibe throughout the USA and Europe, while Jesse Saunders gained legendary status, along house giants like Frankie Knuckles, Larry Heard and Farley "Jackmaster" Funk as one of the pivotal figures in the genre.
djisfan

Jesse Saunders - On And On djisfan

January 26, 2017
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
I bought my Black label at Loop Records from my man Jesse Jones, $3.99. Wish I would have at least bought twins! The main reason I got it was for the 119 Track that copied Mix Your Own Stars that costed too much.
mjb

Jesse Saunders - On And On mjb

June 19, 2015
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999

You said the first 500 had white labels, the rest were black labels... but the Jesse's book says it was the other way 'round. 500 black labels came first (in white sleeves).
DJRECORDSCHICAGO

Jesse Saunders - On And On DJRECORDSCHICAGO

March 17, 2011
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
THAT IS NOT TRUE, JESSE SOLD ON & ON TRACKS TO LOOP RECORDS AND IMPORTS ETC. FOR 4.00 EACH. I WAS A BUYER AT BABY O'S RECORDS ON THE WESTSIDE OF CHICAGO AND I ASKED JESSE JONES THE BUYER AT LOOP RECORDS. JESSE ALWAYS HELP ME OUT. I WANTED TO MAKE SURE JESSE WOULD CHARGE ME THE SAME PRICE. WHEN ROCKY JONES AND I STARTED DJ INT'L IN 1985, LARRY HSERMAN CHARGED US 1.00 PER COPY.
Knusper2000

Jesse Saunders - On & On (The Remixes) as reviewed by Knusper2000

October 7, 2008
referencing On & On (The Remixes), 2x12", BR-0302-1

What a disappointment! 20 years after his 1984 classic house cut "On & On" Jesse Saunders releases a 2x12" with remixes, celebrating the 20th anniversary of house-music.
But after listening to the remixes delivered here, I found myself asking, if Jesse is celebrating 20 years of money making rather than house-music. The vibe of house music is definitely not contained in this package.
On the 1st Vinyl some acceptable remixes are provided, taking the classic with respectfull treatment into the new century - but even being the best cuts here they are nothing more than standarized-house cuts, providing nothing special or new. The rest of this package is really annoying. The rubbish prog-house-trance crossover cuts on Vinyl 2 sound almost like if they were originally not intended to be remixes for Jesses track untill a manager came into the studio and said "Hey, throw the "On & On" Vocal in there", which resulted in tracks that contain a totally out of context placed sample.
Sultitan

Jesse Saunders - On And On as reviewed by Sultitan

April 3, 2007
edited over 15 years ago
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Jesse Saunders has been too often uncredited. So, he got influenced by a certain Frankie Knuckles who used to loop beats so that he could better mix whatever he was playing at his club. So, he participated in the production of the Fantasy 12" above weeks before he released "On And On". But if I'm Mr Jo Blow from Canada, what is the first ever typical "House" record that I could have bought and own? "On And On". So IT IS the originating house music track. Period. It is telling also that the first ever release of TRAX Records, which claim to be the first house music label ever (I wonder what that makes of Jes Say Records) was by Le Noiz, a nickname for Jesse Saunders. I'm pretty sure Saunders know what part of what he did was influenced by Knuckles DJ-ing techniques, and what part was purely his own music, but this one should defenitely go down in history.
DaJacker

Jesse Saunders - On And On as reviewed by DaJacker

December 1, 2006
edited over 15 years ago
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999
Although On & On is the first House track pressed on vinyl, this was the result as Fantasy by Z-Factor on Mitchbal was supposed to be the first House record. Numerous delays with the release of Fantasy in early 1984 prompted Jesse Saunders to release On & On under his own label Jes-Say which was out just weeks before Fantasy was finally pressed later that same year. Both releases were mastered and pressed by Precision Records also known as Trax Records.
eiskristall

Jesse Saunders - On And On as reviewed by eiskristall

January 21, 2004
referencing On And On, 12", Bla, JS9999

Here probably it is, THE first recorded house release in today's sense ever! Everyone seems to know the first detroit techno track, but house? It is told anytime and everywhere that House Music has many founding fathers, but I'm sure, this record it is...