cristianHa

Orbital - Orbital cristianHa

June 6, 2021
referencing Orbital, 2xLP, Album, RE, 180, 0825646128716 , TRULP 2
Glad I managed to grab a copy when it came out. This pressing is phenomal!
Beautiful electronic soundwaves
aemum949

Orbital - Orbital aemum949

May 16, 2021
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
For those whose never been there, track#7 includes a sample of the typical pedestrian crossing sound in Singapore, so "Walk Now..."
Flambient

Orbital - Orbital Flambient

December 17, 2020
edited 6 months ago
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
Please note that pressings made by PMDC Germany (e.g. this or this) differ from the UK pressing in the transition from track 5 "Impact (The Earth Is Burning)" into track 6 "Remind". On the UK pressing, "Remind" flows seamlessly into the previous track. On the PMDC pressing, the arpeggio sequence at the end of track 5 is slightly faded out at the end, and track 6 then suddenly starts with the "continuation" of that sequence. Discogs data does not reflect this.
lcb10

Orbital - Orbital lcb10

June 19, 2020
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
Can anybody help? Is the album track "Halcyon On & On" a particular mix, basically the album version, of the 92 individual single release "Halcyon"?
Does HO&O appear on any other release but the 93 album?
Was it only produced / mixed by Orbital?
Kklak

Orbital - Orbital Kklak

June 29, 2020
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
- Halcyon + On + On has a few more changes - it's more upbeat, and has a two minute "intro". (By contrast the single version is a bit more melancholy, and jumps into the vocals immediately. You can find both on YouTube if you want to compare!)
- Only found on the Brown album, afaik.
- Produced and mixed by Orbital with extra production by Mickey Mann (only learnt this today when perusing Discogs).
chimushi

Orbital - Orbital chimushi

March 19, 2020
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2

The track Remind has the classic Goa Trance sound and so for 1993, this is an important track in the history of Goa Trance.
You can call it Techno if you choose, but Remind definitely has the Goa Trance sound and vibe. Besides that track I also enjoyed the Track Walk now. Remind is the primary reason I will purchase this .
Elektrootto

Orbital - Orbital Elektrootto

June 20, 2020
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
also check the orbital remix of meat beat manifestos mindstream.you will be surprised
chimushi

Orbital - Orbital chimushi

February 20, 2020
referencing Orbital, 2xLP, Album, TRULP2, 828 386.1
This is a very interesting and eclectic collection of tracks. The track Remind was on an Ollie wisdom Goa Trance mix tape from 1994. Much to like about this release even if this is not one's cup of tea.
tcho100

Orbital - Orbital tcho100

March 27, 2019
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
I have Monday playing in the background now, still sends shivers down my spine after all these years.
bell-end

Orbital - Orbital bell-end

November 4, 2018
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
They played recently in George Square in Glasgow and I go to knock two things off my bucket list,1.hearing them play 'Belfast' and 2.'Halcyon' live too.brilliant, memorable and proof that I'm not the only guy knocking on 40 who still wants to hear this live.there new album is great too.
Booj1Boy

Orbital - Orbital as reviewed by Booj1Boy

August 23, 2018
referencing Orbital, 2xLP, Album, TRULP2, 828 386.1
Side B might go down as one of the greatest sequences in techno history
simonwbooth

Orbital - Orbital simonwbooth

March 16, 2021
referencing Orbital, 2xLP, Album, TRULP2, 828 386.1
This is possibly my favorite side of vinyl of all time
further_harm

Orbital - Orbital as reviewed by further_harm

August 5, 2016
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
Fantastic single-minded melodic 4/4, one of the most consistent 90s techno LPs and an absolutely huge leap from their debut album. The lush/impact/remind continuous sequence was something that no electronic album had really successfully done up until at point - capture the club experience in an artist album.
Jewbotcrusher

Orbital - Orbital Jewbotcrusher

April 25, 2016
referencing Orbital, 2xLP, Album, RE, 180, 0825646128716 , TRULP 2
Phenomenal pressing and a beautiful album. Haven't heard the original but this is probably pretty close, if not better.
powerstone05

Orbital - Orbital as reviewed by powerstone05

December 26, 2015
referencing Orbital, 2xLP, Album, RE, 180, 0825646128716 , TRULP 2
A fairly good reissue of Orbital's classic album.

Everything looks like it has printed and pressed professionally, along with the inner sleeves. Sounds excellent as well. And now the cons. There is a mastering or transferring error on some copies in which "Impact" starts slightly too early over the end of "Lush 3-2". My copy is one of victims unfortunately. Apparently the original issue also came with a insert of all the postcard artwork, which isn't present here. Lastly, while not a dealbreaker at all but rather an annoyance from a collector's point of view, the direct US imports didn't come with the bonus digital download. I'm assuming licensing reasons but it's still a downer.

Overall, still worth getting as nothing is super horrifically bad here. Now Rhino, where's the other reissues?!?
Dfektiv

Orbital - Orbital Dfektiv

November 20, 2015
referencing Orbital, 2xLP, Album, RE, 180, 0825646128716 , TRULP 2
Just got my copy and is now sold out from where I got it from and I can honestly say it is a perfect pressing! If you can get a copy for a decent price I recommend you purchase it otherwise you will end up like I did waiting to see if any originals will ever be affordable which is the way this one might go!
ShakeyDave

Orbital - Orbital ShakeyDave

August 29, 2015
referencing Orbital, CD, Album, TRUCD2, 828 386.2
This particular release of the Brown Album fades out and back in again between Impact and Remind. According to Paul Hartnoll (via Twitter), this "makes it defective and I should ask for my money back". Have to say - while it's probably not as bad as ALL that - it is quite irritating - if you can get a different release that doesn't do this, then you should.

Overall, it's one of the best albums ever released, though.