superfunk69

St Germain - St Germain superfunk69

October 18, 2018
referencing St Germain, 2x12", Album, 180, 0825646121984
What a very beautiful and stunning album! Maybe his best I agree.
phopsonny

St Germain - St Germain as reviewed by phopsonny

June 17, 2018
referencing St Germain, 2x12", Album, 180, 0825646121984

Seriously... if you dont have this, you are missing a great record... his best in my opinion
Zauberberg

St Germain - St Germain as reviewed by Zauberberg

May 22, 2018
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011

What an album! Ludovic has definitely outperformed himself in this vibrant mixture of deep house, instrumentalism, poetry, and African rhythms. I just wish there was more of it!
WEcho

St Germain - St Germain WEcho

August 5, 2017
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011

I bough this album iimmediately after listening to it on youtube last month. ART!!!!
Vinyl-Vibe

St Germain - St Germain as reviewed by Vinyl-Vibe

April 7, 2017
referencing St Germain, 2x12", Album, 180, 0825646121984

Bought this album when it came out but somehow never got to playing it until today. What an absolute killer album!! I loved their earlier work already, and this is on par, if not better. Can't believe I've had this standing in my collection for over a year already, it moves straight to the 'favorites' shelf. Couldn't recommend it more highly.
playthoseblues

St Germain - St Germain as reviewed by playthoseblues

March 20, 2017
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011
Like other commentators here, I have to agree that this album is great. I wouldn't want to see (and hear!) St.Germain resting on his laurels with Tourist Pt. 2, and this follow up is a nice evolution of his sound. The world beat/african styles are refreshing, and blend well with his characteristic sound. The album is also of a decent length, not too long or too short. Each track keeps things fresh throughout.
ledjfab

St Germain - St Germain ledjfab

March 5, 2017
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011
I was in Paris for a week in september 2016, in St-Germain Des Prés. The album was already out for a while. I didn't pay much attention to it at first because I was busy looking for other music. I thought it was a curious return for St-Germain, after 15 years of silence. The cover for the album is a little bit humoristic, as if he had been buried deep in the ground, and unearthed after a long period of time.
I wanted to buy the special FNAC edition, and wandered in the streets of the city for the FNAC store. I didn't find any copy there; just the regular edition. I then returned to the hotel. It was a sunny day, very hot. I was stunned by everything around me: the action, the beautiful buildings, the people on the sidewalk.
It was only when I 'came back home' that I bought the album and the remixes. And then, 'Real Blues' just became the soundtrack of what I experienced in Paris.
What I like from St-Germain, is that he is probably the only artist to have stayed true to the sound of the French Touch 1.0 (circa 1996-2003). He could have came back and played the game of so many other artists in that field: do an Electro-Pop album with a string of featured artists, like Nicki Minaj or Pharrell Williams. Fortunately, he does not. Going back to sampling for 'Real Blues', the voice of Lightnin' Hopkins (already heard in many titles of St-Germain in the past, such as 'Alabama Blues' and 'The Black Man') is familiar and the immersion is easy.
While 'Tourist' was more into Jazz, 'St-Germain' is more into world beat; African voices and percussion. 'Forget Me Not' is more Asian inspired. 'Mary L' sounds a bit like 'Sure Thing'.
I used to like many artists from the French Touch who, unfortunately for me and probably many others, decided to go into a more commercial approach of the music (think Daft Punk, Super Discount or Cassius who are now light years away of what they once were). This album should appeal to all the nostalgic people, and is like some sort of quiet refuge where you go to avoid a storm. There is a sense of serenity to it.
MultiGrooves

St Germain - St Germain MultiGrooves

September 6, 2017
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011
Don't forget Bob Sinclair...I get it...they're financially secure but the promise of his first album compared to what we see and hear now...Hmmm...
Ricky_Fitts

St Germain - St Germain as reviewed by Ricky_Fitts

July 29, 2016
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011

Outstanding new material from the man that is St. Germain. You can clearly hear "Tourist" and "Boulevard", but with a new quality that's a bliss to your ears.
andyman5

St Germain - St Germain andyman5

January 10, 2016
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011
Surprised at the mixed reviews of this record? This is fabulous music and most definitely St Germain right out the gate. Love the African vocals over jazzy house thing...can't think of anything else that sounds like this...
basicd

St Germain - St Germain basicd

December 23, 2015
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011
Maybe we expected more from Mr. Ludovic, but this album is good. For the first listening wasn't but after a few that is OK. Not like Boulevard and Tourist but once more album is good.
ijustspeak

St Germain - St Germain as reviewed by ijustspeak

December 19, 2015
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011
So what can we say about this.
Well to me it does not brake grounds, he done that once already (or twice). It continues the "Tourist" sound more or less. Further World music explorations is to be expected into african jazz and jungle rhythms.
But i have to rush out and say, if you did not like this at first go, listen again.
A preview or quick preview of this is not justifying at all. This release has some multi-colored layers, and most of the tracks has one element that brings together each track. Listen well, it´s there. This music is very detailed to your ears.
Though he has not abandoned some nice house jams, there are a couple present. Enjoying "How Dare You" very much..

Overall a fine album. Maybe not the forceful comeback one might believed it was. But strong effort never the less.
SecondHandRecordNYC

St Germain - St Germain as reviewed by SecondHandRecordNYC

December 4, 2015
referencing St Germain, 2x12", Album, 180, 0825646121984

Mary L on repeat doesn't sound like a bad idea
DJ_JJ

St Germain - St Germain DJ_JJ

October 16, 2015
edited over 3 years ago
referencing St Germain, CD, Album, 0825646122011

Nice tunes, but honestly I expected more. Especially the African singers are a bit too much and disturb the mood.