Lion1985

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams Lion1985

November 30, 2019
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, LP, Pin + LP, Blu + Album, Ltd, 0825646982158

I'm very disappointed because of release of this album. To be honest I was hoping for so much more from this release. It sounds muffled like it was ripped off a cd, even worse than CD sound, i was expecting better sound quality. I like songs of this album that's why, i wanted to add it to my collection
vicompany83

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams as reviewed by vicompany83

August 23, 2019
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, 2xLP, Album, 180, 0825646982158

Excellent pressing. And IMO this album is the true masterpiece of Coldplay!
simmons89

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams simmons89

June 6, 2018
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, LP, Pin + LP, Blu + Album, Ltd, 0825646982158
Anyone else notice the complete lack of treble on Hymn for the Weekend? Sounds worse than the digital copy.
PITOLINO

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams PITOLINO

August 5, 2017
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, 2xLP, Album, 180, 0825646982158

listen from this pressing tonight and I still don't understand why to make a pointless double vinyl for 45 minutes of music.
I believe on a single LP with a more immersive listening this not perfect album would have a different glance, or at least being less tedious. i'm tired to get up just when i'm getting in the mood...
Ghost stories has the same lenght, is on a single vinyl and sounds great.
I like the artwork too, but This issue with double useless vinyl is boring me so much, makes me miss the old days vinyl where this would be impossible.
Anyway pretty beautiful songs marred by this mania to not play real drums, and that is a little pity, their drummer is very good.

pilotfish693

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams pilotfish693

May 5, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, 2xLP, Album, 180, 0825646982158
the double LP trick was recently used by The Rolling Stones on their Blue and Lonesome album to sell it at a higher price,

A Head Full Of Dreams was sold at a regular price (20/25€),but it's pretty simple for 40/45 min :

2LP = loud volume+maximum freq response
1LP = resolution depend on the volume and duration
(20min of smooth jazz=good freq depth with good volume,
while 20 min of hard rock =
either big volume but distorted sound
OR low volume with cleaner sound [but you must have a good amplifier that won't melt if you push the volume forward temporarily])

The target audience of Coldplay will probably not even open the shrinkwarp,
some of them might listen the album on a sh*t turntable (Crosley,Project,etc).
The minority of buyers have proper gear, so it's definitely not a surprise,
and not only for Coldplay but for all music styles.

Ghost Stories is a quiet album, which is not A Head Full Of Dreams,
they choose the easiest solution.
theago

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams theago

June 3, 2017
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, 2xLP, Album, 180, 0825646982158
Hymn for the weekend featuring Beyonce is sush a perfect song. I love it!
conditionals

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams conditionals

April 29, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, 2xLP, Album, 180, 0825646982158

Pretty terrible album, but I wanted to complete my Coldplay LP collection. At least the vinyl packaging is well thought out and the and sound is nice, much better than the CD version. Parlophone Coldplay vinyl is usually fantastic.
MoFoHo

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams as reviewed by MoFoHo

February 24, 2017
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, Blu-ray, Blu-ray-A, Album, Multichannel, 0190295917715

Haven't listened to the stereo mix, but the 5.1 mix is 'ok'. It's one of the loudest Blu-ray mixes I've heard, period, and is not as seamless a 360' sound-field as say, some of Steve Wilsons work. But, it's nice to see such a mainstream artist release music in this format. A shame it sounds rather compressed though.
peacefullinnight

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams peacefullinnight

February 10, 2017
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, LP, Pin + LP, Blu + Album, Ltd, 0825646982158
This album has audio quality like mp3 download. I wasted my money. Don't have it vinyl version. I think they copied from the cd version. It's really huge disappointment.
CooGarn

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams CooGarn

November 14, 2016
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album + CD, Comp + Dlx, Unofficial, Dig, 4607147916728
Can anyone who owns this confirm if the instrumental version of "X Marks The Spot" is actually included?
CooGarn

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams CooGarn

November 17, 2016
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album + CD, Comp + Dlx, Unofficial, Dig, 4607147916728
Aha, right on. Thanks for the clarification. Very much appreciated!
maomao27

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams maomao27

November 17, 2016
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album + CD, Comp + Dlx, Unofficial, Dig, 4607147916728

No AHFOD instrumentals are included on this release, the only instrumentals are those included on disc 2.
ninecats

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams as reviewed by ninecats

October 19, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, Blu-ray, Blu-ray-A, Album, Multichannel, 0190295917715

The stereo sound is still compressed, too
wall of soundish, though serving its purpose for this kind of music - it's not for me really.

The surround mix however is great, it really opens up the music, fidelity (yes there really is such thing on here) shines, good separation, basically every song lifts in surround. Good to see such great surround mix on a mainstream artist, hopefully it will boost the overall interest.
paoloblueskies

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams paoloblueskies

May 17, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, LP, Pin + LP, Blu + Album, Ltd, 0825646982158

Mine sounds fantastic too!! Those two coloured vinyls are phenomenal!
notec

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams notec

August 18, 2016
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album, 0825646982646

THIS IS SOME of the worst music I've heard. They should change their name to Garbage....
Labiosus

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams Labiosus

August 18, 2016
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, 2xLP, Album, 180, 0825646982158

I cant remember a single song on this album. Forgettable album in my opinion.
PITOLINO

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams PITOLINO

March 8, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album, 0825646982646
i think i will not buy the vinyl pressing this time (for the first). i'm tired of double LP without any reason. this is a 45 minutes full length and there is no point for me to change side every 10 minutes of music if not less. the flow between tracks is for me even more important than a superb quality, and a new vinyl of this length on single disc could not give issues of tracking problems or dynamic loss, so this is just a trick to keep more money and ruin the music.
"mylo xyloto" is a perfect pressing, is on a single vinyl and the quality of this is terrific. and the magic between the sides would be totally broken on a double vinyl, so i don't wanna get this! :(
i hope labels (more over a serious one like the glorius parlophone) will keep the LP tradition of 40 minutes on an only vinyl, not this pointless new format.
is it a several issue just for me? :(
bullfinchart

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams bullfinchart

January 2, 2017
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album, 0825646982646
Agreed, 20+ minute sides were commonplace until the recent vinyl revival, and were generally seen as perfectly reasonable. For certain types of music that very specifically attract audiophiles, splitting it over four sides may have an advantage, but you're not going to lose much in a 45 minute Coldplay album if you have it on a single piece of wax.
burketop

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams burketop

May 3, 2016
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album, 0825646982646
PITOLINO
i think i will not buy the vinyl pressing this time (for the first). i'm tired of double LP without any reason. this is a 45 minutes full length and there is no point for me to change side every 10 minutes of music if not less. the flow between tracks is for me even more important than a superb quality, and a new vinyl of this length on single disc could not give issues of tracking problems or dynamic loss, so this is just a trick to keep more money and ruin the music. "mylo xyloto" is a perfect pressing, is on a single vinyl and the quality of this is terrific. and the magic between the sides would be totally broken on a double vinyl, so i don't wanna get this! :( i hope labels (more over a serious one like the glorius parlophone) will keep the LP tradition of 40 minutes on an only vinyl, not this pointless new format. is it a several issue just for me? :(

It's borderline with this one, but both sides would be over 22 mins and so they've gone for the better sonic approach. Thing is, this one was so slammed in the mastering stage that the sonics are crap to begin with, so really it's incongruous to have bothered doing a 2LP here.
figueduff

Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams figueduff

March 3, 2016
referencing A Head Full Of Dreams, CD, Album, 553301-2
Hi, someone could add the SID codes of this version purchased in the United States?
Many Thanks!!!