adylee

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U (But You Weren't There) adylee

May 2, 2018
referencing I Called U (But You Weren't There), 12", Ltd, No1, FX 123, FX123, 886 831-1
sound quality of the original late 80's releases of this will blow any remastered version may be a lot lower in recording but playing older recordings today sound wonderful ;) blackout is still hot as hell.
SpacedGrooves

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U SpacedGrooves

July 26, 2014
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153

Such an amazing record!. Bur unfortunately was not mastered properly when it was pressed and the grooves are so close to each other in the b1. (The Story Continues) track.

I ordered this press few months ago and when I got it and played it was skipping the groove at appox minute 1:25. I ordered the same record form another seller and it was fine for couple of months, until yesterday it just skipped the groove exactly in the same groove that the previous record used to skip. I checked the grooves with a microscope and they are very close to each other and at the point it skips the grooves are together. It seems that after playing it several times the walls of the groove at that point get worn and makes the needle just go to the next groove.

Does anyone has any idea if the "repress" un-official release from 2008 is skipping int he track b1?

Just wondering before i buy it as it could be my third record to skip in the same place.

Anyone having the same skipping problem?
TeeJay74

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U TeeJay74

April 23, 2018
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153
Hi. I received mine a few days ago. It is alright, no skips. I also tried various alignments. No skips. Is there any information about the amounts of copies that had been pressed?
m44-7

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U m44-7

November 26, 2015
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153
with a properly aligned turntable it would never happen. get it aligned so that the groove it "dug" vertically, and the "walls" stay intact. the pressing is risky, but it can be played w/out skipping.
SpacedGrooves

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U SpacedGrooves

September 16, 2014
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153

It seems that i found the way to fix those grooves.

I left my record with wood glue over night then when it dryer I peeled off the glue.
This is the video of this cleaning method: http://www.break.com/video/wood-glue-record-cleaning-2660754

After that the needle was still jumping.

I took an old needle and put it in my stylus, and exactly where the needle used to hum i pressed the headshell towards the record. I did that like 5 times then 1 time backwards like scratching the grooves{but only in the area where the needle jumps).
After this the record now plays well.

I hope this method works with your record.

Best,

Fernando
blakevinylsounds

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U blakevinylsounds

September 14, 2014
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153
Hey, thanks for this information. Thought I was going mad myself! What you describe is absolutely correct. My copy is well played and I too have the same skipping at the timing you describe! There is no visibility to the naked eye that the needle skips, but the ear can recognise a slight skip without a problem. It's very much evident if you are trying to mix in the record. I as ways ensure to mix in prior to the jump. Shame really. Can't say about the repress.
hamesville

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U (But You Weren't There) hamesville

June 9, 2012
referencing I Called U (But You Weren't There), 12", No2, FXR 123, INT 886 869-1

Phase 2 is the instrumental version and in my opinion the much better take. An intense club track with the 'lights go on, lights go out, blackout at the flick of god's switch' vocal and a throbbing bass that made this more the natural progression from French Kiss.
WaxFinderGeneral

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U as reviewed by WaxFinderGeneral

November 1, 2007
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153

The Conversation track is killer, but the one on here is 'Why'd You Fall?' The morphing of the vocal and synth line is unbelievable, superb, futuristic and downright dope house music. Still drops people to their knees on the right dancefloor, and is one of many reasons why Lil Louis is so rated among his contemporaries and fans alike. The guy is a dancefloor genius. Essential release that should be owned by any DJ who knows what a club weapon this record is.
dexterfeng

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U as reviewed by dexterfeng

July 29, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153
Guys like Moodymann took serious notes when records like this came out.
As said; a staple of Derrick Carter. I first got properly introduced to this track which I've always had around as long as I can remember djing via an old Derrick mixtape from his days at the long defunct Foxy's. A continual roller coaster thrill ride mix with three tables and vocal acapellas all over the place and then this... Last call, last call for some alcohol!! And then, the last dance. I still get chills just thinking about that mix.
You know the night is a good one when this record comes on. Goes even better with doubles.
A timeless and essential piece of wax for any self respecting head.
ringorider

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U as reviewed by ringorider

July 18, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153

I'm pretty sure the track that still gets heavily played by many with the horns is in fact the "The Story Continues", many a bootleg have listed it as the conversation, Moton listed it as "Why'd U Fall", but it is B1 that is the tack as far as I can tell from listening to it.
blade62

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U blade62

May 26, 2010
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153
hi there
i'm after Lil Louis new album, would you know the title and is still available?

Cheers

Blade62
knowthaledge

Lil Louis & The World* - I Called U as reviewed by knowthaledge

July 17, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
referencing I Called U, 12", 49-73153
This is the only official pressing of 'The Conversation' track which still gets hammered today by Derrick Carter etc...all other pressings are bootlegs..rare US only promo!