DJStatic25

Ice Cube - Death Certificate as reviewed by DJStatic25

March 10, 2021
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, RE, B0022415-01

Man!!!!!! Seeing cube in person and listening to him are just two different experinces. The sound is clear and that bass line be having your head bumping. Cube flow is like no other, and his word play real hooks to the words is just OG, OOG, and OOOG. He'll go down in history as all time Rappers in my Books
Marwin3000

Ice Cube - Death Certificate Marwin3000

June 21, 2020
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, RE, 3D , B0022415-01
Any word on how the sound quality is on this release?
bigqhatesyou

Ice Cube - Death Certificate bigqhatesyou

May 29, 2020
referencing Death Certificate, Cass, Album, Unofficial, 917
If anyone has this and would part with it please message me.
marcoprolo

Ice Cube - Death Certificate (25th Anniversary) marcoprolo

September 22, 2019
referencing Death Certificate (25th Anniversary), 2xLP, Album, RE, B0026542-01
It sucks really that they didn't put the original cover on. then what's that crap not putting bonus tracks on the back. when you want to listen to the album that you know and it doesn't begin the way you're used to know it...If the cover'd be the original, I'd get one - but this way..naah.. Cube was one of the best until 'Lethal Injection'. The stuff afterwards was few good sounding but his credibility is a joke. don't want to talk about the NWA movie.. It's a shame...
DJCVR

Ice Cube - Death Certificate (25th Anniversary) as reviewed by DJCVR

December 8, 2018
referencing Death Certificate (25th Anniversary), 2xLP, Album, RE, 00602557420630
I first heard "Death Certificate" in my teens while I was going through every album that ever received The Source's 5 Mic rating. The three tracks now added on to this legendary LP only enhance the message that America's values have yet to change from '91 to 2018 onward, but still "My Summer Vacation" still rocks as relevant and as rattling now as it did in '91. In a country where you can die in a hospital waiting room while filling out paperwork just to get seen by the real leeches of the system - "Death Certificate" is a must listen in a country where by just having a birth certificate does not guarantee that you will get recognized as a citizen until your death certificate has been signed, timed and dated.
jp_fal

Ice Cube - Death Certificate (25th Anniversary) jp_fal

September 26, 2018
referencing Death Certificate (25th Anniversary), 2xLP, Album, RE, B0026542-01
Never seen bonus tracks placed at the start of an album before. Just doesn't sit right having The Funeral come in at track 4.
marcoprolo

Ice Cube - Death Certificate (25th Anniversary) marcoprolo

May 28, 2019
referencing Death Certificate (25th Anniversary), 2xLP, Album, RE, B0026542-01
Absolutely right about the cover. is that original inner side of a gatefold or is that the inner sleeve? I guess it's a gatefold. They should have flipped it the other way..Ehat about the quality of sound??
vinylwrecker

Ice Cube - Death Certificate (25th Anniversary) vinylwrecker

October 5, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Death Certificate (25th Anniversary), 2xLP, Album, RE, B0026542-01

I feel similar. The new Cube tracks are out of place. They really would not work after 'No Vaseline' either. They would have been better as an exclusive 7".

Separate note: The original cover is so iconic, I find it hard to get used to this one.
therealsubwaybaby

Ice Cube - Death Certificate therealsubwaybaby

July 11, 2018
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, SL 57155
Bought this and the cd the same day, never opend the US shrink wrap, so I have no idea what this sounds like ... But it´s a US "Priority" pressing, so I´m guessing quite kool ... // Tommy
thedaynos

Ice Cube - Death Certificate (25th Anniversary) as reviewed by thedaynos

February 27, 2018
referencing Death Certificate (25th Anniversary), Cass, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, B0026542-04
should have released this as a 2xLP for the original tracks and then a 7" for the new songs.

why start out a classic album with 3 relatively weak songs? so stupid.

also squeezing the new songs into the beginning of the album completely fucks up one of the best parts of what makes this a concept album. on the OG release with only one LP, you had the death side and life side, but on this release you have some of the death side creeping over into side C. i can't imagine listening to this album in this way. so stupid.

doctorninja

Ice Cube - Death Certificate doctorninja

August 12, 2017
referencing Death Certificate, 2xLP, Album, RE, RM, 7243 5 43341 1 5
Trying to pick between this or the first press single Lp. Anyone do a sound comparison?
RamosPA

Ice Cube - Death Certificate RamosPA

September 13, 2017
referencing Death Certificate, 2xLP, Album, RE, RM, 7243 5 43341 1 5
If you're picky about missing samples, go for a 1st issue. The introduction of "I Wanna Kill Sam" is missing a guitar sample (from Creedence Clearwater Revival "Commotion") behind the Drill Sgt. Otherwise, either release is good.
TCKRecs

Ice Cube - Death Certificate TCKRecs

September 1, 2017
referencing Death Certificate, 2xLP, Album, RE, RM, 7243 5 43341 1 5
I haven't heard the original '91 LP pressing, but at 30+ minutes per side I can't imagine it sounds nearly as good as this 2 x LP reissue does. Take into consideration that the amount of recording time available on each side of a record is directly affected by the cutting level and the amount of bass on an album, as bass takes up more space than treble.
With that being said, this 2003 reissue sounds fantastic, nice volume and clarity in its detail, and as a bonus includes How To Survive In South Central from 1991's Boyz N The Hood soundtrack.
thedaynos

Ice Cube - Death Certificate thedaynos

January 31, 2017
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, SL 57155
#1 record in the history of rap. Was prepared to be disappointed listening to this first pressing but it sounds awesome and just as good as the CD and way better than the bootleg tape I wore out back in the day.
thedaynos

Ice Cube - Death Certificate thedaynos

January 6, 2018
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, SL 57155
i haven't heard the reissues. the original sounds fantastic so i haven't bothered. i assume a 2LP repress would technically sound better, but the question is whether it's remastered or if samples have been taken out. i prefer the original as long as the original sounds good. so, that's what i'm sticking with.
GoodTunes

Ice Cube - Death Certificate GoodTunes

August 16, 2017
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, SL 57155
If it's any consolation, I have the 2LP reissue of Amerikkas Most Wanted and am very pleased with it.
doctorninja

Ice Cube - Death Certificate doctorninja

August 12, 2017
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, SL 57155
Trying to pick between this or the 2xlp reissue. Anyone sound comparisons out there?
GoodTunes

Ice Cube - Death Certificate GoodTunes

June 28, 2017
referencing Death Certificate, LP, Album, SL 57155
Would you say it's worth tracking down versus any other reissues?
The_Unknown_Artist

Ice Cube - Death Certificate The_Unknown_Artist

July 7, 2016
referencing Death Certificate, CD, Album, IMCD 232, BRCD 581, 510 656-2
"Black Korea" and "No Vaseline" were edited off the UK pressing due to how racially charged they were.