WineOfTheVeins

The Lumineers - Cleopatra as reviewed by WineOfTheVeins

September 20, 2018
referencing Cleopatra, LP, Album, 180, 80302-01738-11

Absolute garbage pressing. So disappointing. I guess I have to wait for a reissue. My first copy had crackles and pops throughout brand new, along with very loud surface noise throughout the whole thing. Fingerprints and scuffs on it. The shop was nice enough to give it a spin through the VPI cleaning machine, didnt help a bit. They replaced it for me. Second copy? Guess what? Mark's and scuffs on it. Loud surface noise, crackles and pops throughout, the memorable ones are even in the same damn spots as the last copy. Completely unacceptable. Garbage pressing plant with garbage quality control. Unlistenable.
karla11firpi

The Lumineers - Cleopatra as reviewed by karla11firpi

July 10, 2018
referencing Cleopatra, 2xLP, Album, Dlx, Smo, 80302-01749-17
One of my favorite albums. The Lumineers never fail to amaze me.
Rob_Feature

The Lumineers - Cleopatra as reviewed by Rob_Feature

May 31, 2017
referencing Cleopatra, 2xLP, Album, Dlx, Smo, 80302-01749-17
I read the reviews of how good this pressing sounded and it did not disappoint. Probably the best sounding pressing in my 1000+ LP collection as of now. As a former recording engineer, I thought I would be the only one in my house to notice the difference in sound quality...but when my wife stopped reading in order to listen and my 10 year old daughter came in the room and said "this sounds really good, I want to listen" I knew it wasn't just me. This is what modern records "mastered for vinyl" should sound like. Tons of 'air', beautifully present vocals, 'woody' drums...the aura it has gave me the chills. A fantastic pressing I'll listen to often.
zerekone

The Lumineers - Cleopatra as reviewed by zerekone

April 10, 2017
referencing Cleopatra, 2xLP, Album, Dlx, Smo, 80302-01749-17
Quality pressing and sleeve. I love the cutout of the outer sleeve and how it works with the inner sleeve of the main album. Wish the vinyl came in a soft high-density polyethylene inner sleeve (it just sits inside the cardboard inner sleeve) - that's the only thing holding this back from being a perfect 10 release.Take nothing away from this pressing, well done, little surface noise on a wonderful smokey grey vinyl pressing - LOVE IT! One of my top 10 albums now. Well done Lumineers and Engineers... ;) Cheers.
PBenderRecords

The Lumineers - Cleopatra as reviewed by PBenderRecords

August 27, 2016
referencing Cleopatra, LP, Ltd, Cle, 80302-01738-11

Its understandable that at first listen the inevitable rumblings of Sophomore slump would appear and I cannot disagree that initially the second side may sound monotonous. However I cannot agree this isn't the Lumineers that fans fell in love with and ultimately a better album than their first full length player. The Lumineers made a conscious effort to tone down the stomping folk fireworks and make a more mature textured album. This is risky business for while it may garner high praise from the critics it can alienate fans. Unfortunately, the risk seems to have lost both critics and fans. I wonder if its possible for a folk album that slowly reveals itself of time and a few listenings to succeed in the modern music environment. In an MP3 world can nuanced music survive? Well I had ordered the album ahead of its realease and they are expensive, so I will give it a few plays before I decide whether It was worth the money. Now, whether you believe its hogwash or not, and I do usually prefer HD Digital, my vinyl copy has a sticker on it "Mastered for Vinyl." I find it noticeably better then the CD and MP3s played with the same equipment. This could be do to the person mixed it for vinyl, but the Lp has a lot more channel separation and detail. The instruments sound more distinct and that pays off especially on side two. I cannot imagine anyone not making it through side one. " Sleep on the Floor" to my personal favorite "Angela" are fantastic genre highlights. They contain all the claps and stomps fans crave (albeit more as an instruments playing with the song instead of attention grabbers.) Side B is initially more mellow, but after a few plays I found new things put into the mix that made me appreciate it more and more. So if you initially found yourself skipping tracks, give it another try all the way through and you might find your new favorite late night album
scooby092477

The Lumineers - Cleopatra scooby092477

August 10, 2016
referencing Cleopatra, LP, Ltd, Cle, 80302-01738-11

i think this is a duplicate.....check other version of "Clear"??
siomes

The Lumineers - Cleopatra siomes

April 25, 2016
referencing Cleopatra, 2xLP, Album, Dlx, Smo, 80302-01749-17
Why the ripoff prices for this?.you can still buy this from the website for half the price.
scooby092477

The Lumineers - Cleopatra scooby092477

April 22, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Cleopatra, 2xLP, Album, Dlx, Smo, 80302-01749-17

What's on side D? Is it etched with something Like a design? Or completely smooth and blank? Also do we know how many were pressed? The metallic version is 2500 copies. This must be equal or less I presume.
siomes

The Lumineers - Cleopatra siomes

April 25, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Cleopatra, 2xLP, Album, Dlx, Smo, 80302-01749-17
It's blank which is a bit disappointing.a nice etching would have been nice.