arborn

Omar S* - The Best! arborn

January 13, 2019
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
stunning. stunning. stunning. stunning. stunning. stunning. stunning. stunning. stunning. stunning.
fan2kdj

Omar S* - The Best! fan2kdj

June 24, 2018
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400
it's really good!! house in different style but always cool.
pend8484

Omar S* - The Best! pend8484

June 9, 2018
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400
Seen Was Set is the one here, such a beauty
mrjn

Omar S* - The Best! as reviewed by mrjn

March 21, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400

the best you can get if you like detroit house music
dopechatter

Omar S* - The Best! dopechatter

March 8, 2017
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400
How does this vinyl pressing sound? Colored/clear vinyl sometimes doesn't sound the best?
Pistachios

Omar S* - The Best! Pistachios

July 15, 2017
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400
you've got no worries with this one, though I know what you mean. There are also times when coloured vinyl can sound perfect. Like you, if possible, I go for black vinyl every time.
Mr_MenYo

Omar S* - The Best! Mr_MenYo

March 3, 2017
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400

This is what good (house) music should be like! I absolutely adore this album! Buy, buy, buy!!
nilecniv

Omar S* - The Best! nilecniv

February 7, 2017
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400
Side A is on repeat repeat repeat repeat repeat !
lessismore8

Omar S* - The Best! lessismore8

February 4, 2017
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
if you don´t listen to that gem today you´re dead. enough said....
doncurtis

Omar S* - The Best! as reviewed by doncurtis

January 6, 2017
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400

Omar S called his new album 'The Best' because that's exactly the kind of thing that Omar S does. And that's why we love him. Because Omar is a special dude and because he can walk the walk. Pressed on Quadruple red vinyl, expensive as hell, and featuring an impressive cast-list of collaborators including Kyle Hall, O B Ignitt, Norman Talley and Tom Bug, 'The Best' is an outstanding deep moody house 11-track album that consolidates the reputation of Detroit house legend Omar S as a creator of timeless dance music. He truly is the best.
trouville77

Omar S* - The Best! trouville77

October 18, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400

Five months after buying it, I'm still listening to it. His best work by some distance. Absolutely essential...
micahbf

Omar S* - The Best! micahbf

October 11, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Ltd, Cle, AOS 4000
Just gotta say, I'm usually never a sucker for special editions or anything, but the clear vinyl is really awesome
aidonnbrandon

Omar S* - The Best! aidonnbrandon

May 23, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
Great release from a great artist. Buy direct for the deal!
knh

Omar S* - The Best! as reviewed by knh

May 18, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
Was cautious listening to this due to the poor reviews below but it's up to snuff compared to his other works in my opinion. There are some more functional tracks but also typical Omar S jams with lovely keys played by the likes of OB Ignitt and Kyle Hall. The vocal tracks are also doing it for me. Nothing groundbreaking if you are familiar with his style but I wouldn't call this lazy at all. A worthy addition to his discography. The vinyl is too expensive (though suckers like me will still buy it) in europe but if it's worth it to you go for it.
plastermark

Omar S* - The Best! plastermark

May 21, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
You're not a sucker for buying this, the real deal need to be supported. Compared to all the over hyped fashion records that sell for high prices this is worth every penny. Big music for Big People as the old folks would say.
niponjean

Omar S* - The Best! as reviewed by niponjean

May 13, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400

surprisingly disappointing - this album is just lazy, and seems unfinished compared to his previous work - will wait for the next one, still keeping the faith in the dude
Downtown_304

Omar S* - The Best! Downtown_304

May 27, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
y'all bugging..this is a dope release. **snobs can snob all they want..dancers & djs will go on dancing & djing to this :D
Mr.Fonk

Omar S* - The Best! Mr.Fonk

May 19, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
fully agree with both of you. If you see this is called "The Best" this seems to be a stunt, looking for how far he can go with his fan base. I bet they didn't work longer than 2 hours on each tune. Really sounds like that.
dima338

Omar S* - The Best! dima338

May 14, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400
Gave it about 3 listens and I don't see how this is his best work to date or essential in any way. Nowhere near his other stuff. The fact that someone included this in a list called "Best House Albums/Compilations Ever" is laughable imo.
dig-deep-records

Omar S* - The Best! dig-deep-records

May 10, 2016
referencing The Best!, 4x12", Album, Red, AOS 4400

Simply incredible Detroit heaven. Every track is a gem. Essential.
Mr.Liammmm

Omar S* - The Best! as reviewed by Mr.Liammmm

April 23, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400
Coming out on vinyl (about 55 EUROS from Juno) on the 6 May. Is not bad but by the two minute clips I am not ready to fork that sort of money. But I do admit that Head'Chew Single is tempting me. Smash is also a nice track. The rest is just good okayish IMO.
mystic2975

Omar S* - The Best! as reviewed by mystic2975

April 22, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400

Filthy!

Without a doubt some of Alex Smith's best work to date. And I own just about all of it. The notion that these are scraps seems foolish.

Not to mention the cast of characters that are on this album; incredible contributions. It's almost mind boggling that this guy can crank out such a consistent level of high quality work.

While Theo charged ~$55 for a 3LP, this is a 4LP. Still a bit on the pricey side, but when every track is a heater, I think its a bargain.
Mr.Fonk

Omar S* - The Best! as reviewed by Mr.Fonk

April 21, 2016
referencing The Best!, CD, Album, AOS 4400

Like the Levon Vincent LP: Don't believe the hype, don't pay ridiculous amounts of money for trashcan remainings that didn't make it on Maxis. Obviously this guy's testing how far he can go with the BS...