Kittysafe

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings as reviewed by Kittysafe

April 30, 2019
edited 17 days ago
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 5xLP, Blu + Box, Album, Ltd, Num, RCV1-565277, 603497862627
I have loved JRR TOLKIEN's writings since I was a little kid, and always wanted the Howard Shore box sets on vinyl... but everything I'm reading says the packaging and audio quality is pretty poor... so I'm hoping someday a quality remaster / reissue comes out for all of Tolkien's works on vinyl.

I hear the audio on Return of the King is the best of the 3, but splitting up the map between all the releases was dumb as the maps are not consistent in style and do not even match up lol... which is unacceptable.

Fellowship is being sold for $500
Two Towers is $75
King is $100
The Hobbit isn't avinylable in this format

So here's to waiting for a quality box set of the whole series in a consistent and quality release worthy of the work it's representing.

UPDATE:

Okay, so, everyone saying the quality sucks? I am curious if that's not a problem of them having poor systems now, because everyone I know who owns these sets and have good setups say they are great.
leonthepro

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings leonthepro

May 7, 2019
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 5xLP, Blu + Box, Album, Ltd, Num, RCV1-565277, 603497862627
Kittysafe
Okay, so, everyone saying the quality sucks? I am curious if that's not a problem of them having poor systems now, because everyone I know who owns these sets and have good setups say they are great.

Uh, good to know, but thats not really what I was asking about.
Kittysafe

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings Kittysafe

May 7, 2019
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 5xLP, Blu + Box, Album, Ltd, Num, RCV1-565277, 603497862627
Okay, so, everyone saying the quality sucks? I am curious if that's not a problem of them having poor systems now, because everyone I know who owns these sets and have good setups say they are great.
leonthepro

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings leonthepro

May 7, 2019
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 5xLP, Blu + Box, Album, Ltd, Num, RCV1-565277, 603497862627
Kittysafe
I have loved JRR TOLKIEN's writings since I was a little kid, and always wanted the Howard Shore box sets on vinyl... but everything I'm reading says the packaging and audio quality is pretty poor... so I'm hoping someday a quality remaster / reissue comes out for all of Tolkien's works on vinyl. I hear the audio on Return of the King is the best of the 3, but splitting up the map between all the releases was dumb as the maps are not consistent in style and do not even match up lol... which is unacceptable. Fellowship is being sold for $500 Two Towers is $75 King is $100 The Hobbit isn't avinylable in this formatSo here's to waiting for a quality box set of the whole series in a consistent and quality release worthy of the work it's representing.

You seem to know a lot about these boxes. Could you help me out, Im not sure which box to get. I assume the music is a little different for each, but do all contain the main tracks that we all know and love or which has most of the for the best price?
Thanks!
randyjones66

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings as reviewed by randyjones66

September 17, 2018
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 5xLP, Blu + Box, Album, Ltd, Num, RCV1-565277, 603497862627

The Rhino pressing is very disappointing. Odd “rushing” sounds and other inexplicable noise not present on the CD. Should be premium quality for the price.
71step28

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings 71step28

August 6, 2018
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 5xLP, Blu + Box, Album, Ltd, Num, RCV1-565277, 603497862627

So after the poor box of the Fellowship the Two Towers box arrives looking so much better in terms of construction. Place it next to the Fellowship box to find the spines are totally out of alignment. Beyond frustrating to see this sort of error.
jmiester25

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings as reviewed by jmiester25

July 28, 2018
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 5xLP, Blu + Box, Album, Ltd, Num, RCV1-565277, 603497862627
Just got this. There is needle noise throughout much more than "Fellowship." This pressing seems rushed comparatively, but it's not terrible or bad. It's just not as stellar as "Fellowship."
cc971751

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings cc971751

February 12, 2018
referencing The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings, 3xCD + DVD-A + Box, Dlx, 44376-2
This has always struck me as odd as well! That and the price it is going for these days. I’m scared to see how much the vinyl release is going to set me back... Hold on wallet, we are going on an adventure!