MIA* ‎– Kala

Interscope Records ‎– B0009659-02
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Bamboo Banga 4:58
2 Birdflu
Producer [Vocal Production] – Cavemen (2)
3 Boyz
Mixed By – Mark "Spike" Stent*
4 Jimmy
Mixed By – Mark "Spike" Stent*
5 Hussel
Featuring – Afrikan Boy
6 Mango Pickle Down River
Featuring – Wilcannia MobProducer [Additional Vocal Production] – Diplo, M.I.A. (2)Scratches [Cut] – DJ AbilityWritten-By – Brendan Adams, Buddy Blair, Colin Roy Johnson, Daniel Wright, Keith Dutton, Lendal King, M.I.A. (2), Morgan Lewis (2), Walter Ebsworth, Will Jarrett
7 20 Dollar 4:34
8 World Town 3:54
9 The Turn 3:52
10 XR2 4:20
11 Paper Planes
Mixed By – Switch (2)
12 Come Around
Edited By [Vocal Protool Editing] – Ron TaylorEngineer [Assistant] – Larry "Live" Lyons*, Marty GreenProducer [Vocals Productions] – Jim BeanzProducer, Performer [All Instruments], Featuring – TimbalandRecorded By, Mixed By, Programmed By – Demacio "Demo" CastellonWritten-By – Timothy Clayton*, Timothy Mosley

Companies, etc.



Track 1 incorporates elements of Roadrunner by Jonathan Richman and Kaattukkuyilu by Ilayaraja from the film Dalapathi.
Track 2 incorporates elements of Thirvizha Na Vantha by RP Patnaik from the film Jayam.
Track 4 incorporates elements of Jimmy Jimmy Aaja Aaja by Bappi Lahiri from the film Disco Dancer.
Track 6 is remixed from the original recording Down River by the Wilcannia Mob.
Track 7 incorporates elements of Where Is My Mind by Charles Thompson.
Track 8 incorporates elements of Hands Up Thumbs Down by Blaqstarr.
Track 11 incorporates elements of Straight To Hell by The Clash.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 02517 42565 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variants 1, 2, 3, and 5): B00 096 5902 01@
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): B00 096 5902 02$
  • Mastering SID Code (Variants 1, 2, 3, and 5): IFPI L006
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI L009
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0308
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0315
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0371
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0356
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 0319
  • Other (Center Ring, Variants 1, 2, 3, and 4): MADE IN USA BY EDC
  • Other (Center Ring, Variant 5): MADE IN USA BY UML

Other Versions (5 of 20) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
XLCD281 MIA* Kala(CD, Album) XL Recordings XLCD281 UK 2007 Sell This Version
XLCD281, CBAKR MIA 0034 MIA* Kala(CD, Album) XL Recordings, Aksara Records XLCD281, CBAKR MIA 0034 Indonesia 2007 Sell This Version
BGJ-10030 MIA* Kala(CD, Album) XL Recordings, Hostess Entertainment Unlimited BGJ-10030 Japan 2010 Sell This Version
XLCD281X MIA* Kala(CD, Album, RE + CD + Album, Iri) XL Recordings XLCD281X UK 2008 Sell This Version
B0009715-01 MIA* Kala(2xLP, Album) Interscope Records B0009715-01 US 2007 Sell This Version



Add Review



April 4, 2008
I was quite suprised to see that no one had written anything about this great album?

From top to bottom one of the most complete and genre melding records in years. Breakbeats and hip hop and reggae and techno and even old school hardcore sounds and pounding bass and quixotic and masterful lyrics abound. And and and. Sampling The Clash and doing it well isn't easy and on 'Paper Planes' mia excels at that which isn't easy. Sampling Pixies lyrics and transposing them into something very different borders on genius and lets not even talk about the pounding badass bass drum of 'Boyz'.

Yes this is a pop record but there is no shame in that when it is done this well.

And another thing. This is that all so difficult second record. Mia lays waste to that concept casting aside all doubters and
helping reinfuse music with her life and energy. First class.