tranzyd

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid tranzyd

November 29, 2018
I still heard it in a clud a few months back! never ages. One of those obscure tracks. Unfortunately the vinyl pressing is not great and it is pressed / mastered quieter than many records. Bought my own copy from SwordFish record shop in Birmingham when it came out as I was walking past the store they where blasting this (unusual as this was mainly a rock/grunge store), I had to walk in and buy it . This was so in your face when it came out
tdv123

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid as reviewed by tdv123

December 25, 2016
The opening speech in this great Acid House track is taken from the Popes vist to Ireland in September 1979 - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pope_John_Paul_II%27s_visit_to_Ireland. It's an adress to the Irish Republican Army & other paramilitary groups like the UVF, UDA & INLA to stop fighting. A month before in August the IRA killed nearly 20 soldiers in an ambush & killed Lord Mountbatten the Queens cousin both on the same day. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrenpoint_ambush
laughing-gor

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid as reviewed by laughing-gor

April 17, 2016
edited over 3 years ago

Quite possibly the best UK acid house record ever - with strong competition like "Voodoo Ray", "Stakker Humanoid" and a few others, that's quite some suggestion, but this one still has the same effect (for me) as it did back in '88 - and that's really saying something.

Not exactly the most perfect programming/recording ever, but that's part of the appeal - it all sounds so "live" in a way which electronic music often fails to do, especially in these over-produced times.

If it was possible for me to DJ old skool acid house, there is NO doubt that this one would be in my box at all times. A masterpiece.
DirtyDisco

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid DirtyDisco

March 6, 2012
edited over 7 years ago
This is one of the first acid house songs I heard as a teenager in the late 90's, and it scared the shit out of me. It's sort of terrifying if you listen to it loud enough as it drowns out any other nearby sounds and cuts through your brain like psychedelic colored scalpel. It's now almost 2 1/2 decades old and stills sort of gives me chills and makes me uneasy every time I listen to it on full blast. I know I'm not saying anything new here but this track has been such an impression on me, one of the few songs from my teen years I still listen to that I felt I NEEDED to testify to it's greatness. Back in the 90's, in high school, when I still actually did drugs I was afraid to put this on while high and f***ed up, like it might send me over an edge I might never come back from.
richie_kay

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid richie_kay

July 14, 2011
So who has produced this amazing masterpiece?
1969

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid 1969

March 23, 2010

A truely dark,trippy old skool classic and one of the first acid tracks produced in the UK.Everytime I play this record Im back in a smoke filled room,strobe flashing all sweaty in my bandana with my hands in the air,get right on one matey!
scherben

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid as reviewed by scherben

December 28, 2007
edited over 3 years ago

Jesus loves the world, so he blessed us with this acid creation. Lovely 'acid' with a simple funky, squelchy, high end 303 (actually a 101, I've been informed) squeek and squelch. Add on the nice vox samples: crowd chants (well sounds like it); some one saying acid; and of course the infamous call of aciiiiiid, and you have something that still sounds fresh after 20 years. How do they do it? Btw, John Paul II's speech at the start sums up the acid house ethos perfectly. Peace.
scherben

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid scherben

February 11, 2016

Thanks for the correction. I've only just seen your reply :)
mick197070

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid mick197070

October 10, 2014
scherben...its a 101 not a 303....
nobsaj

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid as reviewed by nobsaj

November 17, 2006
edited over 5 years ago

I totally agree with the above comments, a Acid House gem, took me quite a few years to obtain the track, even then it was on the Toob Tunes Vol 1 bootleg, it has the essential elements of Acieeeedness, dark & menacing, a relentless groove with the depth of an abyss, this is the stuff nightmares are made of, this track contains the essence of Acid House within its vibe, a wicked, wicked track, love it!
damon4130

Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid as reviewed by damon4130

October 22, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

Jesus loves the Acid, an acid icon, so extremely powerful, that it blew me (almost litteraly) away every time I heard it in that infamous club in Destelbergen, Belgium. In the 17 years that have past, this release has kept it's strength and makes me long for those good old crazy Acid and New Beat nights. Simply brilliant...