47 For Sale from $11.25


  • Last Sold:

  • Lowest:

  • Median:

  • Highest:


Videos (13)


The ResidentsResidue Of The Residents

Label:Ralph Records – RZ-8302
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1The Sleeper
A2Whoopy Snorp
A3Kamakazi Lady
A4Boy In Love
A5Shut Up! Shut Up!
GuitarFred Frith
A6Anvil Forest
B1Jailhouse Rock
B2Ups & Downs
B3Walter Westinghouse
B4Saint Nix
B5Open Up
Guitar [Solo]Snakefinger

Companies, etc.



Notes and informations taken from the back sleeve:

- track A1: written in 1979, inspired by Ennio Morriconi's "Magic And Ecstasy",
- track A2: released in 1977 on Blorp Esette Volume One, a compilation of songs released by a Los Angeles based free music society,
- track A3: recorded in 1971 on length tape (never been released) before the existence of Ralph Records,
- track A4: recorded at the time of Mark Of The Mole,
- track A5: extra one-minute song that, while not on Commercial Album, was released in England and France on singles. The Residents excluded it from the album because they thought it sounded too trendy. Fred Frith carries this song with his "heavy" guitar,
- track A6: written for The Tunes Of Two Cities LP, but there was no room to put it on,
- track A7: this version of Diskomo / Goosebump has been remixed and edited to approximately half of its original length,
- track B1: recorded in the Summer of 1982 as a break from rehearsal on "The Mole Show",
- track B2: original recording (lasting some 3:04). Was adapted and re-recorded to be included in a one-minute version in Commercial Album,
- track B3: has been remixed, though the length is the same. Was on the EP Babyfingers the third side of Fingerprince. This was release later through the Residents fan club. "Walter" can also be found in it's original form on the Recommended Records Sampler in England,
- track B4: was put on tape shortly after the resignation of President Nixon. The original vocal proved to be unsuitable and was re-recorded for inclusion here,
- track B5: written for The Tunes Of Two Cities LP, but there was no room to put it on. Features a fine guitar solo by Snakefinger.

"This is not part three of the Mole Trilogy"
Manufactured by Ralph / 109 Minna Street #391 / San Francisco CA 94105 / ℗ 1983, Ralph / RZ-8302

© ℗ 1983 - Ralph

Black vinyl only release. However, on some copies, looking at the disc through a strong light, a dark blue translucent color appears due to the composition of the material.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, hand-etched runout, variant 1): RZ-8302-A S-10345 S-10345
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, hand-etched runout, variant 1): RZ-8302-B S-10346
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, hand-etched runout, variant 2): RZ-8302-A S-10345
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, hand-etched runout, variant 2): RZ-8302-B S-10346
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (4)View All

Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
Residue Deux (CD, Compilation, Reissue, Remastered)East Side DigitalESD 81322US1998
New Submission
Residue Deux (CD, Compilation, Remastered)Bomba Records (4)BOM 22077Japan1998
Residue Deux (CD, Compilation, Limited Edition, Reissue, Unofficial Release)ArsNova, ArsNovaAN-2428, ARSN228095Russia1999
Residue Of The Residents (2×LP, Compilation, Reissue)Superior ViaductSV073US2014


voikarl's profile picture
Residue is a album of miscellaneous Residents tunes, consisting of "favorite rarities, private tapes, experiments that were never completed, and songs that were left off of LPs due to lack of space". The choices were primarily dictated by The Residents, although some input was received from the both the Cryptic Corporation and the staff of Ralph Records.
The record contains six previously unreleased songs (The Sleeper, Boy in Love, Anvil Forest, Jailhouse Rock, Saint Nix, and Open Up), as well as Kamakazy Lady from Baby Sex, and Whoopy Snorp from Blorp Esette. The front cover features a drawning of The Residents, artfully created by Pore-Know Graphics.