The War On Drugs ‎– Slave Ambient

Secretly Canadian ‎– SC190
2 × Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM, Album, Club Edition, Limited Edition, Numbered, Reissue, Blue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Best Night
Bass – Dave Hartley*Drums – Steven UrgoElectric Guitar – Kurt VilePiano – Robbie BennettVocals, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar [Electric Phased Guitars], Guitar [Animator Guitars], Piano [Tom Thumb Piano], Sampler, Harmonica – A. Granduciel*
A2 Brothers
Drums, Percussion – Mike Zanghi*Guitar [Nashville Guitar], Bass, Synthesizer [Voyager] – Dave Hartley*Piano, Acoustic Guitar – Robbie BennettVocals, Electric Guitar, Effects [Harmonizer] – A. Granduciel*
A3 I Was There
Drums – Jeff RyanSynthesizer [Juno 60] – Dave Hartley*Upright Piano – Chad StockslagerVocals, Harmonica, Electric Guitar, Bass – A. Granduciel*
B1 Your Love Is Calling My Name
Drum Programming, Effects [Harmonizers], Electronics [Patch Bay] – Jeff ZeiglerDrums [Hayman], Drums [Pig] – Mike Zanghi*Effects [Eventide], Synthesizer [Modular Moog Treatments] – Michael Johnson (9)Vocals, Guitar, Synthesizer [Siel OR400], Synthesizer [ARP Omni I], Organ [Farfisa], Effects [Animator], Harmonica, Effects [Harmonizers], Sampler, Tape – A. Granduciel*
B2 The Animator
Effects [Harmonizer Settings] – Michael Johnson (9)Effects [SPX90], Electronics [Patch Bay] – Jeff ZeiglerOrgan, Synthesizer [Siel OR400], Synthesizer [Mono/Poly], Tape [Cassettes], Effects [Eventide], Effects [Moogerfooger] – A. Granduciel*Saxophone – Jesse Trbovich
B3 Come To The City
Bass, Drums, Twelve-String Guitar – Dave Hartley*Drums – Michael Johnson (9)Drums, Percussion – Mike Zanghi*Vocals, Harmonica, Organ, Synthesizer [Voyager], Effects [Animator], Sampler, Tape – A. Granduciel*
C1 Come For It
Synthesizer, Tape – A. Granduciel*
C2 It's Your Destiny
Bass, Electric Guitar – Dave Hartley*Electric Guitar – Kurt VilePiano – Robbie BennettVocals, Sampler, Synthesizer [Siel OR400], Synthesizer [ARP Omni], Guitar [Jazzmaster], Percussion – A. Granduciel*
C3 City Reprise #12
Synthesizer [Siel OR400], Effects [Harmonizer], Drum Machine, Tape [CAssettes] – A. Granduciel*
D1 Baby Missiles
Bass, Guitar [Stratocaster], Autoharp [Electric Autoharp] – Dave Hartley*Drums, Percussion, Effects [Mutron Bi-Phase] – Mike Zanghi*Mixed By – Brian McTearVocals, Harmonica, Electric Guitar, Keyboards, Effects [Filters] – A. Granduciel*
D2 Original Slave
Effects [Dubs], Harmonica, Tape [Cassettes] – A. Granduciel*
D3 Black Water Falls
Bass, Twelve-String Guitar [Acoustic 12-String] – Dave Hartley*Drums, Percussion – Mike Zanghi*Piano – Kim RoneySynthesizer [ARP Omni II] – Robbie BennettSynthesizer [Voyager] – John AshleyVocals, Electric Guitar, Drums, Organ – A. Granduciel*

Companies, etc.



Limited to 2,000 copies, foil numbered on back.

©&℗ 2011 Secretly Canadian

Recorded 2008-2011 at Uniform Studio (Philly), Echo Mountain (Asheville, NC), AG's joint in Philly.

All words and music by Adam Granduciel/Seaformation Music (ASCAP) except Brothers (Granduciel/Hartley/Zanghi/Bennett), Come To The City (Granduciel/Hartley), It's Your Destiny (Granduciel/Bennett)

Cover - Zaragoza, Spain, Drugs Tour, July 2009
Inside - Livingston, MT. Violators Tour, October 2009

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed on sticker on shrinkwrap): 656605019055
  • Barcode (Printed on back cover): 656605019017
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped on Side A): 160743M1/B
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped on Side B): 160743M2/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped on Side C): 160743M3/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped on Side D): 160743M4/A

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SC190 The War On Drugs Slave Ambient(2x12", Album) Secretly Canadian SC190 US 2011 Sell This Version
SC190 The War On Drugs Slave Ambient(2x12", Ltd, Red) Secretly Canadian SC190 US 2011 Sell This Version
none The War On Drugs Slave Ambient(12xFile, AAC, Album, 256) Secretly Canadian none 2011
SC190 The War On Drugs Slave Ambient(CD, Album) Secretly Canadian SC190 US 2011 Sell This Version
SC190 The War On Drugs Slave Ambient(CD, Album, Promo) Secretly Canadian SC190 US 2011 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



October 1, 2018

I agree that this release is far superior to the original release. My records were also flat.


November 17, 2017
First records received badly warped. VMP sent a new one and that was much better. Nice and flat. Sound-wise a big step up from the original SC pressing which wasn't so nice. Much better soundstage on this, the "ambient" aspects of the record comes much better off than before.


October 22, 2017
Nice job by VMP cleaning this one up. Sounds great. Recommend.


October 5, 2017
Does anyone know whether this pressing has overcome the deficiencies of the Secretly pressing from 2011? That was badly warped, sounded flat (although some of it down to the sound of the mix I think) and was off center too. Really hope this VMP betters it, then I'll take the plunge.


September 26, 2017
This album sounds killer - still available at VMP's website. Get it while you can!