houdiniexperiment

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) houdiniexperiment

December 29, 2017

Mine came with "extra bonus surface noise" - gave it a wash, doesn't helped much. Pity!
jc4411

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) jc4411

October 18, 2017
Not the biggest fan of the artwork quality here. But, I must've gotten lucky with the wax as mine has no issues.
billnyethevinylguy

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) billnyethevinylguy

October 18, 2017

Beautiful presentation and the remaster sounds otherworldly. My copy bately has any pops & crackles. Either I got lucky or there's been a second batch pressed already.

Either way, I am pleased to finally own the soundtrack on vinyl.
sdwilson

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) sdwilson

February 5, 2018

The more I play it seems to sound better, maybe I'm just getting used to it.
billnyethevinylguy

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) billnyethevinylguy

February 5, 2018

Perhaps it's the way I set up my Equalizer, I don't know. To my ears, it sounded great! Wasn't pressed too Hot nor too quiet.
sdwilson

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) sdwilson

October 18, 2017

billnyethevinylguy
Beautiful presentation and the remaster sounds otherworldly. My copy bately has any pops & crackles. Either I got lucky or there's been a second batch pressed already.Either way, I am pleased to finally own the soundtrack on vinyl.

I agree with the presentation being beautiful but didn’t you think the pressing was rather quiet?
Mine certainly was and was full of clicks and pops. I even had to clean it before playing because of debris on the playing surface.
texasvinyl

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) texasvinyl

October 10, 2017
The mastering is dynamic and robust, that part was done well. The front cover art is sharp. The artwork on the inner gatefold and one side of the inner sleeve is indeed very grainy, the inner gatefold in particular looks absolutely horrible. The record does sound good, not weak or compressed-- quite dynamic. But whoever approved the gatefold image is negligent, honestly they would have been better off leaving it a single sleeve and reducing the price or at least doing a few small high res screenshots from the film & liner notes from Christopher Young. Anything besides that blurry disaster they put in.
CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) as reviewed by CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

October 7, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
This has to be one of the worst pressings I've heard in a while. I'm listening to it right now and the sound quality for something that is supposed to be "remastered" is absolute garbage. Wow! There's tons of surface noise, pops, crackles and the tracks sound compressed and weak. Check this out...I opened it and the record sleeve they used did that "vacuum seal" thing where it sticks to the album. Great. Getting it out of the sleeve was a pain in the ass and caused the album to scrape against the sleeve. I put it on for a spin and I'm not kidding here - side A sounds like a dollar bin record at the flea market - HUGE skips where the needle dragged halfway across the record! Twice! WTF! I took the album off and tried cleaning it, did a thorough wash and put it back on. The skips are gone, save for one, but the sound quality is total shit still. Side B sounds better but this is not a good pressing and I'm disappointed because this was one I've been looking forward to for a long time. I guess I'll try and get the Mondo copy now? Ugh. Anyone else having these issues with this pressing? Normally, Lakeshore presses pretty good stuff but this one sucks ass for such an iconic score. Wtf Lakeshore??

Oh! I'd also like to add the the photos they used on the gatefold and the sleeve suck! It looks like they took images from the original VHS and blew them up for this record.

*Update: I cleaned side A again to see if it would help. I mean I drowned it it fluid and then very carefully wiped it clean. It helped. Side A is now at least listenable. What the hell though? How dirty are these things coming from the pressing plant? I shouldn't have to sand blast a new record. :/

*UPDATE: 11/16/17
I just received my replacement record. It took over a month to get it! Wow! Ok, so here's the verdict on my replacement - it sounds better than the original one. There's still some surface noise but not nearly as bad as the other copy.

Aaaaand it has a slight warp. Lol...fuck. Can't win. Really wish this would have come with a download card. :/
CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

October 11, 2017
I put in for a return today. I'll let you know if the replacement copy sounds any better. \m/
joeyburch

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) joeyburch

October 10, 2017
Hmm, I guess you should ask for a replacement then. If it’s as bad as you say that’s just not right. The main thing is for the music to sound good and in my opinion, the rest doesn’t matter much. I bet they’ll replace your copy if you let them know yours is messed up.
CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

October 10, 2017
Ha! I actually have mostly positive reviews. I'm glad you got a good copy! Maybe I'm unlucky with this one...but that's why I posted. That said, my equipment is fine. My collection is large, including quite a few shitty beat up records, and no other records do this. I realize how it sounds with the needle jumping like that, and I had the same reaction: crap, my stylus/tonearm is bad. But it's not my equipment, it's the record. As for it being unfair to Lakeshore, fuck that. I posted a review to see if other people had similar issues and to also warn people...that's the purpose of this medium - to communicate with others in the community when something is funky or really great. The art sucks, man, no other way to say it. It looks like Mondo got some high quality photos for their box set, it's too bad Lakeshore didn't do the same, which, again, is odd because they usually release nice stuff.
joeyburch

Christopher Young - Hellraiser (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) joeyburch

October 9, 2017
Maybe you got really unlucky or you need new equipment. Mine sounds great and has no surface noise. When you say your needle jumped halfway across the record my first thoughts are that you need a new needle or you need to rebalance your tonearm. That just doesn’t happen even playing the shittiest beat up records if you have a decent turntable. As for complaining that it was too hard to get the record out of the sleeve and the picture looks bad (it’s similar to the original Japanese pressing), you sound like you’re struggling to come up with original criticism. It’s unfair to disparage an independent record label just to rant for the sake of ranting to sound like you know what you’re talking about. Based on your other reviews it seems like that’s your thing. This release is fine.