Rahul Mukerji ‎– Ma De Re Sha

Not On Label ‎– none
File, AAC, WAV, Album


1 Exit 13
2 Sita
3 Fingerprints
4 Children of I-2
5 A Path Less Travelled
6 Zidd
7 Ma De Re Sha
8 Train Ride from Siliguri
9 Baisakhi
10 Hope Anew
11 Event Horizon
12 Sinner

Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



November 11, 2019
I own a LP of this, how do I post it for sale here?


July 7, 2019

India-born / Maryland-based guitarist Rahul Mukerji is making waves with his 2017 CD called Ma De Re Sha. Rahul’s music is very cinematic and his fleet fingered guitar work sounds influenced by masters such as Jeff Beck, Jan Akkerman and Al DiMeola. All instrumental, Ma De Re Sha takes its cues from a mix of driving, electronic instrumentals and Indian flavored, guitar-based instrumental soundtracks, which is so popular in Indian movies. Speaking about his wild mix of mystical Indian modalities meets Western jazz-rock fusion in the following interview, Rahul explains, "To be absolutely frank, I was more drawn to Western music, as far back as I can remember. I was certainly exposed to classical Indian music, but as a child I never really understood it and consequently never really appreciated it." Performing all guitars, guitar synth, e-bow and programming, Rahul adds in sampled sounds, tablas for a traditional Indian percussive effect and modern drum programming to give the sound a solid rock edge. Ruben Rubio adds bass and Bruce is on additional drums and programming. Rahul Mukerji picks up from golden era of 1970s fusion and blends in a dose of 1980s electronic synth rock on his well-timed 2017 album Ma De Re Sha.


December 19, 2017

Rahul Mukerji didn’t miss the chance to mine emotional territory on Ma De Re Sha and this is something that has enriched the album. Rahul Mukerji has been performing live and making music for over 20 years, with his pieces having featured in movies, radio stations and animations. It was a matter of when, not if then, that he will be regaling listeners with a debut album, which is brimming with genuine emotion and sublime compositions.

In his first collection of songs titled Ma De Re Sha, the India-born guitarist and instrumentalist bridges two musical worlds. At first glance the musical worlds of the East and the West might look extremely different but Rahul Mukerji’s fusion of progressive rock, and at times heavy metal riffs, with Indian and Middle Eastern music is not even for a moment unusual. The arrangements on Ma De Re Sha are intricate without being showy, borrowing from traditional Indian music, while the electric guitar parts are reminiscent of the master of rock instrumental, Joe Satriani. The modest ambition of the guitarist to fuse those elements supplies the music with a certain spark.

This spark is evident in the serene ambiance of the traditional Indian music intertwined with the more hook oriented riffs in songs such as Sita and title track Ma De Re Sha. Rahul Mukerji’s multicultural upbringing between East and West, he’s based in Baltimore, has seeped into every song.

According to the guitarist the project is the embodiment of unity in diversity and ‘’ the compositions and the arrangements were inspired by interactions with people from different cultural backgrounds and walks of life’’ who found a common language in music. Rahul Mukerji’s guitar prowess is the main talking of this album but credit should also be given to bass player Ruben Rubio and co-producer Bruce Ng for playing their part to bringing this LP to life.

Rahul Mukerji didn’t miss the chance to mine emotional territory on Ma De Re Sha and this is something that has enriched the album.