Kittysafe

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings as reviewed by Kittysafe

April 30, 2019
I have loved JRR TOLKIEN's writings since I was a little kid, and always wanted the Howard Shore box sets on vinyl... but everything I'm reading says the packaging and audio quality is pretty poor... so I'm hoping someday a quality remaster / reissue comes out for all of Tolkien's works on vinyl.

I hear the audio on Return of the King is the best of the 3, but splitting up the map between all the releases was dumb as the maps are not consistent in style and do not even match up lol... which is unacceptable.

Fellowship is being sold for $500
Two Towers is $75
King is $100
The Hobbit isn't avinylable in this format

So here's to waiting for a quality box set of the whole series in a consistent and quality release worthy of the work it's representing.
jurehumar

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings as reviewed by jurehumar

December 3, 2018
edited 5 months ago

Ahh, finally, the LOTR soundtracks on vinyl. I went for these release, hoping to FINALLY get a decend sounding soundtrack (those CDs really are nothing special). I layed the first vinyl on my turntable and afer a few minutes, I couldn't help but draw a wide smile across my face. Sure, it's not groundbreaking, but it's DEFINITELY the best this music has ever sounded. Truly, the LOTR score has NEVER sounded more majestic, more dynamic, more clear. This is an astounding release, that I recommend to any fan of these soundtracks. When I listened to Bilbo's party, I could literally hear all of the instruments with perfect clarity. The Bridge of Khazad-Dum sound powerful and totally over-bass-whelming (can this be a new word? Did I just coin a new word?). The box is very pretty, if somewhat weak. You have to be careful with it (which I expect every person who buys such a set to be). The booklet is made of quality paper, really glad when I saw it. And the third of the map of Middle-Earth is extremely cool.
All in all, a fantastic release with clear and deep sound. A true collector's item, through and through. Buy it before these prices skyrocket.
Dcreative

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings Dcreative

June 8, 2018

At 27.07.18 realease the Limited box of Two towers on Blue Vinyl!
Limited to 8000 Copys!

I have reserved my copy today on e.m.p
Dcreative

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings Dcreative

August 10, 2018

i have pre-Order The Return of the king and the Collection is complete :)
Dcreative

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings Dcreative

June 28, 2018

between the first and the second box lay about 4 months!
i would say that "the return of the king" christmas comes on the market
0y0

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings 0y0

June 25, 2018

Do you know when the Vinyl of " Return of the King" release will come out ?
Xe4ro

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings Xe4ro

June 19, 2018
edited 11 months ago

I just ordered from Amazon.com again. Still way cheaper than ordering from within Germany or any other EU country :D
jmiester25

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings as reviewed by jmiester25

June 6, 2018
edited 11 months ago
Preordered this from Barnes and Nobles and it is fantastic. I would recommend listening with headphones, the pressing is a bit quiet....but there is absolutely no surface noise and there are only like 3 very quiet pops throughout the entire 5 records. Highly recommend..
Bigsam411

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings Bigsam411

May 1, 2018
Is there plans to reprint sell more of these? I just noticed that it even existed and do not want to pay the huge markup.
VincentVegaFFF

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings VincentVegaFFF

April 25, 2018
This desperately needs a reissue. I preordered it from Amazon.ca as soon as it went up, it was out of stock on release day, so I ordered it on Banres and Noble when it said it was in stock, wait weeks only for the order to be canceled and I refuse to pay double or more from a third party. I don't care about the fancy case or coloured records, I just want the music in hand. They obviously severely underestimated the demand for this and many people seem to have been left out in the cold on it.
Xe4ro

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings Xe4ro

May 29, 2018

It was up on Amazon.com for at least a month until it sold out.
to.cunha

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings to.cunha

April 26, 2018

If you just want the music why don't you buy the CD/Blu-ray box? Anyway, you can order the 5 LP boxset on Amazon.it, the cheapest available Amazon store price right now.
to.cunha

Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring - The Complete Recordings to.cunha

April 19, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

European units were sent inside a fit-to-box package with sponge parts! All inside a larger Amazon box.
Very beautiful package - resembles the original CDs boxes.
Copy 4002 / 5000 - Portugal.