romanNYC

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile romanNYC

June 4, 2020
edited 5 months ago

Initially, the album sounds a bit flat and stifled but comes to life after the sound is cranked up. While playing the first disk, the needle tracks perfectly and everything is okay except an off-center label on the B side. On the second disk, I quickly realize I didn't get lucky as the needle gets groovy on the C side with up and down, and sideways undulations. Nothing terminal but nonetheless unfortunate. It seems that many US-based vinyl pressing outfits no longer have masters who know (or care) how to press. Europe is mostly where it's at these days. Lovely album, otherwise. 5 stars for the music, 3 for the vinyl pressing.
midnightrunner

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile midnightrunner

June 21, 2019
When I left this record out once, my mam saw it and got very cross, as she loves the monarchy and considers calling the Queen "a lizard" highly treasonous. She wrote a letter to Impulse! to explain this, but they never replied!!
spencerrecords

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile spencerrecords

May 28, 2019
My copy is the original pressing. The vinyl has strange staining marks across all 4 sides. The second record has a slight edge warp. There are two non-feelable scuff marks across Side D, but it all plays through perfectly, without any clicks or surface noise.
Rob_Etch

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile Rob_Etch

May 12, 2019
Doesn't seem to be any definitive comment on whether this EU repress is better than the abysmal first US pressing. Anyone?
e.h.soundsystem

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile e.h.soundsystem

March 27, 2019
Added https://www.discogs.com/release/13410224 (The March 2019 release).
Please let me know if all is OK ;)
wdrhold

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile wdrhold

March 1, 2019

My copy purchased Feb. 2019 sounds great. Either they did a new pressing, or I got lucky.
ssk13

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile ssk13

March 17, 2019
Could you please check if there's a way to separate the 2019 repress from the 2018 press? If it's distinguishable I would like to try and pick it up!
gasdanow

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile gasdanow

February 20, 2019
Is there any difference between the first and the second pressing now? Maybe better pressing quality?
Alexjay

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile Alexjay

March 1, 2019
My copy is on the way today. I don't have the first version for reference, but I'll listen and report back in the next few days.
simonkrogh

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile simonkrogh

January 31, 2019
My copy is a bit warped but sounds just fine. I guess I'm just lucky.
brunotorchet

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile brunotorchet

May 22, 2020
So does mine !
Such a great lp ! Loving it !
jamiebecky

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile jamiebecky

January 26, 2019
Repress coming March 2019. My copy is pretty good, requires cranking up the amp a bit though.
rightasra1n

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile rightasra1n

February 15, 2019
Thank you. Where can I get more info about this repress?
MrWordsWorth

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile as reviewed by MrWordsWorth

December 26, 2018
I am pretty sure this is United Record Pressing's usual hack job. The download code is redeemable at 'urpressing.com' and the vinyl is very much as awful as anything they do: off-center and dimpled. There is no way they should be entrusted with any release, much less one associated with the venerable Impulse! imprint.
Torontoonian

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile Torontoonian

December 16, 2018

I was about to buy this off Amazon but after reading all of the comments I think I'll give it a miss.
e.h.soundsystem

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile e.h.soundsystem

January 9, 2019
What where they daying Torontoonian? A summary would help us all. Thanks.
klauswebner

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile klauswebner

December 1, 2018
Both lp's have pressing defects, gf is dented inside. Another example of lacking quality controls these days. A shame.
SunandMoonDisc

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile SunandMoonDisc

November 6, 2018
My pressing does not have any manufacturing defects, but after reading some reviews of this pressing I decided to do a listening test. I listened to the record and then the same track on Spotify and unfortunately it was immediately evident that you're better off just streaming this record. It's crazy how much better of an album this is than the vinyl would allow you to experience. What a shame.
JATPL

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile JATPL

August 24, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
As soon as I saw the words "Universal Music Distribution" and the FBI warning on the back I knew what this would be like but being a glass half full kind of person and against my better judgement I bought this. Universal In the United States should be ashamed at the poor pressing standards at their pressing plant (I can't imagine there is more than one). Every single person associated with the manufacture of these records should be embarassed at what they churn out. My copy had every single manufacturing flaw you can inflict on a record. Both LPs were warped, scratched, dirty and pock marked like the surface of an asteroid. The labels were torn and off center and the records appeared to have some sort of sandblasted, dull sheen to them. Universal in the US do not know how to manufacture records. Not one LP I have ever bought and manufactured by them has had even a modicum of quality control associated with it. Don't waste your money on this turd of a pressing; it is awful.
JATPL

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile JATPL

December 29, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
Thanks for this clarification. I will never buy another record with UMC on the back of it, same with anything made by United or GZ. I have wasted so much money this year on defective vinyl. But not anymore.
MrWordsWorth

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile MrWordsWorth

December 26, 2018
Universal doesn't have a plant. They have their vinyl pressed at either Rainbo or United, I think, although for some reason the telltate 'U' is not in the deadwax on United pressings. I think this is a U pressing. It has all the hallmarks of their work, from dimples to being off-center. Virtually everything Rainbo and United press is off-center or otherwise defective junk.
Normal_Records_SD

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile Normal_Records_SD

September 25, 2018
are the artists not involved in the QC at all? Don't they send test pressings for their approval anymore, or maybe they didn't even ask?
Rob_Etch

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile Rob_Etch

August 4, 2018
Typical pressing quality for a major conglomerate i.e. fucking shoddy. Creed Taylor would be ashamed, not that Universal Music Group would give a shit about that.

Excellent music, abysmally presented. Bit of a shame Sons Of Kemet couldn't have signed this to a less prestigious but more capable, real label.
lostindigital

Sons Of Kemet - Your Queen Is A Reptile lostindigital

July 28, 2018
quality of record is… there is no quality. Music on its own is great. Lovet it from first drop of jamaican vibe.