Ceephax* ‎– Camelot Arcade

WéMè Records ‎– WEME046
13 × File, FLAC, Album


1 Trusthouse Forte 3:34
2 Camelot Escalator 7:25
3 Life Started Tomorrow 9:08
4 Shadowphax Part 1 7:17
5 Creon Happy 2:52
6 Path To The None 8:34
7 Phraxby 5:54
8 Hovagen 5:00
9 The Green Night 6:10
10 Wasteline 389 4:16
11 The Great Greatsby 6:04
12 Shadowphax Part II 5:34
13 Yodecahedron 6:13


Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WEME046 Ceephax* Camelot Arcade(3x12", Album) WéMè Records WEME046 Belgium 2018 Sell This Version
WEME046 Ceephax* Camelot Arcade(3x12", Album, Ltd, Cle) WéMè Records WEME046 Belgium 2018 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 8, 2018
This album is definitely a sonic departure from his recent output, there's a marked ambience and pad-wash to it. although there are little moments here and there where the old acid style breaks thorough, it's restrained and in the service of the mood. It demonstrates a wider range and palette, and quite bravely hopes to take you along with it. No complaints here! He's clearly been listening to his ambient peers and mixing it in with his ingredients. It could be the start of something exciting!


April 3, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
Not recommended for first-timers to the acid jester.

Muted, faint melodies accompany moderate drum work and downtempto acid. To be honest, most of it has trouble sticking to my ear's wall, even after several full listens. Sure, there's potential with songs like "Life Started Tomorrow" and "Path to the None," but either in part or in whole, this album is nowhere near as vivid and intoxicating as Cro Magnox. It's not terrible, mind, but it is largely uneventful. One exception, though: the exquisite sadness of "Trusthouse Forte." Definitely the most delicious melody of the record, as beautifully wistful as the baroque "White Wig Dream" from the Charismatic EP. The piano entry mid-way is positively euphoric.

Also, note that Ceephax is not using his Acid Crew moniker for this release. That should clue in for fans of his because, given the moods of the music here, the album's title gives the wrong impression when considering his recent "Camelot Chronicles." That was an acid banger full of energy and bounce. This album is something you'd use at home for atmosphere and texture rather than for drinks and fun. Camelot Arcade is Andy's saddest and most lonely-sounding record yet.

I've been a listener of his work for years now. What's making him sound so dour and borderline melancholic here? (Even his brother's been looking like Ol' Man River lately.) Are the travels and night-life gigs taking a toll on the man behind the controls? Is the world making him weary? I wonder, but I worry, too...

...then I remember his untitled late-night track he posted on YT years ago, playing an introspective melody on the keyboard alongside the only light source illuminated in his room: a sign that reads "CHANGE."

Change, indeed. And I hope.