Dave Matthews BandUnder The Table And Dreaming

Label:Bama Rags Records – 88875022921, RCA – 88875022921, Legacy – 88875022921
2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Remastered, Repress, 150 Gram
Genre:Jazz, Rock, Blues, Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Style:Pop Rock, Jazz-Rock


A1The Best Of What's Around4:17
A2What Would You Say
HarmonicaJohn Popper
B1Rhyme & Reason5:15
B2Typical Situation
Percussion [Additional Percussion]Steve Forman
B3Dancing Nancies6:05
C1Ants Marching4:31
C2Lover Lay Down5:37
C3Jimi Thing5:57
D2Pay For What You Get4:32

Companies, etc.



℗ & © 1994, 2014 Bama Rags Recordings, LLC.
Digitally remastered from the original flat analog tapes on 2 150gram LPs.

Includes a download card featuring the album and three unreleased bonus tracks, including the original studio version of live favorite “Granny”and intimate acoustic versions of “Dancing Nancies”and “The Song That Jane Likes.”

Includes insert containing credits and photographs.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 888750229212
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout Etched): MPO 14-0487 A 88875009631-A ᶜB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout Stamped): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-20911
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout Etched): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-22098
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout Etched): MPO 14-0487 B 88875009631-B ᶜB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout Stamped): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-20910
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout Stamped): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-22097
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C Runout Etched): MPO 14-0487 C³ 88875009631-C-RE2 ᶜB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C Runout Stamped): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-20901
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C Runout Stamped): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-40000
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D Runout Etched): MPO 14-0487 D 88875009631-D ᶜB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D Runout Stamped): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-20900
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D Runout Stamped): MPO (Stamped Logo) 18-40049
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 45)

View All
Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
Recently Edited
Under The Table And Dreaming (CD, Album)RCA07863 66449-2 US1994
Recently Edited
Under The Table And Dreaming (Cassette, Album, Dolby B)RCA07863 66449-4US1994
Recently Edited
Under The Table And Dreaming (CD, Album)RCA07863 66449 2Europe1994
Under The Table And Dreaming (CD, Album, Club Edition)RCA, BMG Music CanadaBG2 66449Canada1994
New Submission
Under The Table And Dreaming (CD, Album)RCACDRCA (WF) 4084South Africa1994


  • -Soup-'s avatar
    Sounds really good. Glad to have such a great album at a reasonable price!
    • whoamax's avatar
      Purchased from Walmart. I’d say I have a mid fi setup, very impressed. Sounds great, highly recommend.
      • Andrewslattery's avatar
        It's not true AAA as they took the tape and digitalised it for some unknown reason, however it still sounds bloody good. Not as good as the AAA Crash issue, but still really good!
        • Amjac's avatar
          Sound-wise this is one of the cleanest records I've heard. The previous owner had cleaned it and cared for it extremely well which should be considered however as it isn't uncommon for records to be dirty when opened mint from the factory. To sum it up, extremely pleased with how it sounds.

          Interesting how on this release it omits the gatefold and lyrics print out etc. Would have made this a perfect release if those were included, but the sound is more important of course!
          • wheelfieldcommerce's avatar
            Picked this up in reverse order of my typical purchases. Before purchasing, I usually go onto this site and search for releases that I am interested in and then read the reviews (if any), then use these to determine if they will make my wish list. Generally, if I am in a brick and mortar store I will not pick anything up that is not on my want list. Sometimes, I will look up the release in store to see if the reviews are good. On this purchase, however, my impulsivity got the best of me and I fell victim to the "Oohh... mastered from original analog tapes on heavier (not 180gr) vinyl" and picked it up. To make matters worse, it was one of those stores that you pass through once and won't likely get back to anytime soon, so a return was off the table. I got home with this and THEN read the reviews and was very concerned to hear that there were some consistently reported audio defects that appeared to be from the mastering process. Kiss of death for folks who really search out full soundstage mastering. So....with much hesitation, I opened it up, put the first record on the platter and held my breath, then the second...... and exhaled with RELIEF!! Now I don't run the highest end set up, Sansui G-3000 receiver, Onkyo Liverpool speakers and Technics SL-1200 deck (with upgraded RCA, SHURE M97x cartridge and Elliptical Stylus), but it does capture full sounds, highs and lows, and was built to capture the nuance of live JAZZ recordings. With that said, when something sounds good it sounds really good and when it has issues, I hear them as well. Both LP's played without ANY noise, the base was present and not overpowering, the cymbals, and snares came in perfectly in the background and the mids tied them both together beautifully. Dave's vocals were silky smooth and I heard all of the slight imperfections and variations of his singing style that I love about him. OVERALL, THIS ALBUM EXCEEDED THE EXPECTATIONS THAT I HAD THAT WERE BASED MOSTLY ON REVIEWS OF OTHERS WHO EXPERIENCED SOME ISSUES. It does happen that on some runs there is a very slight shift in the transfer from master to vinyl and this results in SOME of the pressings having issues as a result. In this case, either the issue was caught and adjusted or the album that I received was pressed pre-issue. In either case, I am HAPPY to add this to my collection. Not sure if I just got lucky by getting a clean full mastering or if the others had bad luck by getting copies with mastering issues, but for me, definitely worth the purchase. True audiophile sound!!
            • ness151's avatar
              Picked this up at a local big box store that starts with W... the record itself is quiet, but the vocals sound so... hissy. I had to go back multiple times to verify with test records and other record systems (and cleaning...) that I own just to verify that the problem is indeed the album pressing itself. Very unfortunate.
              • draden's avatar
                My copy played nice and clean. I am a bit disappointed in the sound quality, not much (any) depth to the sound. Compared to my cd this is easier to listen to, not as sharp or edgy sounding. I am not fatigued after listening to it at a decent level. If you have the cd I don’t think this is a big enough difference to warrant the money but to each their own.



                28 For Sale from $22.99


                • Last Sold:
                • Lowest:$19.99
                • Median:$27.00
                • Highest:$59.99

                Videos (3)