eurobeat70065

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop eurobeat70065

April 11, 2017
This was one of my favorite late night tracks when I DJ'd in the 80's at Neo Beach in New Orleans
Rootcanal

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop Rootcanal

June 1, 2017
I was a regular at both NeoBeach and Scandals... numerous others.
HighwireDays

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop as reviewed by HighwireDays

August 24, 2015
edited over 6 years ago

I had always thought of the Orb's "Little Fluffy Clouds" as the ultimate headphone mindfuck song (and still do), but these tracks are right up there at that impossibly lofty level. They put to shame most of today's "I Love The '80s Strikes Back" practitioners of this sound. By the way, the place rot get both of them digitally is on the CD version(s) of From The Hip.
Rootcanal

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop Rootcanal

June 1, 2017
Ultimate headphone tweeking yes, but this track hits me deep down in the gut. The tweeky bleeps up top and that bass down there. Wow.
8892sales

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop 8892sales

August 3, 2014
edited over 6 years ago

As far as I'm concerned the Megamix of this release is pure, proper electro. Although the vocal whisperings can be pushing it into the realms of synth-pop it's not enough to escape the electro labyrinth imo. Although I can understand why the previous reviewer's comment about it being a proto new beat is also relevant.

This can be played alongside any Afrika Bambaataa And Soul Sonic Force classics, Man Parrish, Two Sisters, Egyptian Lover, Unknown DJ, Kraftwerk, Cybotron, Model 500 etc or any other electro / electro funk / electro rap / techno electro numbers one wishes to throw at it. Absolutely timeless.

Just a few examples where sections of the track have been sampled:

Intellectial Harmonious Sanction EP 'Drift & Dream (Easy Street Records) & (R & S Records) (1991)
Joey Beltram's Direct - Project Breakdown (Allabi Records) (1990) & Joey Beltram - Fuck All You Mother Fuckers
Betabox

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop Betabox

December 27, 2013
edited over 7 years ago
The B side Megamix version sounds very New Beat, 4 years avant la lettre...
SergioCocco

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop SergioCocco

November 19, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
Was played like that (sometimes even slowed down) as that in Belgium clubs like Ancienne Belgique (Antwerp office!) & radio show Liaisons Dangereuses from 1985 onward..
Jav

Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop as reviewed by Jav

March 8, 2003

Those that have this record know what an amazing track this is. The remix is an electronic masterpiece; bass heavy,industrial with lush keyboards and allsorts of fuuristic sounding bleeps...The vocal side is sytnth music of the highest order.