Eliane RadigueAdnos I-III

Label:Table Of The Elements – Cs 55, The Sandwalking Company – SWC-CD-55
3 x CD, Album


1-1Adnos I1:11:26
2-1Adnos II1:12:44
3-1Adnos III1:12:40

Companies, etc.



Adnos I composed 1973-74 and premiered 1974 at Festival d'automne in Paris, France.
Adnos II completed in 1979 using the Arp synthetizer with the aid of three Revox 1/4 inch tape decks, a mixing console and an outboard third-octave filter used in synch with the filters of her Arp.
Adnos III composed 1979-80.
These three pieces marked the end of the Adnos series.

Additional digital mastering at Griffin Mastering, Atlanta.

Adnos I © 1975 Eliane Radigue (SACEM).
Adnos II © 1981 Eliane Radigue (SACEM).
Adnos III © 1983 Eliane Radigue (SACEM).
This release © ℗ 2002 The Sandwalking Company.

Comes with an 8-page booklet and 5 translucent inserts on tracing paper.
Box includes a 2002 Table Of The Elements 98-page catalogue.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 06501 10552 3
  • Barcode (Scanned): 806501105523
  • Rights Society: SACEM
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1 (Mirrored)): SWC551 #20525Y55 Made in Canada
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1 (Etching)): 11
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1 (Plastic Hub)): 12
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2 (Mirrored)): SWC552 #20529Y41 Made in Canada
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2 (Etching)): 11
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2 (Plastic Hub)): 25
  • Matrix / Runout (CD3 (Mirrored)): SWC553 #20526Y42 Made in Canada
  • Matrix / Runout (CD3 (Etching)): 21
  • Matrix / Runout (CD3 (Plastic Hub)): 27
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L387
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 6000

Other Versions (2)

View All
Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
Adnos I-III (3×CD, Reissue)Important Records (2)IMPREC028US2013
New Submission
Adnos (3×File, FLAC, Reissue)Important Records (2)IMPREC028US2021



  • incuswetrust's avatar
    Absolutely the best drone work i have ever heard, and i've heard a lot of drones! Part II is the highpoint of minimalist classicism in my opinion- unsettling high and low pitches that oscillate wildely (!) begin the piece that leads to a clicking ostinato that shifts in and out of the stereo field, to a final, awesome coda where deeper drones resonate against one another, creating shifting and ephemeral patterns ( a favourite device of Madame Radigue) that finally convalesce into a stronger deep bass drone that slowly evaporates. Has to be heard, really; as a few words as this do not do it justice.
    The other two pieces are strong too. Part I is hallucinatory and aurally muffled, like hearing events in dense fog. And III is another aesthetic wonderwork, resembling her 'Trilogie de la morte'. Why did it take so long for these pieces to be released? Absolutely essential. Dig deep and get.


    For sale on Discogs

    Sell a copy

    8 copies from $45.00


    • Have:328
    • Want:396
    • Avg Rating:4.86 / 5
    • Ratings:86


    Videos (3)