DJNORTHENER

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker as reviewed by DJNORTHENER

March 16, 2016
I love 'Reverting' just so damn hypnotic and funky in a dark, jacking way, defo one of my fave Jeff Mills tracks.
----

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker ----

February 19, 2016
edited 7 months ago
I remember this really clearly.

ax-11, ax-12 and ax-13 all came in to my local record shop on the same day. I bought Humana and was pissed off that I couldn't get this. Bought it in the end. Everyone had a copy. Every track got thrashed!~
dylaf

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker dylaf

August 7, 2015
The most helpful & factual review I have personally come across.
alex_hexxen

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker alex_hexxen

January 2, 2015

Black is the number and In the Bush are two of the best techno tunes ever produced.
vagueblack

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker vagueblack

November 19, 2014

Perfection. They just don't make 'em like this anymore.
giannimigom

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker giannimigom

February 24, 2014

One of the best Mills releases to me
TimF

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker TimF

February 3, 2014
A quite brilliant record. Every tune is a classic, but In the Bush is a personal favourite. I've used it to get myself out of trouble on many occasions.
andrewh

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker andrewh

August 19, 2012
edited over 3 years ago
great 12
Decay_K

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker as reviewed by Decay_K

August 2, 2007
edited over 9 years ago

CASA, One of my favourite all time tracks. Thinking about it being used on the Jeff Mills' Mix up series, with the Japanese people getting crazy when seeing that Jeff will start some extra spins. Samba-people can curl their bodies any way they want, but they can't curve it the way this track rolls through the speakers.
909_bd

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker as reviewed by 909_bd

April 27, 2006
edited over 10 years ago
This single (possibly with a few others) sparked a whole new era in techno - it consists of hard and dry Roland TR-909 drumbeats with small filtered loops of classic tribal and funky percussive disco records layered over it. The only effect used is some filtering and small delay on the loops that are faded and mixed over time. The "Purpose Maker" label became a whole new sucsess story at the turn of the century for Jeff Mills, with sales quickly overturning those of his original "Axis" imprint. Many DJs and recording artists have been greatly influenced by this style at the time, for example Deetron, User, Ben Sims, Samuel L. Session.
vagueblack

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker vagueblack

November 22, 2014

I agree. The banging sampled loop-based techno that would follow and carry through until the early 00s could've never been conceived without the Purpose Makers. Mills was arguably the most influential techno DJ/producer of the mid-90s. Another label from this era that I would say was influential to said trend would be Planet of the Drums.
V-Agent

Jeff Mills - The Purpose Maker as reviewed by V-Agent

March 8, 2003

The releases that introduced the 'Purpose Maker' moniker, used to name the subsidary label.