David Bowie ‎– 1. Outside (The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper Cycle)

Friday Music ‎– FRM-40711, ISO Records ‎– 88875045311, Columbia ‎– 88875045311, Sony Music ‎– 88875045311
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, White/Black Swirl, 180 Gram


A1 Leon Takes Us Outside 1:24
A2 Outside 4:04
A3 The Hearts Filthy Lesson 4:56
A4 A Small Plot Of Land 6:33
B1 Segue - Baby Grace (A Horrid Cassette) 1:40
B2 Hallo Spaceboy 5:13
B3 The Motel 6:49
B4 I Have Not Been To Oxford Town 3:48
C1 No Control 4:32
C2 Segue - Algeria Touchshriek 2:02
C3 The Voyeur Of Utter Destruction (As Beauty) 4:20
C4 Segue - Ramona A. Stone / I Am With Name 4:01
C5 Wishful Beginnings 5:08
D1 We Prick You 4:34
D2 Segue - Nathan Adler 1:00
D3 I'm Deranged 4:29
D4 Thru' These Architects Eyes 4:20
D5 Segue - Nathan Adler (Version #2) 0:28
D6 Strangers When We Meet 5:07

Companies, etc.



Audiophile Translucent White & Black Swirl Limited Edition on 180 Gram Vinyl with Tri-Fold Cover

Identical to 2015 Reissue, David Bowie - 1. Outside, but on different colored vinyl.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Sticker, on shrink wrap): 8 29421 47711 2
  • Barcode (Printed, back cover): 8 29421 40711 9
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 88875045311-A G-1 RM 23516.1 (3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 88875045311-B G-1 RM 23516.2 (3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): 88875045311-C G-1 RM 23516.3 (3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): 88875045311-D G-1 RM 23516.4 (3)

Other Versions (5 of 80) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
74321303392 David Bowie 1. Outside (The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper Cycle)(CD, Album) BMG, Arista 74321303392 Europe 1995 Sell This Version
74321303391, 74321 30339 1 David Bowie Excerpts From Outside (The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper Cycle)(LP, Album) Arista, Arista 74321303391, 74321 30339 1 Europe 1995 Sell This Version
74321369004 David Bowie 1. Outside (The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper Cycle)(Cass, Album) Arista, BMG 74321369004 Europe 1996 Sell This Version
511934 9 David Bowie 1. Outside (The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper Cycle)(CD, Album, RE + CD, Comp + Ltd, Dig) Columbia 511934 9 Europe 2004 Sell This Version
SICP 541 David Bowie 1. Outside (CD, Album, RE) Sony Records Int'l SICP 541 Japan 2004 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 11 Reviews

Add Review



May 24, 2019

I pre-ordered this shortly after it was announced, as it’s one of the Bowie albums I’d wanted the most for a fair while. I was concerned by the comments on other Friday Music Bowie reissues, but really I don’t see any problem with this one. The images from the CD booklet are very slightly smudgy when you look at them up close, but as long as you don’t have your face a couple of inches from them it’s really not noticeable at all.

Mastering job is great, and so is the pressing. Heavyweight vinyl with zero surface noise and looks gorgeous to boot. Mine was shipped to the UK from the US and I had no issues with sleeve damage like other people have described. There’s a very slight ring impression from the record on the spine side of the front cover, but nothing else to speak of - no splits, bumped corners or anything else.

Bit late to be recommending this version since the few copies for sale have already rocketed in price, but if you’re in the market for it and don’t mind paying a pretty penny, this is a pretty fantastic reissue of a pretty fantastic album.


February 15, 2019
I scored mine from Amazon Warehouse Deals earlier this month for a cool $40 and its only issue is a small seam split on the top. Otherwise there are no other packaging or disc issues worth mentioning. Anyhoo it sounds AMAZING, highly recommended!


January 18, 2019
Mine arrived and appears to be damage free. Looks great!


January 15, 2019
Beautiful re-issue of this very underrated Bowie album. Vinyl sounds good and the packaging is beautiful. Looks like I am the only one whose cover was not damaged.


January 14, 2019
Yep can agree with all comments below on this one; the trifold sleeves are being damaged by over zealous packaging sealing them too tight or they are just getting bashed around! The vinyl is good quality and sounds good though, pleased to say.


January 13, 2019
The saving grace for me is that this is a decent pressing and the Vinyl sounds very good but there are definitely quality control issues with the trifold sleeve from Friday Music mine arrived with all corners squashed and the trifold cover flat due to the shrink wrap being too tight. I've decided I'm storing the vinyl separately and have filed away the empty trifold Album cover in a protective sleeve to reduce wear and tear and keep in as best condition as possible. The online UK retailer I bought mine from agreed the sleeves are not good enough and said as I preordered I got the best of a bad bunch had the vinyl not sounded as good and the fact I love this album I'd have returned it.
Amazon.co.uk had this listed for £60 so glad I didn't pay that much.


January 8, 2019
edited over 2 years ago

Surprisingly, not a bad release. Definitely better than their reissue of Hours. The mastering job is, mercifully, MUCH better! I noticed right away once "Outside" started playing that it's much more dynamic and much cleaner. The bass is nice and clean, and the vocals sound crisp and clear. The artwork and packaging are also pretty nice-looking, except for the tracklisting which lists the third track as "The Heart's Filthy Lesson" when it shouldn't have that apostrophe on "Hearts" (it's not supposed to be a possessive...great attention to detail there, FM /s).

Anyway, it's a pretty good release that should at least tide us over to if/whenever Parlophone will release a proper reissue. Also, the black/white splatter color of the vinyl is pretty gorgeous, and kind of goes perfectly with the record's art mystery storyline.