Swans ‎– What Is This?

Young God Records ‎– YGX 0069
CD, Limited Edition, Numbered

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Leaving Meaning 6:32
2 The Hanging Man 10:02
3 Amnesia 6:10
4 The Nub
Vocals – Jennifer Gira
5 Cathedrals Of Heaven 6:20
6 Sunfucker 6:29
7 What Is This? 5:20
8 My Phantom Limb 11:24
9 Annaline 3:50
10 It's Coming And It's Real 5:49

Companies, etc.



[Disc label]
All songs © Young God Publishing 2019 (ASCAP)
℗ Young God Records 2019

[Lyrics sheet]
All words and music copyright © Michael Gira / Young God Publishing 2019... These songs were recorded at Marcata Studio by Kevin McMahon, except #9 and #10, which were recorded at home. [...] Mastering [...] at Micro-Moose, Berlin.

The songs on this CD are DEMOS. This means that they are rough drafts / templates to be used or referred to while further developing and performing new and expanded versions of the songs with additional musicians in the recording studio. [...] The purchase of this specially package and produced CD serves as an invaluable aid in meeting the considerable cost of recording and producing these songs in a a sonically evocative manor that suits their content. [...] Michael Gira 2019

Limited to 2,500 hand-numbered unique and signed single-CD packages, released in a cardboard sleeve. Each number is stamped onto the back of the cardboard, where the signature is also located.
Contains a double-sided sheet containing lyrics. Contains another sheet with notes by Michael Gira on the current planned tracks for the next Swans album.

Track lengths are not included in the packaging, and are measured by a computer.

The release contains 10 Michael Gira acoustic versions of songs for the new Swans album.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: YGX0069 6745-CD-2862 19-055-13
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LK13
  • Mould SID Code (Mirrored): IFPI L820
  • Rights Society: ASCAP