Prince ‎– Batman™ (Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 925 936-1, Warner Bros. Records ‎– WX 281
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Future
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal By Batman] – Prince
A2 Electric Chair
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal By The Joker] – PrinceMixed By – Chris Lord-Alge
A3 The Arms Of Orion
Composed By – Prince, Sheena EastonLead Vocals [Duet By Vicki Vale & Bruce Wayne] – Prince, Sheena Easton
A4 Partyman
Guest [Special Guest Presence] – Anna Fantastic, Femi JiyaLead Vocals [Lead Vocal By The Joker] – Prince
A5 Vicki Waiting
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal By Bruce Wayne] – Prince
B1 Trust
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal By The Joker] – Prince
B2 Lemon Crush
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal By Vicki Vale] – Prince
B3 Scandalous
Composed By – John L. Nelson, PrinceLead Vocals [Lead Vocal By Batman] – Prince
B4 Batdance
Guest [Special Guest Presence] – Matthew LarsonLead Vocals [Lead Vocals By The Joker, Gemini, Vicki Vale, Bruce Wayne & Batman] – Prince

Companies, etc.



On both labels appear the following credit:
"All songs published by (G.B. only) Warner Chappell Music Ltd."

Not to be confused with
Prince - Batman™ (without publisher credits on labels)

Title sticker on sleeve:
TM & © 1989 DC Comics Inc.
925 936-1
WX 281

UK: WX 281 925 936-1 BATMAN™ Motion Picture Soundtrack

Sleeve, back:
UK: WX 281
925 936-1Ⓤ
925 936-4
925 936-2
France: WE 381

925 936-1
WX 281

Inner sleeve (with lyrics):
UK: WX 281
925 936-1
All choir, horn and orchestra parts are performed by [...]. Samples of the parts are re-arranged and performed by Prince

Special guest presence by: Jack Nicholson, Michael Keaton and Kim Basinger on THE FUTURE, VICKI WAITING, PARTYMAN & BATDANCE; Sheena Easton on THE ARMS OF ORION, Femi Jiya with Anna Fantastic on PARTYMAN and Matthew Larsson on BATDANCE
ELECTRIC CHAIR mixed at the Grey Room
Mastered at Masterdisk, New York
Sheena Easton appears courtesy of MCA Records, Inc.
TM & © 1989 DC Comics Inc. "BATMAN", "VICKI VALE", "BRUCE WAYNE" and the "JOKER" are trademarks of DC Comics Inc.

℗ 1989 Warner Bros. Records Inc. for the U.S. & WEA International Inc. for the world outside the U.S.
TM & © 1989 DC Comics Inc.
Manufactured in Germany

The "Special guest presence" are samples from the movie and the uncredited voice of Robert Wuhl (Alexander Knox) can be heard on TRUST

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7599-25936-1 8
  • Barcode (Scanned): 075992593618
  • Price Code: Ⓤ
  • Price Code (France): WE 381
  • Label Code: LC 0392
  • Rights Society: GEMA/ BIEM
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, variant 1): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-A2 1-25936-A-INTL Set 2-DMM MASTERDISK NY HW
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B, variant 1): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-B2 1-25936-B-INTL Set 1-DMM MASTERDISK NY HW
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, variant 2): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-A2X 1-25936-A-INTL Set 2-DMM
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B, variant 2): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-B2 1-25936-B-INTL Set 1-DMM
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, variant 3): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-A2xxx 1-25936-A-INTL SeT 2-DMM Masterdisk N.Y. HW
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B, variant 3): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-B2 1-25936-B-INTL SeT 1-DMM 14 Masterdisk N.Y. HW
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, variant 4): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-A2 1-25936-A-INTL SeT 2-DMM 25 Masterdisk N.Y. HW
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B, variant 4): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-B2X 1-25936-B- INTL - SeT 1-DMM 16 Masterdisk N.Y. HW SP1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, stamped, [xxx 1-25936-A-INTL SeT 2-DMM Masterdisk N-Y-HW - etched] variant 5): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-A2xxx 1-25936-A-INTL SeT 2-DMM Masterdisk N-Y-HW
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B, stamped, [1-25936-B-INTL - SeT 2-DMM 57 Masterdisk N-Y-HW SPI-1 - etched] variant 5): R/S Alsdorf 925936-1-B 1-25936-B-INTL - SeT 2-DMM 57 Masterdisk N-Y-HW SPI-1


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



January 20, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
An album that works well away on its own as much as it is an exclusive soundtrack to a Tim Burton film. Appearing as the "pop" side to Danny Elfman's classical score, "Batman" is a strange affair of Prince's hits and misses. The production is without doubt top-notch, the sample-heavy tricks under Prince's sleeve deliver a daring collection of twisted pop experiments.

Among these, "Batdance" alone stands out carrying the entire premise of a "soundtrack", combining moments from "The Future", "Electric Chair" and "200 Baloons" (the latter a non-album b-side track to "Batdance"). Interchangeable and magnificent with a stunning guitar solo cutting mercilessly straight down the middle, "Batdance" makes some of the other songs sound like fillers - "Electric Chair" is musically driving but lyrically doesn't live up to the title's promise. The same goes for "Vicki Waiting" and "Lemon Crush" both of which also show music appeal but these tracks' weakness lies in the shallow lyrics.

The "Batdance" appeal of a soundtrack is strongly evident in "Partyman" - a stunning, funky-as-hell dance number in reference to The Joker (the extended (video) mix is even more adorable). "Trust" passes the test with a charm of its own (and like "Partyman", actually appears in the very film). "The Future" adds to this selection, and is an ideal opening track, stripped down to a minimal beat placed in a suitably creepy, gothic setting.

The unecessary soap opera sadly arrives with "The Arms Of Orion" - too typical a ballad of the time (a duet between Sheena Easton and Prince as "Vicki" and "Bruce"), too bland for a soundtrack like this one, ruining the complete picture. And if you saw the film, the Vicki / Bruce romance isn't that explicit to earn a song like this, which in fact doesn't even appear in the film anywhere, sounding even more over-the-top in trying to portray a romance between the two, that is rather on the surface.

"Scandalous", the other of the two ballads, suffers for the same reason - overcharged with erotic innuendos to an extent of hinting at a sexual climax scene in the very film (in the album version we hear some heavy female breathing), although "Scandalous" is one of Prince's finest ever songs and stands strong on its own, away from the film's context.


August 14, 2018

Holy DMM-pressing Batman! Sounds nice and bright and crisp. No problems with my copy. Play "Trust" and "Batdance" loudly.


May 22, 2016
Vinyl Repressing coming!!! Read below

Some of the albums in this particular batch fall in the era when CD sales took over the industry, and Warners and the other big record companies made little to no vinyl editions of the records. These new pressings will feature the albums in their original format (no bonus tracks). Here’s the full list of what’s to come:

June 21st: “Around the World in A Day” (1985)
July 19th: “Parade (Under the Cherry Moon soundtrack)” (1986)
August 23rd: “Sign o’ the Times”(1987)
September 20th: “The Black Album”(1987 recorded; 1994 released)
October 18th: “Lovesexy” (1988) and “Batman” soundtrack (1989)
November 22nd: “Graffiti Bridge” soundtrack (1990) and “Diamonds and Pearls” (1991)
December 13th: “The Love Symbol” (1992)


January 11, 2015
After "Lovesexy", Prince kind of took a little dive here. Even though this was for the movie, it was not his best work. It wasn't completely bad, "Batdance","Partyman",and "Electric Chair" are very good songs. "Vicki Waiting" was more Prince sounding, while "Scandalous", even though not that bad, compared to songs like "Adore", it's no contest. This is really the first almost flat album by P!!!!!!


December 7, 2014

For me it's a masterpiece.