The Art Of Noise ‎– Daft As A Brush!

ZTT ‎– Element 46, BMG ‎– BMGCAT326QLP
Box Set, Compilation, Limited Edition, Remastered
4 × Vinyl, 12"

Tracklist Hide Credits

Beat Box Diversions One To Six
A1 The Art Of Noise Beat Box (Diversion One) 8:33
A2 The Art Of Noise Beat Box (Diversion Two) 6:04
B1 The Art Of Noise Beat Box (Diversion Three) 5:37
B2 The Art Of Noise Beat Box (Diversion Four) 1:16
B3 The Art Of Noise Beat Box (Diversion Five) 3:43
B4 The Art Of Noise Beat Box (Diversion Six) 3:57
Closer (To The Edit)
C1 The Art Of Noise (St)art Of Noise 1:17
C2 The Art Of Noise Close (To The Edge) 5:54
C3 The Art Of Noise A Time To Hear (Who's Listening?) 3:32
C4 The Art Of Noise 'Listen Out' 1:00
D1 The Art Of Noise Close (To The Edge) (7" Mix) 2:19
D2 The Art Of Noise A Time To Hear (We're Listening!) 1:26
D3 The Art Of Noise 'Listen In'
Lyrics By [Uncredited] – Julie MiddlesVocals [Uncredited], Lyrics By [Uncredited] – Mike Finney
(Share) Moments In Love
E1 The Art Of Noise Moments In Love (Original, Part One) 6:28
E2 The Art Of Noise Memento (Hymnal, Part One) 1:24
E3 The Art Of Noise The Spring Flowers 2:12
E4 The Art Of Noise 'To The Death... For Life' 1:57
F1 The Art Of Noise Moments In Love (Original, Part Two) 2:25
F2 The Art Of Noise Memento (Hymnal, Part Two) 1:49
F3 The Art Of Noise The Autumn Leaves 2:41
F4 The Art Of Noise 'For Life... To The Death' 1:18
Life's A Barrel Of Laughs
G1 Art & ACT* Life's A Barrel Of Laughs (Out Of This World) 8:03
G2 Art & ACT* Yes Or No (Yes!) 1:00
H1 Art & ACT* This Is Your Life (Tk. 6 - Tch Vox) 2:00
H2 Art & ACT* This Is Your Life (Tk. 3 - M Vox) 4:35
H3 Art & ACT* Yes Or No (No?) 4:09

Companies, etc.



Record Store Day 2019.

Label lists duration of 3:00 for track D3 but this is incorrect. Correct duration listed above.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4050538438246
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 184050E1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 184050E2/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): 184050E3/B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): 184050E4/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side E): 184050E5/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side F): 184050E6/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side G): 184050E7/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side H): 184050E8/A
  • Other (Individual catalogue number - 12" 1): 12XTIS108
  • Other (Individual catalogue number - 12" 2): 12XTPS01
  • Other (Individual catalogue number - 12" 3): WEEPS 2
  • Other (Individual catalogue number - 12" 4): 12ZTFS05
  • Label Code: LC20398
  • Rights Society: mcps


Reviews Show All 11 Reviews

Add Review



May 24, 2020
I just noticed today, the phrase <daft as a brush> is also contained on the subject of towels in the Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy. XD


May 9, 2020
I held out and was finally rewarded with a sealed copy at a bargain price.
Sadly, record 1, side 1 suffers from a production error.
At first I thought it was merely a scuff. Sometimes a scuff isn't audible.
Upon closer visual inspection it appeared worse.
When I ran a cleaning cloth over the damaged area I could feel the scuff.
An extensive cleaning didn't make any difference.
Upon playing the record the 'scuff' was audible for the duration.

Others have reported these errors as well. Sometimes on different discs of the set.

Not sure how much of the pressing/packaging was automated. All of the records have palm and thumb prints on the discs.
I'm sure my set was not pre-owned. The sticker that sealed the flap was not tampered with in any way and the shrink appeared the same. I don't know how else the records could have been accessed.

I was trying to post photos, but unsure how.


December 12, 2019
edited 6 months ago
Most of the tracks are (as of December 2019) exclusive to this vinyl compilation. The tracks that have been released digitally before are A1, B3, B4, C2, C3, D1, G1, H1 and H2.

Track A2 "Beat Box (Diversion Two)" has never been released digitally, but is also available on the original 12".

Track B4 "Beat Box (Diversion Six)" is actually "Beat Box (Diversion Ten)", just without the piano note in the very beginning.

Track C2 "Close (To The Edge)" was previously released on the compilation "The Art Of The 12", Volume Three (A Soundtrack For Living)" as "Close (To The Edit) (Original Ruff Mix)". It was also on the CD box set "And What Have You Done With My Body, God?" as "Close To The Edge (Ruff Mix)" but the kicks in the beginning are truncated there.


April 25, 2019
Interesting. Mine arrived with the hype sticker for the Propaganda box set on it.


April 15, 2019
What were they thinking making the seal a star..? Of course one of the sides got a split while opening.. :>)