Sampa The Great ‎– The Return

Ninja Tune ‎– ZEN258
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Green Translucent, Red Translucent

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Mwana
Featuring – Mwanje Tembo, Sunburnt Soul Choir, Theresa Mutale Tembo
A2 Freedom
A3 Wake Up (Interlude)
A4 Time's Up
Featuring – Krown (3)
A5 Grass Is Greener
B1 Dare To Fly
Featuring – Ecca Vandal
B2 Any Day
Featuring – Whosane
B4 Light It Up (Interlude)
B5 Final Form
B6 Heaven
Featuring – Whosane
C1 Diamond In The Ruff
Featuring – Krown (3), Thando*
C2 Leading Us Home
C3 Summer
Featuring – Steam Down
C4 Brand New
Featuring – SILENTJAY
D1 Give Love (Interlude)
D2 The Return
Featuring – Alien (58), Jace XL*, Thando*, Whosane
D3 Don't Give Up
Featuring – Mandarin Dreams
D4 Made Us Better
Featuring – Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori (26)

Companies, etc.



Sides A, B on green translucent 140g vinyl, and Sides C, D on red translucent 140g vinyl, available to independent retailers. Download code sticker included on inner sleeve. Gatefold sleeve with credits and liner notes inside. Also includes a full color booklet with artwork, lyrics and notes.
A limited edition of signed copies (quantity unknown) - "The Return (2LP) Signed Colour Edition" - were available when ordered directly from the artists website.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned from sticker): 5054429138702
  • Label Code: LC12885
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, etched): ZEN 258 A -LvC-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, stamped): MPO 19 131602
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, etched): ZEN 258 B -LvC-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, stamped): MPO 19 126282
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, etched): ZEN 258 C2 -LvC-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, stamped): MPO 19 131565
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, etched): ZEN 258 D -LvC-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, stamped): MPO 19 133484

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZENDNL258W Sampa The Great The Return(19xFile, WAV, Album, 16-) Ninja Tune ZENDNL258W UK 2019
ZEN258 Sampa The Great The Return(2xLP, Album) Ninja Tune ZEN258 Europe 2019 Sell This Version
ZENCD258 Sampa The Great The Return(CD, Album) Ninja Tune ZENCD258 Europe 2019 Sell This Version
ZEN258 Sampa The Great The Return(2xLP, Album, Club, Ltd, Sil) Ninja Tune ZEN258 US 2019 Sell This Version
ZEN258 Sampa The Great The Return(2xLP, S/Edition, Tra) Ninja Tune ZEN258 Australia 2019 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



July 6, 2020
Pressings like this should come with a health warning for the ears! Very loud, heavy & lovely, great album with a greater sound!


November 13, 2019
Lovely, warm, honest, soulful, rough and smooth at the same time... Sounds like there's both tracks with dope sampling and studio band session stuff, which gives a nice dynamic journey to the pretty long album. Lovely to hear this voice both singing and rapping and speaking, with many other voices contributing throughout. Impressive and hopeful! Excited to follow this project as it proceeds. <3


November 4, 2019
This album is some sick R&B as much as it's HIP HOP!


October 18, 2019

If you thought Hip Hop had died, this will change your mind. Sampa The Great joins Georgia Ann Muldrow in taking it to the next level.