Larry Wish ‎– Laire Wesh

Bumpy ‎– 09, Degelite ‎– DEGl057
Cassette, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Stereo


A1 Riding His Bike Segment 2:17
A2 A Game Of Friend 3:49
A3 Ubduction Revisited 5:39
A4 Quilt^Quilt 2:47
A5 Abel & Cain / Stepdad 6:51
A6 Tron's Lament 2:07
B1 Secret Number 2:30
B2 Lichen Avenue 6:05
B3 The Designer 2:15
B4 Noun On A 2:30
B5 Mirromorrim 9:26
B6 Unpowering Segment 1:31



Laire Wesh was originally recorded in the fall of 2011 at the Organ Haus in Minneapolis, MN and released in November of that year on the DIY tape label Soothing Almonds Collective. The album features the first occurrence of classic Larry Wish songs, "A Game of Friend", "Lichen Avenue", & "The Designer", the latter would go on to become a live show staple for Larry Wish & His Guys. Laire Wesh begins with the track "Riding His Bike Segment", which would later become the main theme for a longer piece titled "The Debatable Land". This theme receives a call-back on side B of the album, titled "Noun On a". One intention of Laire Wesh was to recreate a few older songs in a new context. "Ubduction Revisited" is a solo four-track rendition of a Larry Wish & His Guys favorite, while "Abel & Cain/Stepdad" is an analog version of a song recorded digitally from the 2009 album World Of Pictures. The song "Quilt^Quilt" was first a demo for the band Obchod Na Korze, but found its home here as a bizarre cut and paste project. "Tron's Lament" is a heated version of "Lawn's Lament" from the album Pilot Soundtrack, released earlier that year. In the Larry Wish discography, Laire Wesh shines as an album where the four-track cassette recorder is used as an instrument just as much as the organ, synth, drums, and voice to create distortion, speed modulation, and whirling sound collages.