The Matthew Herbert Big Band ‎– Goodbye Swingtime

Accidental ‎– AC05, Accidental ‎– ac05
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Turning Pages
Other [Processing] – Jamie LidellPiano [Hohner Vibe-piano Thing] – Matthew Herbert
2 Everything's Changed
Lyrics By – Matthew HerbertVocals – Jamie LidellWritten-By [Co-Written By] – Jamie Lidell, Pete Wraight*
3 Fiction
Lyrics By – Arto Lindsay, Matthew HerbertVocals – Arto LindsayWritten-By [Co-Written By] – Arto Lindsay, Pete Wraight*
4 The Three W's
Flugelhorn – Pete Wraight*Vocals, Noises [Typing, Printing] – Mara Carlyle
5 Chromoshop
Engineer [Assistant] – John Bailey*Piano [Hohner Vibe-piano Thing] – Matthew HerbertVocals [8 Parallel Vocals] – Dani Siciliano, Shingai Shoniwa
6 The Battle
Co-producer, Other [Additional Processing] – Andi Thoma*, Jan St. WernerOrchestra [Mouthpiece Orchestra] – Pete Wraight*
7 Misprints
Engineer [Assistant] – John Bailey*Flugelhorn – Pete Wraight*Lyrics By, Guitar – Matthew HerbertNoises – Christine HadlowSoprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone – Dave O'HigginsVocals – Shingai Shoniwa
8 The Many And The Few
Lyrics By – Jamie Lidell, Matthew HerbertVocals – Jamie LidellWritten-By [Co-Written By] – Jamie Lidell, Peter Wraight
9 Simple Mind
Lyrics By – Matthew HerbertVocals – Dani Siciliano
10 Stationary
Bass [Additional] – Dave GreenFlugelhorn – Pete Wraight*Other [Additional Processing] – PlaidVocals [Vocal Snippets] – Dani Siciliano

Companies, etc.



All tracks written according to the rules o PCCOM (Personal Contract for the Composition of Music). All tracks recorded at Studio 2, Abbey Road Studios, July 4 - 7, 2002, except track 7 recorded at Magic and Accident and track 5 recorded at Air Studios, July 2001. All additional recordings and vocals made at Magic and Accident. Mastered at The Exchange, December 12, 2002 and February 22 & 24, 2003.

Chris Bolster is an in-house engineer at Studio 2, Abbey Road Studios.
Ali Mahdavi appears courtesy of Eugenia Melian.

Track 4 contains sounds (referred to as "Noises" in the credits) of Mara Carlyle typing of the URL for the School of Americas' Watch website detailing American involvment in Latin American military dictatorships and printing of pages from the same website. Track 5 contains sound recordings of 16 supermarket shopping tills. Track 7 contains sounds (referred to as "Noises" in the credits) of a working paper guillotine operated by Christine Hadlow, courtesy of Catford Print Centre in London. Track 8 contains sounds of local phonebooks being dropped on floors by people around the world.

Released in a hard cover gatefold with a 10 page booklet (7 pages are cut out to give a pop-up book effect of a landscape) and CD wallet page attached.

***There is at least one copy of this item that has a sticker with a different barcode covering the barcode on the back panel. The code is 8 27884 00002 1. The barcode 827884000014 is the code for the vinyl version according to Amazon. The code 82788400021 is the Discogs listing for the vinyl version The Matthew Herbert Big Band - Goodbye Swingtime. It is not known right now if there are other copies of this item with this barcode sticker present on it. It is also not known who (the label? the distributor? a third party?) placed this barcode sticker on the copy that has it.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 27884 00001 4
  • Barcode (Scanned): 827884000014
  • Matrix / Runout: KEY AC05
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LP76
  • Mould SID Code (Var.1): IFPI 7311
  • Mould SID Code (Var.2): IFPI 4BA2

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



March 9, 2016
Own a copy with the alternate barcode sticker on back cover.


June 30, 2004
edited over 15 years ago

Matthew Herbert takes his one-of-a-kind sensibility back to the Roaring ‘20s, when big band swing music was all the rage. Goodbye Swingtime combines swing jazz and abstract electronics to startling and surprising effect. The vocals (like on “Fiction”) only enhance this feel of both retro and nouveau. There’s moodiness present (“The Three W’s”) as well as wistful (“The Many and the Few”). The surreal stop-start aspect of the music is enhanced by the fact that actual musicians are playing the music, rather than using samples. It’s an album that defies expectation and raises Herbert’s work to a completely different level. In a word: outstanding.


July 7, 2003

It's really amazing to hear jamie lidell singing on tracks like evrything's changed but please do listen to it at home. i've recently play this tune at the party and no one knew what was going on. the record is worth every penny spent on thanks to surpising musical content and delightful package