Electric Light Orchestra ‎– Secret Messages

Epic ‎– SICP-31313
CD, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, Blu-spec CD2, Paper Sleeve


1 Secret Messages 4:43
2 Loser Gone Wild 5:27
3 Blue Bird 4:13
4 Take Me On And On 4:59
5 Stranger 4:28
6 No Way Out 3:28
7 Letter From Spain 2:58
8 Danger Ahead 3:47
9 Four Little Diamonds 4:09
10 Train Of Gold 4:21
11 Endless Lies 3:34
12 Buildings Have Eyes 4:03
13 Motor Factory / Rock 'N' Roll Is King 3:13
14 Mandalay 5:19
15 Time After Time 3:55
16 After All 0:39
17 Hello My Old Friend 8:31

Companies, etc.



Vinyl replica sleeve. Issued for the first time on double vinyl in both the UK & US in 2018, and on CD only in Japan just over one year later.

The Jeff Lynne-approved version of what was going to be a double LP, but it does not include the track 'Beatles Forever', which was initially part of the original tracklist. It would've been track 7.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 4547366428223
  • Barcode (Text): 4 547366 428223

Other Versions (5 of 96) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
JETLX 527 Electric Light Orchestra Secret Messages(LP, Album) Jet Records JETLX 527 UK 1983 Sell This Version
19362 Electric Light Orchestra Secret Messages(LP, Album) Epic 19362 Colombia 1983 Sell This Version
CDM 898-167 Electric Light Orchestra Secret Messages / Singles Hits II(CD, Album, Unofficial) CD-Maximum CDM 898-167 Russia 1998 Sell This Version
19075837691 Electric Light Orchestra Secret Messages(2xLP, Album, RE, Gat) Epic, Legacy, Sony Music 19075837691 Europe 2018 Sell This Version
25AP 2640 Electric Light Orchestra Secret Messages(LP, Album, Promo) Jet Records 25AP 2640 Japan 1983 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 17, 2020
edited 8 months ago

Songs are plain to see, so no speculation on what might be missing. Which means it's fast-forward to sound!

This version sounds similar to the 2001 release (which was a "remaster".... even though the 1990 CD was remastered also........), but less compressed. Most tracks (no, not all) sound less pristine than the 1990 CD, which was pretty much perfect, but still the mixing and compression is now CLOSE to perfect, especially considering every ELO album starting with Time was mixed with a lot of compression for its time. All the missing tracks (cut from the original 1990 CD) sound great, so if you are really paranoid (like me), you can just combine the new 2019 tracks with the older 1990 CD and see how it would sound. Add or take a track, of course. Experimenting with combining different releases is fun!

P.S. Took some time to find this out, but the source for this particular CD was the same high resolution digital files HD Tracks acquired to sell (only downscaled to 16bit 44100hz).