Nine Inch NailsThe Downward Spiral

Label:Interscope Records – B0011697-01, Nothing Records – B0011697-01
Series:Back To Black, NIN – halo eight
2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue
Genre:Electronic, Rock


A1Mr Self Destruct
Guitar [Texture Generating Guitars]Adrian Belew
A4March Of The Pigs2:58
Drum Programming [Special Hi-hat Programming]Flood
B3The Becoming
Guitar [Ring Mod Guitar]Adrian Belew
Synthesizer [Arp 2600]Flood
C1I Do Not Want This
Drums [Drum Performance]Stephen Perkins
Effects [Drum Treatments]Flood, Trent Reznor
C2Big Man With A Gun
Engineer, Mixed ByBill Kennedy, Sean Beavan
Guitar [Additional]Danny Lohner
Programmed By [Steakhouse]Tommy Lee
C3A Warm Place3:22
D2The Downward Spiral3:57
DrumsChris Vrenna
Mixed ByTrent Reznor

Companies, etc.



Comes in a gatefold sleeve with full colour printed inner sleeves, housed in a plastic wallet with Back To Black hype sticker affixed:
"[Back To Black logo]
60th Vinyl Anniversary
Premium Audiophile Pressing On Heavyweight 180 Gram Vinyl In All Original Packaging!

Adrian Belew appears courtesy of Caroline Records.
Stephen Perkins appears courtesy of Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Nine Inch Nails live: Robin Finck, Danny Lohner, Chris Vrenna, James Wooley.

Studios: Le Pig of Beverly Hills, The Record Plant, A&M Studios.
Mastering: Gateway Mastering, Portland, Maine.

Thankyou: Interscope, Jimmy Iovine; Silvia Garcia; Susie Tallman; Peter Christopherson; Rick Rubin; Missy Worth; Brian Warner and Marilyn Manson; Brian Liesegang; the temporarily displaced Richard Bugg; Coco-Puff; Scott Hasson, Mark Tindle, Mike Morongell, Shelly Yakus and A&M; Cally, Jamie Spencer, Marc Marot, Chris Blackwell and Island UK; Paul Connolly; Alex Kochan; Ian Flooks; Mark Blasquez; Sean Wihelmsen and Nadine's; Opcode Systems; Pat Stolpz, Martin Arthurs and Amek; Joseph Cultice; Handy Andy; Marina Chavez; Walter Cessna; Tina Montalbano; Carol Davis

We miss you Jeff Ward

℗© 1994 Interscope Records
All tracks ©1994 Leaving Hope Music, Inc./TGH Records, llc., ASCAP.
All rights reserved, used by permission.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 31452 21261 0
  • Barcode (Scanned): 731452212610
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Variant 1): B0011697-01-LP 01A-1 [email protected] NIN ⓤ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Variant 1): B0011697-01 LP01-B-1 WG/NRP ⓤ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, Variant 1): B0011697-01 LP-02-C-¹ [email protected]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, Variant 1): B0011697-01 LP-02-D-1 [email protected]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Variant 2): B0011697-01-LP 01A-1 [email protected] NIN ⓤ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Variant 2): B0011697-01 LP01-B-1 [email protected] ⓤ ⭐︎
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, Variant 2): B0011697-01 LP-02-C-¹ 1 [email protected]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, Variant 2): B0011697-01 LP-02-D-1 [email protected]
  • Pressing Plant ID (Runouts):
  • Other (On sticker): B2BSTK ST01
  • Other (On sleeve 1): B0011697-01 EV01
  • Other (On side A label): B0011697-01 LP01 a
  • Other (On side B label): B0011697-01 LP01 b
  • Other (On sleeve 2): B0011697-01 EV02
  • Other (On side C label): B0011697-01 LP02 c
  • Other (On side D label): B0011697-01 LP02 d
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 159)

View All
Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
Recently Edited
The Downward Spiral (LP, Picture Disc, Album, Limited Edition, Unofficial Release)Nothing Records (4)522 126-2 PLP1994
Recently Edited
The Downward Spiral (2×LP, Album, Gatefold)Island Records, TVT Records, Nothing RecordsILPSD 8012, 522 126-1UK1994
Recently Edited
The Downward Spiral (2×LP, Album, Promo, Gatefold)Nothing Records, Nothing Records, Interscope Records, Interscope Records, TVT Records, TVT RecordsSTPR 5509, PR 5509US1994
The Downward Spiral (CD, Album, Slipcase)Nothing Records, Island Records, TVT Records74321 19348 2Europe1994
Recently Edited
The Downward Spiral (Cassette, Album, SR, ooooooo, Dolby HX Pro, S NR)Interscope Records, Interscope Records, Nothing Records, Nothing Records, TVT Records, TVT Records92346-4, 7 92346-4US1994
  • kennycrippen's avatar
    This pressing sounds amazing to me, although I have not heard the others. Snare on ‘Piggy’ really punches.
    • MrSweatshirt's avatar
      Won this on an eBay auction for a pretty good price and got to listen to it today. I seriously don't get why so many people are complaining about this pressing since it sounds absolutely amazing! I guess some ppl just got a bad pressing or something...
      • Unkle_Funcker's avatar
        Edited 3 years ago
        Really noisy. Lot of hum and thumping sounds between tracks and at low parts of songs. And no, it’s not my “rig”. This release is not audiophile at all.
        • shade1on1's avatar
          Had it and listened to it many times over the years. Got rid of it recently because i still have the original lp. Because i can compare the two - the original far outweighs this reissue. By far.
          • jaimescreams's avatar
            I beg to differ on everyone's opinion about this pressing. Mine is quiet, sounds really good and with no problems whatsoever. Sometimes (might not apply all the time) people tend to blame the sound of an album when they do not realize its their rig that might be the problem. You do not need a $10,000 rig to tell, just a good pair of ears and a decent stereo and phono stage. Check your rig before judging about the sound quality of a reissue. This one sounds excellent.
            • josepfernandezmarsal's avatar
              Very Good pressing in my opinion. I dont have any of those problems mentioned below.
              • chachimac's avatar
                Does anyone knows if there's a difference in sound quality between the US and Europe versions of the B0011697-01 release? The only difference I have been able to find is the Back to Black sticker.
                • maxferl's avatar
                  If I'm not mistaken, Trent Reznor reacted on Twitter or somewhere when this version was released saying that he was not behind this reissue. It sounded like if he didn't want us to buy it. Someone remembers this?
                  • MusicNerdB52's avatar
                    Not sure if this pressing just sounds rough, or if the album just sounds that way normally. Haven't spent enough time listening to a digital version to compare. Also looking into wether or not Closer ended up being pressed or mixed at a slightly different speed than the original. Something about it sounded off.
                    • jaffe.signore's avatar
                      Bought this same version twice. With first purchase thought it was just a scratch on an otherwise dynamic and beautiful vinyl recording. Both versions purchased on Discogs from two unrelated stores in separate parts of the country. The song 'Hurt' skips and often stops.
                      Bought & received today, 2nd copy... Identical problem! I'll keep it after this, great song but I have it on digital. Sad, but makes this version unusual.... Surely I'm not the only?



                      6 For Sale from $78.98


                      • Last Sold:
                      • Lowest:$25.00
                      • Median:$76.92
                      • Highest:$109.89

                      Videos (5)