thesoundfoundation

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies thesoundfoundation

May 12, 2021
A couple of details that stop this from being a perfect package. On the reverse of the cover of the vinyl album, the die-cut is off-centred (at least on my copy) – the die-cut should be centred on the colour-coded circle as on the original Factory issue. On the front cover of the CD, the colour coded strip is too big – the coloured squares should be the same width as the strip on the inner sleeve to visually connect them.
HomerHossa

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies HomerHossa

December 16, 2020
What does the 15 mean ? Parental advisory under fifteen or something ? DVD are region free mehopes ?
janburnett

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies janburnett

April 27, 2021
meant to say this a British Board of Film Classification rating. https://www.bbfc.co.uk/
janburnett

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies janburnett

April 27, 2021
Correct, legally, people under 15 should be accompanied when watching. Purely because there is a glimpse of Tony Wilson's willy.
SgtPwepper

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies as reviewed by SgtPwepper

December 12, 2020
On CD2 all tracks are instrumental, except for the 4 Peel tracks which were previous available elsewhere.
Track CD2-17 (Blue Monday -Instrumental outtake) is actually just 'The Beach'.
All in all a bit disappointing.
georgeisreallycool

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies georgeisreallycool

November 19, 2020

Great set but the record came very dusty. Made first listen not particularly enjoyable but I'm sure with some cleaning it would sound fine
animal_laminate

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies animal_laminate

November 14, 2020
Got mine from amazon UK and it has the red OBI. Lovely set, but the labels on PCL vinyl are wrong: Side 1 on both sides (altho' the music is correct). This is after getting it from New Order Store with the 4 x 12", which was delivered with mashed corners; then AGAIN with mashed corners. Christ, who'd buy online really. It's a lottery.
animal_laminate

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies animal_laminate

November 14, 2020
NO Store - no OBI [must be ten words must]
puppy38

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies puppy38

October 27, 2020
A couple of notes on this:
- Is it just me or does Your Silent Face kinda slow down at the end (CD)?
- Sounds like a bit of over-re-mastering on Leave Me Alone...much higher vocals.
- I bought the Super Deluxe edition with the singles from New Order store, and as I own the original Blue Monday 12", I have to say that this remastered one may weigh more, but it's already got pops that are fairly annoying for something so pricey. And I cry HUGE foul on including a QR code on the colour code part of the sleeve...WTAF?!

Otherwise, the book is great, but not nearly as insightful as Hooky's books. It might have been nice to have a bit of banter about why Murder wasn't included as the b-side to Blue Monday (the aforementioned version I own has messages on the run-off: A - "Where's Murder?", B - "I said, where's Murder?").

One can only hope that after they're done counting the money, they can give it all a listen themselves and realise what they've thrown away in the last decade. Honouring such an important legacy as theirs shouldn't be that hard, you just gotta bury the hatchet and move forward. They were godlike.

I may post more once I've gone through the rest of the material, but originally just came here looking to see if anyone else spotted some of the audio issues.
animal_laminate

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies animal_laminate

November 14, 2020
Yep, there is definitely a speed fluctuation downwards at the end of YSF. I'm wondering if the whole side is slowed down a bit after that.
puppy38

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies puppy38

November 3, 2020
Yeah, and the thing about those particular vocals, is I find em a bit wonky (quality-wise), but I never really noticed before, which is probably why they were hidden in the mix before...

The Movement remaster is divine!...this one feels like they tried too hard...but overall still good to have.
talla242

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies talla242

October 31, 2020
Notice both those issues as well. Leave Me Alone, sounds like the vocals are pushed up further in the mix, but it's hard to tell since this mastering is a shaved releveled brick. Meaning mastered to zero dB's and then lowered to -01 for the format.
UrquhartBluff

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies UrquhartBluff

October 19, 2020
The cover for the vinyl in both this and the Movement box set came damaged with a seam split at the bottom. The record sits loosely in the box so it's obviously getting damaged in transit. Has anyone else had this issue?
animal_laminate

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies animal_laminate

November 14, 2020
Warners are terrible on cust servs. Email black hole, no phone number
animal_laminate

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies animal_laminate

November 14, 2020
I had a bad experience with Warners. I'm not dealing with them again. Amazon were OK
UrquhartBluff

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies UrquhartBluff

November 4, 2020
I got a replacement copy of the Movement box set sent out from Warner and had the exact same problem again. That’s 2 Movement LPs and one PCL LP all with the same issue. Surely Warner can do something about replacement covers. It ruins an otherwise flawless box. Failing that I’ll just have to hope they issue the albums on their own and buy them seperately to swap out.
Spatzo

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies Spatzo

November 4, 2020
Mine came the same way and not sure what to do. The record is flawless and sounds excellent. As UrquhartBluff said, would be less of a hassle if we could get warner to replace the sleeve
UrquhartBluff

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies UrquhartBluff

October 20, 2020
fbz
Same issue with the Movement Lp cover. But no issue with PCL lp cover.

I sent my Movement box back for a replacement (I asked Warner’s if they could just send the LP cover) but imagine the next copy is going to be the same. Frustrating for the price to be opening the box to find seam splits on the covers. Maybe there’s some way of speaking to Warner’s direct to just get sleeve replacements as opposed to having to return an entire box every time.
fbz

New Order - Power Corruption And Lies fbz

October 20, 2020
Same issue with the Movement Lp cover. But no issue with PCL lp cover.