Dave Clarke ‎– Archive One

Deconstruction ‎– 74321 32067 2, Bush ‎– 74321 32067 2
CD, Album, Digipak

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Rhapsody In Red 3:29
2 Protective Custody 4:51
3 No-One's Driving 4:23
4 The Woki 5:39
5 Southside 4:33
6 Wisdom To The Wise 6:06
7 Tale Of Two Cities 4:34
8 The Storm 6:56
9 Miles Away
Written-By, Programmed By – Catlow*Written-By, Programmed By, Producer, Engineer – Clarke*
10 Thunder 5:14
11 Splendour
Vocals, Lyrics By – Laura-Jane*

Companies, etc.



℗ 1996 deconstruction Ltd.
© 1996 deconstruction Ltd.

Manufactured in the EEC.

Track 3 includes vocal samples from:
- 'The Devil Made Me Do It' by Paris MCPS copyright Tommy Boy Records/Big Life Records,
- 'U Know What Time It Is' by Grandmaster Flash (Williams/Dukes/Sadler) MCPS copyright Elektra Records,
- 'Rock Da House Y'all' by West Street Mob MCPS copyright Sugarhill/Castle Communications,
- 'Get Pepped' by Skinny Boys (Bush/Harrison/Harrison) MCPS copyright Jive Records

All tracks published by M62/BMG Music Publishing Ltd. except track 2 & 6 published by True Love.

First editions issued in double-gatefold digipack case, with perforated tear-away strip giving access to disc.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 43213 20672 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1,2): DISCTRONICS S 743213-20672 01
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner mould ring, Variant 2): 10
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 8709
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): none
  • Label Code: LC 8280
  • Price Code: BM 270

Other Versions (5 of 10) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
74321 32067 4 Dave Clarke Archive One(Cass, Album) Deconstruction 74321 32067 4 UK 1996 Sell This Version
74321 3611 02 Dave Clarke Archive One(CD, Album) Deconstruction, Bush 74321 3611 02 UK 1996 Sell This Version
74321 32067-1/2/4 Dave Clarke Archive 1(CDr) Deconstruction 74321 32067-1/2/4 UK 1995 Sell This Version
74321 3611 02 Dave Clarke Archive One(CD, Album) Deconstruction, RCA 74321 3611 02 Canada 1996 Sell This Version
74321 32067 1 Dave Clarke Archive One(2xLP, Album) Deconstruction, Bush 74321 32067 1 UK 1996 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 2, 2010

These days, Clarke is more known as a DJ than for making banging techno tracks, which is a shame. Ditched his decks and vinyl a few years back too. At one time he was a solid producer, and his best tracks stand up to anything out there. This CD is a compilation of some 12" tracks from his "Red Series" along with some other stuff, all sequenced into an album for home listening. I don't think ultra dull looped banger tracks had completely taken over techno, so what you get here reflects more of a Detroit influence. Specifically, Robert Hood and Jeff Mills, but Clarke has some ideas and personality of his own to add to the mix. He tries a few different things here and not everything works 100%. The opening track is a faux-orchestral, beatless synth piece and a couple tracks with some hip hop influences (and even vocals) pop up too. Personally, I think Clarke is at his best when he sticks to making fairly straightforward techno tracks that have peaks with heavy kick drums and gradual build-ups (I don't mean like trance though!). Protective Custody, Wisdom to the Wise, and The Storm are particular standouts to me. Miles Away takes a more melodic, less intense path and works pretty well too. Even if this isn't a perfect album, I'd still highly recommend it if you want to hear some of the best techno from the 1990s.


October 18, 2005
edited over 14 years ago

Archive One is an album every techno lover should have or at least should have listened to. It contains most tracks of the 'Red' series that were released on vinyl. Archive One contains tracks which strech the boundaries of techno: 'storm' and 'thunder' are two leaning on hardcore techno tracks, whereas 'rhapsody in red' is a kind of electronic 'classical' track. 'no one's driving' and 'the woki' are featuring f*$&ed up breaks. Other tracks are mostly good and relaxing techno tracks. Brilliant must have cd.


November 29, 2003

Trivia: my copy came in a cardboard gatefold sleeve, with a "tearaway" strip to open it. Once you'd torn away the strip, the words: "Archive accessed" were revealed. (No way to get at the CD without tearing the strip!)