The Chemical Brothers ‎– Surrender

Virgin ‎– 7243 8 47610 2 8, Astralwerks ‎– ASW 47610-2, Freestyle Dust ‎– none
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Music: Response
Written-By – A Richards*, Missy 'Misdemeanor' Elliott*, Tim Mosley*
2 Under The Influence 4:16
3 Out Of Control
Featuring, Vocals [Additional] – Bobby GillespieFeaturing, Vocals, Guitar – Bernard SumnerWritten-By – Sumner*
4 Orange Wedge 3:06
5 Let Forever Be
Vocals – Noel GallagherWritten-By – Gallagher*
6 The Sunshine Underground
Written-By – James Asher
7 Asleep From Day
Featuring, Vocals – Hope SandovalWritten-By – Sandoval*
8 Got Glint?
Written-By – B. Fevre*, J. Giordano*
9 Hey Boy Hey Girl
Written-By – Evens*, Pettiford*, Wigfall*, Bloodrock*, Fowler*
10 Surrender 4:30
11 Dream On
Featuring, Vocals, Guitar, Piano – Jonathan DonahueWritten-By – Donahue*

Companies, etc.



℗ 1999 Virgin Records Ltd.
© 1999 Virgin Records Ltd.
© 1999 Astralwerks

Printed in the USA

All Tracks Published By MCA Music Ltd.
Track 1 Additionally Published By Mass Confusion Music / Warner Chappell Music / Virginia Beach Music (ASCAP) / Latté Publishing
Track 3 Additionally Published By Polygram Music Publishing Ltd.
Track 5 Additionally Published By Oasis Music / Creation Songs Ltd. / Sony / ATV Music Publishing
Track 6 Additionally Published By Studio G Ltd
Track 7 Additionally Published By Sand Devil Music (BMI)
Track 8 Additionally Published By Remipa Publishing
Track 9 Additionally Published By JD Music (2) / Global Music (Global Music Ltd.)
Track 11 Additionally Published By Canaveral Pictures (BMI)

Track 1 contains samples from Nicole's (Nicole Wray) recording "Make It Hot". Produced under license from Elektra Entertainment Group by arrangement with Warner Special Products
Track 6 contains sample from the recording "Asian Workshop" by James Asher, licensed courtesy of Studio G
Track 8 contains sample from the recording "Earthmessage", licensed courtesy of Amplitude
Track 9 contains sample from the recording "The Roof Is On Fire" by Rock Master Scott And The Dynamic Three, licensed courtesy of Danya Records, Ltd.

Jonathan Donahue of Mercury Rev appears courtesy of V2 records.
Noel Gallagher appears courtesy of SINE, a division of Sony Music Entertainment (UK) Ltd.
Bobby Gillespie appears courtesy of Creation Records.
Hope Sandoval appears courtesy of Capitol Records.

Standard jewel case.
Front insert: 8-page stapled booklet, color print exterior and interior.
Back insert: color print exterior and interior.
Disc tray: clear.
CD: 2 spot-color print (deep blue and off-white).
Enclosed: 2-sided, 10cm × 8cm Astralwerks postcard, black print both sides. A photo of Tom & Ed appears in the indicia.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 24384 76102 8
  • Barcode (Scan): 724384761028
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L043
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 017046626620 1-2-4
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 1671
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, 1-2-4 is mirrored): 017046626620 · 1-2-4
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): ifpi 1679
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): 017046626620 1-2-10
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 1645
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): 017046626620 1-2-2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): none
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5): 017046626620 1-2-12 [Mirrored]
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5, 1-2-7 is mirrored): 017046626620 · 1-2-7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): ifpi 1673
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 6, 1-2-7 is mirrored): 017046626620 · 1-2-7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): none

Other Versions (5 of 87) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
XDUSTCD4, 7243 8 47610 2 8 The Chemical Brothers Surrender(CD, Album) Freestyle Dust, Virgin XDUSTCD4, 7243 8 47610 2 8 Europe 1999 Sell This Version
7243 8 47610 2 8, XDUSTCD4 The Chemical Brothers Surrender(CD, Album) Virgin, Freestyle Dust 7243 8 47610 2 8, XDUSTCD4 South Korea 1999 Sell This Version
ND – 083 The Chemical Brothers Surrender(CD, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label (The Chemical Brothers) ND – 083 Unknown Sell This Version
7243 8 47610 2 8, XDUSTCD4 The Chemical Brothers Surrender(CD, Album, Unofficial) Virgin (2), Freestyle Dust (2) 7243 8 47610 2 8, XDUSTCD4 Russia 1999 Sell This Version
none The Chemical Brothers Surrender(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label (The Chemical Brothers) none Ukraine Unknown Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



September 11, 2020

I grew up listening to "Surrender". It's one of my top favorite albums from The Chemical Brothers! It's got some of their best songs. Whether it's "Out of Control", "Let Forever Be" or "Hey Boy Hey Girl". A+


March 30, 2011
I feel this album has a more upbeat feel than their older stuff, I assume as they left the rave scene and entered the wider audience of "normal folk". But this album produced some great songs and even better videos. Of course cannot overlook how awesome Noel Gallagher and Hope Sandoval sound here and on the other Chemical Brother's albums.


March 25, 2010

The album that began to alienate the Chemical's audience: from then on, though their works are uniformly good (personally, I love ALL of them), their approach to the mainstream and similar approach in all their songs to psychedelia, techno and whatever genre could fit there began to tire critics and some fans that expected the same outburst of creativity that was in "Dig your own hole". To make it short: this is an excellent album, with some memorable tunes like "Out of Control" (a track that sounds what it should sound on paper: perfect blend of a New Order song and a Chemical Brothers jam), "Let Forever Be" (or the second time they and Gallagher show their obsesion with *that* Beatles track) or the druggy feast that is "The sunshine underground". As usual, the last song is pastoral and folky, there is the trancey stomper in "Hey Boy Hey Girl" and lots of nods to classic electronica everywhere.

What happens with this album, as it happens with the following ones from this duo, is that at first it seems nothing more than a group of well produced tracks... but they still work years after, because this Chemical sound is part of what crafted the indie-electronica marriage during the '00s. They understand how pop and machines can be together better than anyone, and that's why the indie crowd and electronica fans still don't miss then at every gig, and why every hip "indie" dj has a Chemical song of this era in their songlist and not from earlier (and more critic-loved) times. And I bet that in the following years "Hey boy" will still work at dancefloors everywhere. Just forever.