afjfromfla

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look as reviewed by afjfromfla

November 4, 2020
edited 3 months ago

Everyone knows this. A-side is one of the seminal dubstep tunes from, one could say, the third wave of dubstep (first wave being Hatcha and co. evolving out of dark garage with the second wave being the more typical half step Loefah, DMZ sounds, third wave being this permutation of people who came up going to DMZ nights and making their own weird take on it). It's dubstep from when dubstep meant something new, experimental, fresh, and when it pushed the edges of bass heavy dance music.

There's a formula for dubstep now and it's a shame bc this was really the peak of the genre, when you could have this or James Blake and a Mala or Coki tune fit in well together, all pushing things forward.
moket

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look moket

July 29, 2019
This dubstep you bunch of chin strokers. Three more words
bambino2010

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look bambino2010

May 16, 2018
when the phrase dubstep was coined garage was the dominant sound in the mix(el-b/Benny Ill)
shortly after the next generation brought the 138-142 low end experimental sounds.I do agree alot artist who are doing house & techno at 140bpm is not dubstep.No geezer rant just my opinion & I Love this tune.
Merowinger_86

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look Merowinger_86

May 10, 2018
It is music. And it's great. The genre doesn't matter.
happylittletrees

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look happylittletrees

October 2, 2018
Can I quote you on this? ;) So right brother!
Risingson

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look as reviewed by Risingson

January 3, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
As you can all see, the "dubstep" label became really confusing circa 2009. Right now it is more or less clear that "dubstep" calls memories of dubby tracks like the first Skream, Kode9 tracks or the wobbly ones from much more famous people, but the uk garage return was so disorienting that the audience and the critics forgot that this genre ever existed before. And this is what happened around 2009 and 2010: the return of the purest UK subgeneres, little by little, first uk-garage/2step , then oldschool breaks, and then some jumped to techno, others to house, others to jungle/drum n bass. Nostalgia all around.

Of course it was a gradual thing (the first Burial album was from 2007, and there are nods everywhere of the style in underground releases from Germany and Uk during the 00s). But this is one of the standout releases, just because it gathered everything that was floating around and put it in two tracks, two absolutely wonderful fantastic dreamy tracks full of London syncopation, where you could draw lines to Mad Mike moody tracks, Bukem old drum n bass, Todd Edwards use of samples, Bugz use of rhythms. And a musicality that my God Spaghetti Monster has reappeared only a few times: "Hyph Mngo" is the famous one, but the hooks in "Wet Look", the bridge, the use of "I'm falling and I can't turn back!" is pure inspiration. Masterpiece of a release, and something that reminds me of the two years I had more fun with electronic music.
aydiology

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look aydiology

November 1, 2015

to the guys below me, you are exactly doing that what producers don't want, they don't want to get pinned to a specific genre. what's even the point? just enjoy the music
ericandmeggan

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look ericandmeggan

July 8, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
Dubstep should just mean 135-145 beats per minute and a prominent baseline.
Fauch

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look Fauch

March 3, 2017
l1lyone
Future Garage. Period.

Who cares...It sounds good, that is all that matters
annexxe

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look annexxe

August 29, 2014

i would call it post-dubstep/future garage
bennyfroobs

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look bennyfroobs

July 10, 2014
this -is- dubstep, clearly,,, (not that a lot of producers actually like to pigeon hole their music into genres, they dont really care in my experience)

go revise ur knowledge on the history and varied sound of dubstep before you go misinforming ppl plz thank u
nadabrahma

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look nadabrahma

June 29, 2014
This AIN'T Dubstep. Garage. Soul. Yes.
freeeekyyy

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look freeeekyyy

February 23, 2011
Why is this considered dubstep? Hyph Mngo is about as far away from dubstep as you can get. Not everything that isn't a straight-forward bassdrum driven track is dubstep. The song has a lot more in common with house or garage than dubstep.

Anyway, now that I'm done ranting, it's an excellent piece of music. Soulful and deep, and makes you want to dance until you collapse.
pru_piper

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look pru_piper

June 15, 2018
Was played at all major dubstep events and percieved in the dubstep scene no matter what you think dubstep was in 2009 it was clearly not. Period
Herr_Zimmerman

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look Herr_Zimmerman

January 29, 2014

Most likely because it was released on Hotflush Recordings, which was one of the original dubstep labels, and still considered to be a rather prominent one. Even if it isn't "dubstep" per se, I'd rather listen to this than any of the Grime-style stuff that calls itself dubstep these days.
Infiltrate

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look Infiltrate

May 7, 2012
edited over 9 years ago
Like this one alot, quite a unique and different style.
RasierapparaT

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look RasierapparaT

January 24, 2012

hyph is such an awesome tune!!! and seriously is it really important if its dubstep or garage or house or wtf do i know?!
its just fantastic music ...
rondragon

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look rondragon

December 22, 2011
I completely agree with freeeekyyy. There is now a definitive genre that has risen from the plodding drudgery of dubstep that has more in common with house and techno - if fact wasn't this sort of pseudo breaks called 'broken beat' at one time?

In any event, I hail this new genre, whatever it's called, that seems to have fused various genres together, yet sounds different to all of them, with Hyph definitely at the forefront of it.
restless

Joy Orbison - Hyph Mngo / Wet Look as reviewed by restless

October 28, 2010
edited over 10 years ago

Considered by many as "the" "underground crossover" track of 2009, "Hyph Mngo" is a perfect example of a milestone track single-handedly embodying the evolution of a whole musical genre, in this case a pleasantly dramatic and "feminine" new direction for dubstep, a genre until then more hailed as "masculine", "urban" and "technical" in its aesthetics and sound approach.
This beautiful sonic UFO plays around a melodic synth line sweetly building the tension up and down, climaxing in this very hooky female cut-up vocals perfectly sound-treated resulting in a both warm and otherwordly intensity.
It was the most representative tune of a whole trend of "hybrid" dubstep-based songs, including Deadboy's "If U Want Me" or Darkstar's "Aidy Girl Is A Computer", that gave the genre a more "pop" and "feminine" touch.
As a result it was admired and played by a very wide range of DJs, from dubstep and breaks to techno, house and garage and even leftfield and indie, who could find affinities in the universal, sexy vibes spread by the tune. A must-have!