Various ‎– Derek Jarman's The Last Of England (The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Mute ‎– CD IONIC 1
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Simon Turner* Tonala 2:22
2 Simon Turner* Autmn Leaf 3:27
3 Simon Turner* Sketches Of Luxembourg 1:24
4 Simon Turner* The Last Of England 2:24
5 Simon Turner* Fina
Written-By, Arranged By – El Tito
6 Simon Turner* Persistence Of Memory 3:02
7 Simon Turner* The Bridge 2:49
8 Simon Turner* Hymn For Thatcher 7:04
9 Mayo Thompson & Albert Oehlen With Vocals By Tilda Swinton Disco Death
Producer – Mayo ThompsonVocals – Tilda SwintonWritten-By – A Oehlen*, M Thompson*
10 Brian Gulland Springback
Producer, Written-By – Simon Turner*
11 Barry Adamson & Martin Micarrick* Refugee Theme (15 Rounds)
Producer, Remix – Barry Adamson, Paul KendallWritten-By – B Adamson*
12 Andy Gill & Dean Garcia In The Free World
Written-By, Producer – Andy Gill
13 Simon Turner* Intro
Written-By, Producer – Simon Turner*
14 Diamanda Galas* La Treizième Revient (The Thirteenth Returns)
Producer – Gareth JonesWritten-By – Diamanda Galas*
15 Diamanda Galas* Εξελόυ Mε (Deliver Me)
Producer – Gareth JonesWritten-By – Diamanda Galas*
Dead To The World (Exclusive CD Sound Design By Simon Turner)
16 Simon Turner* The Day After Tomorrow
Voice [Spoken By] – Nigel TerryWritten-By – Derek JarmanWritten-By ["The Golden Thames"], Performer ["The Golden Thames"] – Simon Turner*
17 Simon Turner* Imprisoned Memories
Voice [Voice-Overs] – Derek JarmanWritten-By ["The Bridge"], Performer ["The Bridge"] – Simon Turner*
18 Simon Turner* The Dead Sea
Piano, Strings – Simon Turner*Violin – Sally HerbertWords By – Derek Jarman
19 Mayo Thompson, El Tito And Simon Turner* Broadway Boy
Written-By – El Tito, Mayo Thompson, Simon Turner*
20 John Dent And Simon Turner* The National Grid
Created By [Discovered By] – John Dent, Simon Turner*

Companies, etc.



Made in England

• Bombers
The sounds and music were recorded in London, New York and Mexico
A Duel K.P. Fisher Production

• Dead To The World
The Day After Tomorrow
Written by Derek Jarman and spoken by Nigel Terry and set to "The Golden Thames" written and performed by Simon Turner

Imprisoned Memories
Derek Jarman recording voice-overs in his flat set to "The Bridge", written and performed by Simon Turner

Created by Simon Turner and Richard Anstead at Videosonics

The Dead Sea
Words by Derek Jarman set to a collage of sound including tapes of the filming in London; Parfita 2 played by Sally Herbert on violin; Simon Turner on piano and strings; and various sounds recorded for The Last Of England but not used

The National Grid
Discovered by John Dent and Simon Turner during the cutting of the record - and which looked pretty on the oscilloscope

Thanks to: Daniel Miller/Harrow Road/Clovis/Rapier 33/Marianne
Thanks to: The McCormick Guest House, The State Of New York/The Children Of Soho/St. James Church, Piccadilly, London/Sony U.K./Pete From Brick Lane/Lindsey Anderson/Mayo Thompson/Yvonne Little

[Incidental information]
Main contributors are listed on back inlay as: Featuring music by Barry Adamson, Diamanda Galas, Andy Gill, Mayo Thompson, Simon Turner. Sound design by Simon Turner.
Diplomat, Bombers and Dead To The World sections are not listed on back inlay, they only appear in the insert.
Bombers credits section in insert is mis-listing track 5 as 'Fino'.
Dead To The World section lists a 3rd track, Jets, not listed on back inlay and not indexed in the audio content.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 016025 600496
  • Matrix / Runout: CD IONIC 1 :: MASTERED BY NIMBUS
  • SPARS Code: AAD



Add Review



January 8, 2017
Track 14 is called "La Trezième Revient", which means "The thirteenth returns", and track 15 is called "Εξελόυμε", which can be transliterated as "Exelóyme" and means "Deliver me". These tracks also appear in Diamanda Galás' album "The Saint of the Pit".