KisGotha

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook KisGotha

October 19, 2018
New mastering from the original analog tapes by Dave Dadwater for Yakuda Audio 2014. Original track list from 1984, no remix.
darren.dobbie

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook darren.dobbie

March 6, 2018
I love this album. It is still fresh and if released today would still be ahead of it's time.My favourite pressing has always been the original, having purchased the tape cassette as a youngster from our price music, Canterbury around 1986. I would love an original pressing CD, but I understand they was withdrawn from sale not long after release.They are about but at a cost.
It's an album best listened to as a whole and when you can concentrate on it. The album in it's early state had a purity and continuity that Jarre intended. Remix versions of Zoolook & Zoolookologie, although not a million miles away from the originals, upset that purity and continuity for me.The same goes for the track listing.
Still, if there was ever an album of the future, this would be it!
toadsound

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook toadsound

January 30, 2017
this one is pretty, pretty, pretttyyy ... pretty, pretty ... pretty good!
jermainejagger

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook as reviewed by jermainejagger

April 4, 2015
edited over 4 years ago

An amazing album! Probably my favorite by jarre & quite ahead of its time in my opinion. Makes me wonder if Bjork was maybe even influenced by it for her Medulla album. either way, zoolook is a great jarre album to own!
Crijevo

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook as reviewed by Crijevo

April 18, 2014
edited over 5 years ago
Of all Jarre's earlier albums, "Zoolook" remains a personal favourite - because it is by far his most entertaining, diverse and consistent work despite its somewhat scattered fragments. The very album title and some of the pieces cause pleasant confusion in terms of concept, evoking more of the tribal/ethnical elements (single-handedly inspiring certain Enigmas, Deep Forests and the like) - instead Jarre produced a surprisingly opposite-sounding collection of building blocks - that don't necessarily fit between themselves but their deliciously colourful plastic parts melt and blend in a perfect match.

Considering his ups and downs throughout a vast music career, it is quite ironic to listen to something called "Zoolook" from 1984 in the year 2O14, still sounding as fresh and contemporary, comparing it to shitty concept dance albums like "Teo and Tea". Even comparing it to the likes of "Oxygene", "Equioxe" and/or "Les Chants Magnetiques", which despite their own fun element radiate with uninspiring list of self-titled "parts", "Zoolook" wins exactly because of its song titles' diversity - humouristic and less pretentiously conceptual, albeit dangerously close to plagiarism, "Zoolook" rides its thin line between The Art Of Noise ("Zoolookologie" is his evident assault on "Beat Box"), Telex (who actually learned partially from Jarre), Laurie Anderson (hence her presence on the album's "Diva"), Yello, Thomas Dolby, Kraftwerk and to some extent even Peter Gabriel (it's a shame he didn't participate here as well - because, pieces like the gorgeous "Blah Blah Cafe" or "Wooloomooloo" sound like perfectly written with Gabriel in mind).

The Kraftwerk complex here is also an interesting possible element - at the time "Zoolook" came out, Kraftwerk were going through a creative crisis with their prolonged "Techno-Pop" affair. While Jarre basically exists in his own isolated world just like Kraftwerk, the competitive spirit of these two entities can be sensed in "Zoolook" (Kraftwerk initially considered the title "Technicolor" instead of "Techno-Pop" for this abandoned early session and were at the time quite scared off witnessing many groups and individuals taking over in their advanced technology race). In a way, "Zoolook" is almost an extended collection of ideas Kraftwerk would kill for - lacking a proper common theme, their final (and in its own way amazing) 1986 variant called "Electric Cafe" can be viewed as taking many cues directly from "Zoolook" which in itself wasn't an all-together original, but for the year 1984 it undoubtedly - and deservedly - stole the show.
gunger30

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook gunger30

March 6, 2014
I like very much this record, it is an experimental and puzzling album for period, with the use of human voices and percussions, really different from other albums of Jean Michel Jarre
adiscombug

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook adiscombug

July 18, 2012
edited over 7 years ago
Certainly a break from the previous albums - maybe more experimental. I would love to have Ethnicolor made up of 3 parts (breaks at 3:32 and 6:50) into individual tracks, then I could hear part 3 on loop on its own! This part on its own would deserve its own title as it seems out of kilter with the first 2 parts and its sister track Ethnicolor 2. Dare I say it has a techno element?! Infact, the more I listen to it, it sounds more joined up with Eldorado (featured on Images), and Calypso 2 (which also sticks out like a sore thumb on Waiting for Cousteau) and similarly takes me on a journey. Maybe that is the purpose by Jarre - to take us by surprise when we least expect it. Wonderful!
Stoffeler10

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook as reviewed by Stoffeler10

December 21, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
It's quite interesting to see Jean-Michel Jarre's development from the kitschy debut "Oxygene", over his much better following LP "Equinoxe", to this one.
In fact, Zoolook doesn't make you think of a Jarre release at all ! Especially side two offers pearls somewhere between Art Of Noise, Herbie Hancock or something produced by Bill Laswell of Material. Funky and surprising music this was in 1984....... and it still is today.
Don't let the name on the cover fool you, this record is worth to be discovered!
tarwater3

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook tarwater3

March 8, 2016
Let some reprimant you for the "kitchy" term you used (I couldn't agree more , BTW...) and let me fuckin' agree with all you said , this is a hell of an album , brilliant both music and sonic wise ... am not sure what was in Jean's brain at that time , yet the whole thing delivers n' makes a statement of innovation throughout ! The production is so layered , deep and stereo effect driven , it makes wanna wear the cans and get lost in the sonic marvel !!!!!!!!!!
vojin

Jean-Michel Jarre - Zoolook vojin

January 24, 2014
KITCHY debut? Who's to judge what's kitch anyway? Oxygenes 5 and 6 are kitch? Get some knowledge about Art before you judge.