Alberto Baldan Bembo ‎– Sound Orchestra

Star Track (2) ‎– ST.LP.TR1982
Vinyl, LP


A1 Cabo Frio 2:28
A2 Dry Foot 3:48
A3 Toucans 3:45
A4 Metropolis 3:45
A5 Nitrogen 3:30
A6 Pink B.B. 3:00
B1 The New Panther 3:25
B2 All My Dreams 2:40
B3 Jornal Do Brasil 3:29
B4 Digital Jumping 3:12
B5 Melanie 3:32
B6 If You Go 3:33


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: S.I.A.E


Add Review



March 8, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

This is a special record. Opener Cabo Frio is almost deceptive in its simplicity, you smile at the melody at first but then you start paying attention to the details: the subtle drumming, the fun and quirky vocals, and of course the brilliant bassline that gives the song a fanstastic groove. By the time you grasp it all you notice the tone now is melancholic, and the track slowly fades out. These mood changes, sometimes a lot more overtly obvious than here, give the relatively short tracks an almost journeylike feel to them - maybe not surprising considering Alberto Baldan Bembo's work in movies. He is a master of short storytelling no matter how the format and circumstances.

Here, he tells them with synthdriven samba, off-kilter electro, dreamy jazz-infused funk and low-key lounge instrumental soul. He experiments, challenges and paves new ground while still paying homage to his inspirations - The New Panther is a great take on Henry Mancini's iconic "The Pink Panther"-theme, keeping the noir-feeling but making the tone more interesting. At times a bit incoherent but in the end, you mainly can just marvel at whan an amazing little gem this is. An album that's a tad experimental yet somehow incredibly easy to listen to. Highly recommended!