jchristiananderson

Beck - Sea Change jchristiananderson

November 27, 2017
Looking for a cover in NM- condition if anyone's willing to sell. Left my copy sealed for too long and it developed seam splits.
Travis7524

Beck - Sea Change Travis7524

July 17, 2017

I've owned this record numerous times throughout my collecting years, and can say without a shadow of a doubt, it's definitely in my top 5 best sounding records. If you want me to believe the $20 reissue is of the same quality, be my guest....you are all suspect. I'm guessing it's from all the jealous folks that don't even own a copy of it. Nonetheless, I thank all of you for the driving the prices down on this release so I can afford to buy it once again.
barryb1983

Beck - Sea Change barryb1983

June 13, 2017
I don't care what anyone says - the MFSL pressing is dirt. This even in comparison to a Spotify stream. Physically, yes it's a nice pressing - zero complaints there, quality stuff indeed. But tonally, it's just plain wrong. The opening chords on Golden Age sound like it's being played on an Ovation guitar - which is to say no longer acoustic and organic sounding, but of a plastic and artificial timbre. Also, the sense of space apparent on other versions of this recording is somehow drastically missing.

For those about to questions my playback system, don't bother. It's good enough and I know its nuances and drawbacks well enough. If indeed the current cheaper pressing is of the same provenance I'd give that a miss too and stick with Spotify/ Tidal etc if you've got them. All in all, sounds like it was mastered by someone with compromised high frequency hearing impairments. Avoid. Mine will be up for sale shortly.
Trumpduck

Beck - Sea Change as reviewed by Trumpduck

December 9, 2016
As a longtime member of the Steve Hoffman forums, I can accurately say that this pressing is of highest quality and is a great alternative to the overrated and overpriced MFSL repressings. If you love this album so much that you feel the need to pay $300+ for a trumped-up "high fidelity" pressing, then have at it. A fool and his money are soon parted, etc.

Think of how many more records you could buy with $300 if you only paid $20 for this pressing..
Audiophale

Beck - Sea Change Audiophale

February 12, 2017

Hm, I don't know. I think it depends on your system. I paid $200 for my copy and don't regret it.
holdenmyd

Beck - Sea Change holdenmyd

February 9, 2017
I don't think it is. It doesnt say MoFi in it's matrix. The Vinyl Me Please version of Pinkerton is a MoFi pressing and they did not say anything about it, but you can tell from the matrix.
audiophile-vinyl

Beck - Sea Change audiophile-vinyl

January 8, 2017
edited about 1 year ago

It may be a "great alternative" to the MoFi, but unfortunately, it's not a better sounding version. ;)
.Richard.

Beck - Sea Change .Richard.

December 8, 2016
Anyone looking into the new 2016 edition compared to the MFSL should look on the forums for reliable info rather than the conflicting information here. In particular, on the Steve Hoffman forum. Comments left here may not be particularly reliable....
Trumpduck

Beck - Sea Change as reviewed by Trumpduck

December 8, 2016
Just confirmed with a UME rep that the exact same individual reels that were used for the MFSL pressing were used with this year's Sea Change repressing. So essentially, you are hearing the exact same thing on both pressings, because they were both sourced from the same reels. Anyone claiming that this new pressing is "inferior" is just attacking a straw man, I'm afraid..
audiophile-vinyl

Beck - Sea Change audiophile-vinyl

January 8, 2017

They are two completely different masterings. The MFSL is the only all-analog cut of this album (ten years ago they actually got those individual reels and spliced them together in order to cut four sides of the album). The new pressing is not straight from the tapes and it's not AAA. It comes from pre-mastered digital files just like the original issue.
Trumpduck

Beck - Sea Change as reviewed by Trumpduck

December 3, 2016
Just bought the 2016 reissue of Sea Change and compared it to this Mobile Fidelity version on professional high-end equipment. They are practically indistinguishable, right down to the artwork itself.

SAVE YOUR MONEY, vinyl enthusiasts. No need to pay hundreds of dollars for this version when you can now get virtually the same thing for about $20USD.
wowflutter

Beck - Sea Change wowflutter

October 4, 2016
A repress from Interscope is due on October 28, 2016.
Lancers

Beck - Sea Change Lancers

October 31, 2016
So happy to hear that! Thanks for sharing. Been wanting this for awhile without selling the farm.
rose1978

Beck - Sea Change rose1978

July 13, 2016
edited about 1 year ago

I don't know the brandname of the custom drums & especially from the snare drum (Ludwig, Gretsch or Slingerland..) or what kind of mics they used in recording but this is....ONE OF THE BEST & WARMEST VINTAGE SNARE DRUM SOUNDS I VE EVER LISTENED IN MY LIFE from a hi-fi source!
Ceresmotion

Beck - Sea Change Ceresmotion

May 4, 2016
listening again to this pressing after a year or so hiatus. it just gets better and better...think I've played my copy 5-6 times now and i'm sure it sounds better now than 1st/2nd listen. absolutely phenomenal pressing. I have the original pressing too and just played that afterwards and the difference in quality is astounding, and the original pressing isn't bad. pay £100 for the standard OG press or £200 for the MFSL ? I know what I'd do.
chrissy.winter

Beck - Sea Change chrissy.winter

April 20, 2016

I have acquired a mint promo copy without any numbering..
The record pressings themselves are incredible.
The sound after experiencing this album only ever in a digital format simply put, is magical.
This is one is a Crown jewel of a record.
My advice, save your money, pay the exorbitant after market price and invest in this sonic wonder.
tuggernuts

Beck - Sea Change tuggernuts

March 4, 2016
Does anyone have any idea how many of these were pressed? Mine is in the 500s so at least that many - 1000? 2000?
redufit

Beck - Sea Change redufit

July 23, 2016
hmm mine is 5220, so probably more than 3000 ;)
s.pressman

Beck - Sea Change s.pressman

April 25, 2016

Mine is 3582, so I guess more than 3582 were made. It is a fantastic record.
fatkimono

Beck - Sea Change fatkimono

March 17, 2016
Mine's 2621 so at least 3000. But I got it late so it could be just 3000.
rose1978

Beck - Sea Change rose1978

October 15, 2015
edited about 1 year ago

One of the smoothest moments..... for my brain & my soul.
doctorjj

Beck - Sea Change as reviewed by doctorjj

August 10, 2013
This is probably the best sounding record I own. The direct two inch tape to vinyl transfer makes for an insanely warm and personal sound. Almost as if he's sitting in the living room with you. I highly recommend this pressing over the original pressing which is thin and sonically disappointing. I've still yet to hear the very rare and very expensive SACD of this album, but I can't imagine it sounds better than this magical version. Do yourself a favor and add this beautiful pressing to your collection if you want to know what it would sound like if Beck played these songs in your house.