Pantha Du Prince ‎– Black Noise

Rough Trade ‎– RTRADCD544
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Lay In A Shimmer 6:37
2 Abglanz 6:04
3 The Splendour
Bass Guitar – Tyler Pope
4 Stick To My Side
Vocals – Noah Lennox
5 A Nomads Retreat 6:41
6 Satellite Snyper 5:28
7 Behind The Stars 6:50
8 Bohemian Forest 7:24
9 Welt Am Draht 7:10
10 Im Bann 3:26
11 Es Schneit
Written-By [Based On "Hilary" By] – Vinni Reilly*

Companies, etc.



Noah Lennox appearing courtesy of Domino Records. "Es Schneit" based on "Hilary" by Vinni Reilly of the Durutti Column (1985).

Tyler Pope appearing courtesy of Warp Records.

Mixed and mastered at Clunk, Berlin.

All tracks published by Domino Publishing except "Es Schneit". "Hilary" by the Durutti Column published by Imagem Music.

Cover and booklet photos by Hendrik Weber 2009 "Earthly Rejects"

℗&© 2010 Rough Trade Records Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 83870 05442 3
  • Barcode (Scanned): 883870054423
  • Label Code: LC-11945
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): [Arvato Digital Services logo] 53943427/RTRADCD544 21
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI LB47
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0777
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): [Arvato Digital Services logo] 53943427/RTRADCD544 21
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI LB47
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 07M2

Other Versions (5 of 11) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RTRADCD544 Pantha Du Prince Black Noise(CD, Album, Promo) Rough Trade RTRADCD544 UK 2010 Sell This Version
RTRADDA544 Pantha Du Prince Black Noise(11xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Rough Trade RTRADDA544 UK 2010
RTRADCD544 Pantha Du Prince Black Noise(CD, Album) Rough Trade RTRADCD544 UK 2010 Sell This Version
RTRADDA544 Pantha Du Prince Black Noise(11xFile, FLAC, Album) Rough Trade RTRADDA544 UK 2010
RTRAD544 Pantha Du Prince Black Noise(2x12", Album, Ltd, TP) Rough Trade RTRAD544 Canada 2010 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



August 15, 2016

Pantha du Prince moves in a more organic and indie direction with BLACK NOISE, his third album. Though his trademark warmth and ringing tones are present in "Lay in a Shimmer," these are accompanied by more natural-sounding percussion, and one might think that "Ablaganz" is a return to the chilly techno of his first two albums, but that's before the steel pan drums come in. "The Splendour" is more 'pure,' if that sort of thing matters, and the vocals that creep into "Stick to My Side" add another layer to an already filled track (Weber uses his own voice for the the darker "Behind the Stars"). The profusion of sound also encompasses "A Nomads Retreat," bringing in, once again, the contrasting high and low tones, but with much more in the middle to sideline those two halves. But it's "Satellite Snyper," with its cleaner lines, that does this better. "Bohemian Forest" also has the higher, ringing tones, but these eventually give way to xylophones. Meanwhile, "Welt Am Draht" has an actual guitar (both acoustic and electric) to back its dreamier float, and "Im Bann" carries this even further with an ambient track. But "Es Echneit" gets things more back to normal, once again flooding the sonic plain with a more melancholy deluge. A fascinating change of direction for Pantha du Prince.


July 16, 2016

ugh why ruin an otherwise great album with a crap vocal by pedobear. animal collective haven't contributed anything worthwhile since feels and that was well over a decade ago.


April 16, 2011

I was expecting minimal techno, and that I got and not ever having listened to Pantha Du Prince before, I didn't really know which way this was going to go. On one hand I'm pleased with this release, but having fallen into the clichéd trap of "judging a book by its cover", I clearly mistook the albums title for meaning something this release definitely didn't turn out to be. Black it is not and noise it most definitely is not either, which kind of sucked the wind out of the misguiding album title. Pleasant listen none the less.


February 5, 2010

Another indeed strong release, the sound hasn't changed that mych in my opinion, but hey, why it should? Pantha Du Prince is sticking to his own sound, which is melodic, very rich minimal techno. Absolutely wonderful release and I don't see why it should not be 5/5.