reshapingchannel

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II as reviewed by reshapingchannel

November 17, 2020
Trak II. It just takes you and does with you whatever it wants.
meltdog

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II meltdog

May 14, 2020
Check this out the https://www.discogs.com/The-Lil-DJ-Anthony-Acid-Rock-And-Boogie-Down/release/60737
Rock And Boogie Down (Lenny Does London Mix). For a bit of reggae fusion and early techno beats
xza23

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II as reviewed by xza23

February 24, 2020
One of the records that defines Basic Channel and techno in general , Phylyps Trak II/II is a brilliant track , this track made me search for even more records by them , legends. Timeless track , time can't touch it.
dj_norf_yurksha

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II as reviewed by dj_norf_yurksha

December 23, 2019
Just so simply addictive and hypnotising. In a sea of monotonous, boring, minimal dub techno/house records this one still stands head and shoulders above the rest. At the right moment in a set when a DJ has the crowd on his side, this sounds so powerful.
chrisnova777

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II chrisnova777

August 6, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
first heard this on a mixtape by simon dk - https://www.discogs.com/group/thread/700251 - life changing. i got the mixtape in the mail one morning in early 1995; had just cleaned my room; put the tape on; smoked 1; felt like i was floating off the couch; and here i am 24 years later remembering it
CountryGents

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II CountryGents

November 7, 2019
Wow he is a mate of mine. I just dug my copy out and am listening to it right now. The very best boring record I’ve ever owned
dylaf

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II dylaf

March 29, 2018
There were strings of reissues flooding shops through the 2000's; You can tell the difference: The original version has a wide, deep press mount circle within the label, the re-issues do not.
headphone_easyrider

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II headphone_easyrider

March 18, 2018
It's all true. My favorite dub techno record ever. As good as it gets.
jeromefarley

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II as reviewed by jeromefarley

January 29, 2017
Massive despite being oh-so-minimal. Sounded best that I've personally at NYC (analog sound) House Music Institution The Sound Factory (DJ Junior Vasquez' heyday). He played 2 copies of it (worked it for up to 45 minutes) for months before the vinyl was in stores. Someone offered me 200euros for one of my copies. Never ever ever. www.facebook.com/soundfactoryny
TriHard

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II TriHard

September 2, 2015
edited over 5 years ago
Radio Slave ripped this off.. for shame. this is the shit
carlos_cain

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II carlos_cain

December 12, 2019
I guess this track was meant: Tantakatan from the EP No Sleep (Part Four)
https://www.discogs.com/Radio-Slave-No-Sleep-Part-4/master/49333
dj_norf_yurksha

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II dj_norf_yurksha

June 5, 2019
Hi, on which track did Radio Slave rip this off/sample it? I just wondered out of interest :-)
thefin

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II thefin

August 13, 2015

The older I get, the better this track gets. It's a definite contender for the best track of all time. It's timeless and can be played in almost any set in any situation to any crowd. Incredible stuff.
martinbryce2610

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II martinbryce2610

December 4, 2013
The II/II has The Perfect Bassline.

Enough Said
thefbk

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II as reviewed by thefbk

June 20, 2012

This record MIXES WITH NEARLY EVERYTHING. I play doubles of it. it is quite possibly a perfect recording. I love this record, I will play it until my death, probably. If you don't have a copy, BUY ONE. At nearly any price. If you have not heard it, LISTEN. And listen again...then BUY ONE. If you can...
ultramaximizer

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II ultramaximizer

October 6, 2014
Can you link me to them? I haven't heard any
mikeholiday

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II mikeholiday

August 10, 2014

Such a great track! I like finding remakes of it, I've got quite a few now.
Duds1

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II Duds1

August 11, 2011
Its Minimalism at its best! Want the Record.
carlton

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II carlton

January 25, 2011
Phylyps Trak II/II is unbelivable. With not so many elements this guys created an awesome atmosphere. For me mixing some of the best dub techno, minimal and funky electronics I've ever heard. Repetitive sould people... And now you think... 94'? Oh my god! One of the best techno tracks I've heard. True words.
another_sam

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II another_sam

May 26, 2010
edited over 11 years ago

can't buy phylyps trak II with "Buy Digital" button. only "phylyps trak" (1).

anyway, B side is best temazo i've ever listened. I mean it. it's like perfect. nothing miss, nothing sobra.

can't understand how minimal has become the the depressing shit it is (or it is generally sold as) nowadays.
RodriguezAlhambra

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II as reviewed by RodriguezAlhambra

March 21, 2009

After some years of electronic music experience i'm totally sure that BC-09 is one of the 10, maybe 5 best records in the history.

The A side is a repetitive 12 minutes trip through the techno side of Basic Channel's mind.
This track is a train of contagious rhythm which no one techno lover can resist. You want to dance it from the beginning till to end.
It's absolutely underground but it will rock every dancefloor everywhere, any time!
Phylyps II/I is everything you should know about techno.
The statement of pure Basic Channel techno conception, which remains very current.

If this is not enough, on the B side, we have maybe the best club track ever made.
Not because i love it so much or it's masterfully composed, but because it contains the essence of the whole electronic modern club music.
5 or more years in advance.
It's immortal.
Practically a legend.

I'm surprised that someone gived to this record a "4" and not a "5".
This is perfect stuff.
Nothing less, nothing more.
The apex.

Sincerely, i'm sure this record will have a place in a museum, one day.
quidity

Basic Channel - Phylyps Trak II as reviewed by quidity

December 27, 2008
Many are familiar with track two. It has a dance floor sensibility that many basic channel records don't share. In fact Doc Martin used it well by sampling it for a remix he did some number of years ago. But i believe that the first side is overlooked. Not as dj friendly a mix, it has a hypnotic resonance that can storm any space. It's subtle sound shifts can easily be missed when you drop the needle through the track. I recomend starting from the beginning and let it play. You will experience a journey unmatched by most "dub" techno. It is a serious tool for experienced and fearless dj's.