darooyab

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue darooyab

November 16, 2020
awesome song, incredible voice and Im very emotional right now...
wplj

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue wplj

March 30, 2020
is this the album with the most reissues of all time?
bigjolly

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue bigjolly

September 23, 2020
I would say not, Sgt. Pepper's has 798 different versions.
jesseko

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue jesseko

July 14, 2020
I don't think so. This has (according to Discogs) 386 different versions, and there are some albums that have over double than that, like Dark Side Of The Moon with 793 different versions. Thats the most versions I could quickly find, but there may be a album with even more than that too, i don't know.
gigioni

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue gigioni

September 17, 2019
Somebody knows the best edition?
Year and label
Because much of them haven't no good sound...
Thanks
RyansGoldenRecords

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue RyansGoldenRecords

October 20, 2019
edited 12 months ago
gigioni
Somebody knows the best edition?Year and labelBecause much of them haven't no good sound...Thanks

Many others may beg to differ, but may I suggest an original 1959 US or Canadian mono 6-eye pressing. While a Canadian copy with -1B/-1B runouts is the only pressing I've owned, I'm convinced it is THE ONE to beat for sheer holography, musicality, spaciousness and depth. The only thing I feel it lacks is in top end extension, which stereo releases seem to do better - just get past that and the original mono is as good as most any jazz vinyl will ever get in sound quality.

You just need the right setup, one particularly capable of projecting a large soundstage - otherwise it won't live up to its full potential as one of the best-sounding vintage jazz LPs ever made. I also recommend something to sum down the 2 stereo channels to mono, such as a Y-cable (or in my case the stereo/mono button of my EMU 0202) - this is how all mono records deserve to be played, as it cancels out a lot of surface noise and brings even more depth out of the recording.

The turntable/cart combo I've found to work best with this pressing is a Dual 701 with an Audio Technica AT91 - which ironically is among AT's most basic entry level cartridges, along with its lower-compliance sister the AT3600L.

The thing I feel that makes the AT91 really sing with mono KOB is it's combo of .6 mil conical needle (very forgiving of surface noise on mono records of this vintage) and ABS carbon fiber cantilever, which while is exclusively a feature of AT's most basic carts has seen a cult following among fringe audiophiles as being more 'musical' compared to aluminum cantilevers. I've used the aluminum cantilevered ATN5625AL stylus on the same cartridge and it just didn't 'sing' in the same way with this record.
AleksOne

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue AleksOne

November 20, 2018
I don't get, why there are so many reissues stated as unofficial? Also houses like FNAC seem to put out an bootleg? There seems to be a mistake. Can someone please clarify or explain this to me please?
JazzpersRecords

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue JazzpersRecords

October 19, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
Anybody got some info on -1BF. Can't find an issue with "F" as second/last letter, thus after the B, anywhere.
BOTH SIDES have identical matrixes by the way.
mattinglymint23

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue mattinglymint23

August 31, 2018
I just picked up a
Side A -1H / side B -1D
gabepride

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue gabepride

August 10, 2018
There are more matrix variants not listed on discogs. I have a -1G, -1AD.
Canerods

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue Canerods

August 1, 2018
I have a Mono 1st pressing with these numbers:
Side 1: XLP7324-1G
Side 2: XLP7325-1AE
DonFever

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue DonFever

June 25, 2018
I just picked up a Mono 1st pressing with 1G/1G stampers, you don't hear those mentioned, although I read somewhere the mono promo's came out with G,H, and D stampers.
RyansGoldenRecords

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue RyansGoldenRecords

July 4, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
DonFever
I just picked up a Mono 1st pressing with 1G/1G stampers, you don't hear those mentioned, although I read somewhere the mono promo's came out with G,H, and D stampers.

The 1B/1B mono metalwork, meanwhile, was sent to Canada. For the sake of consistency in plate/stamper use across the board, copies from one pressing plant would've been derived from one lower set of lacquers; metalwork for another pressing plant may come from higher-numbered lacquers (cut after the lower-numbered ones in the same day or mastering session). I believe this is a general rule of thumb for Columbia releases of the time.
oct

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue oct

March 19, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
A lot of early Matrix numbers are missing here,
the very first commercial mono pressing has 1A-1A numbers for example.
leonthepro

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue leonthepro

May 30, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
1A has nothing to do with it being earlier. Its just the first Lacquer cut. But it doesnt mean its closer to the source or sounds better than a 1B press.
Usually albums get something like 10 Lacquers cut on the same day and they are sent out to different plants to all make records out of.
pagwadjinini

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue pagwadjinini

September 8, 2016
The Matrix code suffix 1D indicates that this was the 4th lacquer cutting (D) from the 1st Master Mix Tape (1st pressing run).
highpriest23

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue highpriest23

April 27, 2017
I would be careful with statements like these. In the first attempt it seems logical - but as long as there are no valuable proofs from CBS themself that there was a system like this (x for lacquer / y for master) it might be anything. Maybe these numbers and letters refer to the inhouse masterings, the master discs that were sent out or the three main pressing plants, who knows for sure. There exist pressing from artist that won't have sold thousands of records but have matrices with e.g. 14L.
I'd love the idea that A1 means firstpress and so on, also even though you will never know if your firstpress isn't the 5.000 copy from the first master and maybe the 123 from the third master will be the better one. But to take this for granted would be careless.
Reading the comments of W.B. in the LondonJazzCollectors blog gives a great insight to the obscure practices of matrix indications...
kirksvinyl

Miles Davis - Kind Of Blue kirksvinyl

January 13, 2017
If there is no suffix does it mean it's the original?