Moby ‎– Play

Mute ‎– CDStumm172
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Honey
Mixed By – Mario Caldato Jr.
2 Find My Baby 3:59
3 Porcelain
Vocals – MobyVocals [Additional] – Pilar Basso
4 Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?
Vocals – The Shining Light Gospel Choir
5 South Side
Vocals – Moby
6 Rushing 3:00
7 Bodyrock
Vocals [Additional] – Nikki D
8 Natural Blues
Mixed By – I Monster
9 Machete
Vocals – Moby
10 7 1:02
11 Run On 3:45
12 Down Slow 1:34
13 If Things Were Perfect
Vocals – MobyVocals [Additional] – Reggie Matthews
14 Everloving 3:25
15 Inside 4:48
16 Guitar Flute & String 2:09
17 The Sky Is Broken
Vocals – Moby
18 My Weakness 3:37

Companies, etc.



Released in a standard jewel case with 12 page booklet insert of credits, liner notes and photographs.

Natural Blues mixed in Sheffield.
'Honey' features samples from the Bessie Jones recording Sometimes, produced under license from Atlantic Recording Corp. by arrangement with Warner Special Products.
'Find My Baby' features samples from the Bay Blue recording Joe Lee's Rock, produced under license from Atlantic Recording Corp. by arrangement with Warner Special Products.
'Bodyrock' contains a sample of the Love Rap as performed by Spoony G & the Treacherous 3. Used under license from Enjoy Records Inc.
'Run On' features samples from Run On For A Long Time by Bill Landford & The Landfordaires, used courtesy of Sony Music.

All songs published by Little Idiot Music/Warner Tamerlane (BMI) except Bodyrock,
published by Little Idiot Music/Warner Tamerlane (BMI)/Bobby Robinson Music.

℗ 1999 Mute Records Limited.
© 1999 Mute Records Limited.
Made In Great Britain

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 016025 611720
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5016025611720
  • Matrix / Runout: [Sonopress Logo] A-34919/CDSTUMM172 A
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LB 46
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0766
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0791
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Label Code: LC 5834

Other Versions (5 of 118) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
63881-27049-2 Moby Play(CD, Album) V2 63881-27049-2 US 1999 Sell This Version
CDStumm172 Moby Play(CD, Album, Unofficial) Mute (2) CDStumm172 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
EVERCD 085LTD Moby Play - 2CD Box Set Edicion Limitada(CD, Album + CD, Comp + Box, Ltd) Everlasting Records (2) EVERCD 085LTD Spain 2000 Sell This Version
7243 8 21265 22 Moby Play(CD, Album, Enh, Unofficial) NeoRecords (2) 7243 8 21265 22 Ukraine 2001 Sell This Version
709 Moby Play(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Astra 709 Russia 1999 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 3, 2004
edited over 14 years ago
2 tracks of this album were used for Season 7-episodes of the X-Files series. "The Sky Is Broken" appeared on 7x17 "All Things" and "My Weakness" appeared as a kind of main soundtrack on 7x11 "Closure", when agent Mulder finds the soul of his dead sister.

The versions of "My Weakness" that are used for "Closure" as intro and end soundtrack are slightly different re-edits by Mark Snow.


January 6, 2003

"Porcelain" is by far my favorite track on this album. Although the lyrics are somewhat sad, it's a very sexy make-out song. Next in line would be "Run On," an old-timey harmonized gospel track with a bouncy beat. Very fun! Although I agree with others that his older stuff is different, I wouldn't go so far as to call it "better"...Just different, and all quite excellent to listen to. It's no wonder this CD put Moby on the mainstream map.


September 16, 2001
edited over 17 years ago

This album is a departure from Moby's earlier work, very slow and thoughtful. Most of the tracks feature samples of a gospel choir from a bunch of cassettes Moby bought when he visited the south. I think its okay for a listen now and then, but its not my favorite stuff. Despite the rap it might have gotten for being a little cheesey, I think Bodyrock is a pretty decent track.