Pete Rock ‎– Soul Survivor

Loud Records ‎– 07863-67616-1, Loud Records ‎– RCA 07863 67616-1, RCA ‎– 07863-67616-1, RCA ‎– RCA 07863 67616-1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Soul Survivor Intro 1:38
A2 Tru Master
Featuring – Inspectah Deck, KuruptWritten-By – J. Hunter*, P. Phillips*, R. Brown*
A3 Half Man Half Amazin
Co-producer – Pete RockFeaturing – Method ManProducer – Grap LuvaWritten-By – Johnson*, C. LaMonica*, C. Smith*, D. Harris*, McDaniels*, George Brown, John Bettis, Simmons*, Muchita*, K. Blow*, K. Brinson*, Smith*, L. Parker*, N. Jones*, P. Phillips*, Steven Porcaro*, W. Mitchell*, W. Waring*
A4 Respect Mine
Featuring – OC*Written-By – Smith*, Woods*, Porter*, Coles*, Grice*, Hayes*, Hunter*, Hawkins*, O. Credle*, P. Phillips*, Diggs*, Jones*
A5 Tha Game
Featuring – Ghostface Killah, Prodigy, RaekwonWritten-By – A. Johnson*, C. Woods*, D. Coles*, P. Phillips*
B1 #1 Soul Brother
Written-By – L. Parker*, P. Phillips*
B2 Rock Steady Part II
Featuring – Lord Tariq, Peter Gunz*Written-By – Barry White, P. Phillips*, P. Hankey*, S. Hamilton*
B3 Truly Yours 98
Featuring – Kool G. Rap*, Large ProfessorRemix [Reconstructed] – Pete RockSupervised By [Overseen By] – Marley MarlWritten-By – N. Wilson*, P. Phillips*, W. Mitchell*
B4 It's About That Time
Featuring – Black Thought, Rob OWritten-By – H. Hancock*, P. Phillips*, R. Odendo*, T. Trotter*
C1 One Life To Live
Featuring – MC EihtWritten-By – A. Tyler*, P. Phillips*
C2 Take Your Time
Featuring – Carl McIntosh, Jane EugeneWritten-By – C. McIntosh*, J. Eugene*, P. Phillips*
C3 Mind Blowin'
Featuring – Vinia MojicaWritten-By – P. Phillips*, V. Mojica*
C4 Soul Survivor
Featuring – Ms Jones*Written-By – P. Phillips*, T. Jones*
D1 Da Two
Featuring – C.L. SmoothWritten-By – C. Penn*, D. McDaniels*, J. Mizel*, J. Simmons*, L. Smith*, P. Phillips*, R. Simmons*
D2 Verbal Murder 2
Featuring – Big Punisher, Common, Noreaga, Willie Stargell (2)Written-By – A. Hardy*, C. Rios*, L. Lynn*, M. Hall*, M. Williams*, P. Phillips*, V. Santiago*
D3 Strange Fruit
Featuring – Cappadonna, Stickey Fingaz*, Tragedy KhadafiWritten-By – D. Hill*, K. Jones*, P. Chapman*, P. Phillips*
D4 Massive (Hold Tight)
Featuring – Beenie Man, Heavy DWritten-By – D. Meyers*, M. Davis*, P. Phillips*

Companies, etc.



Manufactured & distributed by BMG Distribution, a division of BMG Entertainment.

Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC.

⦁ "Tru Master" contains a sample from "It's A New Day" (James Brown)
⦁ "Half Man Half Amazing" contains samples from:
- "If Ain't Hard To Tell" (Nas)
- "The Style You Haven't Done Yet" (Boogie Down Productions)
- "The Old School"(Kool Kyle The Starchild/Billy Paul)
- "Togheter Forever" (Run-DMC)
- "Rock Box" (Run-DMC)
- "Survival Of The Fittest (Mobb Deep)
⦁ "Respect Mine" contains a sample from "C.R.E.A.M" (Wu-Tang Clan)
⦁ "#1 Soul Brother" contains portions and samples from:
- "Still #1" (Boogie Down Productions)
- "I Ain't No Joke" (Eric B. & Rakim)
- "Public Enemy No.1" (Public Enemy)
- "Here We Go" (Run-DMC)
- "The Doo Doo" (Biz Markie)
⦁ "Rock Steady" contains a sample from "Strange Games & Things" (Love Unlimited Orchestra)
⦁ "Truly Yours '98" contains portion and a sample from "N.T." (Kool & The Gang)
⦁ "It's About That Time" contains excerpts from "Goin' Home" (Sonny Phillips) and "Jimbrowski" (Jungle Brothers)
⦁ "Da Two" contains a sample of "Jam Master Jay" (Run-DMC)
⦁ "Verbal Murder 2" contains portions of "Pickin' Boogers" (Biz Markie)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7863-67616-1 9
  • Barcode (UPC scanned): 078636761619
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side label): 0786-67616-1-A
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side label): 0786-67616-1-B
  • Matrix / Runout (C-side label): 0786-67616-1-C
  • Matrix / Runout (D-side label): 0786-67616-1-D
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side runout etching variant 1): 07863-67616-1 A
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side runout etching variant 1): 07863-67616-1 2B-2
  • Matrix / Runout (C-side runout etching variant 1): 07863-67616-1 C RE
  • Matrix / Runout (D-side runout etching variant 1): 07863-67616-1 D
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side runout etching variant 2): 07863-67616-1 A
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side runout etching variant 2): 07863-67616-1 2B
  • Matrix / Runout (C-side runout etching variant 2): 07863-67616-1 C RE
  • Matrix / Runout (D-side runout etching variant 2): 07863-67616-1 D
  • Other (Sticker number): 67616-1
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 28) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SOULSURVIVOR001 Pete Rock Soul Survivor(2xLP, Album, P/Unofficial, Tra) Not On Label SOULSURVIVOR001 US 2014 Sell This Version
RCA 07863-67616-2 Pete Rock Soul Survivor(CD, Album) BMG Music Canada RCA 07863-67616-2 Canada 1998 Sell This Version
EK 91310 Pete Rock Soul Survivor(CD, Album) Loud Records EK 91310 Canada 1998 Sell This Version
74321619782 Pete Rock Soul Survivor(CD, Album) Loud Records, RCA, Steven Rifkind Company 74321619782 Europe 1998 Sell This Version
#SOULSURVIVOR001 Pete Rock Soul Survivor(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Unofficial) Not On Label #SOULSURVIVOR001 US 2014 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



September 2, 2020
To me it's till this day his very very best album he brought us! King!


May 18, 2018
One of the best. Pete`s the master of basslines... Got my copy signed by Pete Rock!


December 5, 2016
edited over 4 years ago

Classic Hip Hop album. Soulful with some great features. It makes me smile, WORD!


August 28, 2016
Probably the most consistent hip-hop album ever for me. Such a shame that there isn't an instrumental version of it.


March 16, 2016

Instant Classic with mostly melodious, soulful Hip-Hop-Tracks, that features Rap-Legends as OC, Kool G Rap and Rock's Partner in Crime, CL Smooth.