MIA* ‎– /\/\ /\ Y /\

XL Recordings ‎– XLLP497, N.E.E.T. ‎– XLLP497
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Message
Mixed By – M.I.A. (2)Written-By – Steve LoveridgeWritten-By, Producer – Sugu Arulpragasam
A2 Steppin Up
Mixed By – Neal Pogue, Switch (2)Producer – RuskoWritten-By – Christopher Mercer (2), Dave Taylor, Maya Arulpragasam
Mixed By – Ben H. AllenMixed By [Assistant] – Robert Gardner (2)Producer – Blaqstarr, Blaqstarr, RuskoWritten-By – Charles Smith*, Cherry Byron-Withers, Maya Arulpragasam
A4 Teqkilla
Mixed By – RuskoProducer – M.I.A. (2), Rusko, Switch (2)Written-By – Cherry Byron-Withers, Christopher Mercer (2), Dave Taylor, Maya ArulpragasamWritten-By, Producer – John Hill (14)
B1 Lovalot
Mixed By – Switch (2)Producer, Mixed By – M.I.A. (2)Written-By – Dave Taylor, Maya Arulpragasam, Opal Josephs, Sekou Davis, S. Davis*, Sheldon PennicotWritten-By, Producer – John Hill (14)
B2 Story To Be Told
Mixed By – RuskoProducer – M.I.A. (2), RuskoWritten-By – Christopher Mercer (2), Dave Taylor, Maya Arulpragasam
B3 It Takes A Muscle
Producer, Mixed By – DiploWritten-By – Henri Overduin, Michael Mulders
B4 It Iz What It Iz
Producer, Mixed By – BlaqstarrWritten-By – Charles Smith*, Maya Arulpragasam
C1 Born Free
Mixed By – Switch (2)Producer – M.I.A. (2), Switch (2)Written-By – Alan Vega, Martin Rev, Maya Arulpragasam
C2 Meds And Feds
Mixed By – Derek Miller*, Shane P. Stoneback*Producer – M.I.A. (2)Written-By – Maya ArulpragasamWritten-By, Producer – Derek E. Miller
C3 Tell Me Why
Mixed By – Ben H. AllenMixed By [Assistant] – Robert Gardner (2)Producer – DiploWritten-By – Maya Arulpragasam, Wesley Pentz
C4 Space
Mixed By – RuskoProducer, Mixed By – M.I.A. (2)Written-By – Christopher Mercer (2), Maya Arulpragasam
D1 Internet Connection
Producer – Blaqstarr, M.I.A. (2)Written-By – Charles Smith*, Maya Arulpragasam
D2 Illygirl
Mixed By – BlaqstarrProducer – Blaqstarr, M.I.A. (2)Programmed By – Kim BullardWritten-By – Charles Smith*, Maya Arulpragasam
D3 Believer
Mixed By – M.I.A. (2), Switch (2)Producer – M.I.A. (2)Producer [Vocals] – Switch (2)Written-By – Charles Smith*, Maya Arulpragasam
D4 Caps Lock
Mixed By – BlaqstarrProducer – Blaqstarr, M.I.A. (2)Written-By – Charles Smith*, Maya Arulpragasam

Companies, etc.



Recorded in part at Red Bull Studios, Los Angeles.
℗ & © 2010

Gatefold sleeve includes lyrics.
Insert contains credits.

Vinyl release includes 4 additional tracks.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 34904 04971 3
  • Matrix / Runout: BA05985-01 A1 MK
  • Matrix / Runout: BA05985-01 B1 MK
  • Matrix / Runout: BA05985-02 C1 MK
  • Matrix / Runout: BA05985-02 D1 MK

Other Versions (5 of 15) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
B0014344-02 MIA* /\/\ /\ Y /\(CD, Album) XL Recordings, Interscope Records B0014344-02 US 2010 Sell This Version
BGJ-11084 MIA* /\/\ /\ Y /\(CD, Album) XL Recordings, Hostess Entertainment Unlimited BGJ-11084 Japan 2010 Sell This Version
LAB 10030-2, XLCD497 MIA* /\/\ /\ Y /\(CD, Album) Lab 344, XL Recordings LAB 10030-2, XLCD497 Brazil 2010 Sell This Version
XLCD497 MIA* /\/\ /\ Y /\(CD, Album) XL Recordings XLCD497 Canada 2010 Sell This Version
B0014362-02 MIA* /\/\ /\ Y /\(CD, Album, Dlx) XL Recordings, Interscope Records B0014362-02 US 2010 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 24, 2016
edited 9 months ago

Her masterpiece so far. It is hard stuff at first, sonically creative, provocative, quite extreme sometimes but never overloaded. She auto bombed her persona and popularity by doing what she really wanted to do, expose a new aspect of her art and share it with the bigger audience who discovered her thanks to the Kala era success.
She was not prepared for the stardom provoked by the Paper plane big hit shortly after it was associated with the movie slumdog millionaire which definitely popularised her music and put her on the mainstream stage where she obviously felt uncomfortable. This album simply establishes a sort of anti cult of personality around a consensual M.I.A that Hollywood tried to create by giving her celebrity and loads of cash...
With /\/\ /\ Y /\ she is simply indomitable and much more into controversy and scandal. She managed to be brilliant, risky, outsider while others misinterpreted this effort as a big failure. Some wanted her to keep surfing on exotic music landscapes. She did the oposite by putting out those electrifying hardcore etnic punk tracks. She put her guts into this work and she has been brave. It's something unique you will not find anywhere else. This is unfortunately the most common characteristic for any album which had been hardly criticized before being embraced by people and being considered as a masterpiece afterwards. 5 stars for sure