Erik Van Den Broek ‎– 7th Sense Presents: The Assembled Tracks

Seventh Sense Records ‎– SENSE CD 001
CD, Compilation


1 Urban Bells 7:06
2 Energize 6:20
3 Mic By Dunn 2:00
4 Together In Paradise 6:38
5 Somewhere In Space 5:58
6 In Soul Motion 7:17
7 Based On Space 5:41
8 Yazzid 6:22
9 A World Of Few 4:14
10 Garden Of Lust 4:35
11 Techno Inferno 4:22
12 Seagulls 4:57
13 Mixed Emotions 4:38

Companies, etc.



All tracks composed, produced and mixed at "Nite Work Studio"

7th Sense Presents: The Assembled Tracks

Total Playing Time (70'08)

Previously released on:
Passion Flower: Track 1, 6, 7 & 10
Pure Impulse Project: Track 2 & 8
Rhythm Overload: Track 3 & 4
Pure Impulse Project II: Track 9 & 13
Rhythm Overload II: Track 5, 11 & 12

Freaky Music adm
by Nanada Music
Made in Austria

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 014584 1 30163
  • Barcode (Scanned): 6014584130163
  • Matrix / Runout (Mirrored): SENSE CD–001 32 A1 MASTERED BY DADC AUSTRIA
  • Rights Society: BIEM/STEMRA
  • Label Code: LC 5896



Add Review



June 21, 2010

Now, this is what pops up into my mind when I get asked about music for the living room. A few years before IDM had the inevitable misfortune of falling prey to breakbeats when its tempo was too much for the "couch potatoes" to dig the groove, Erik van den Broek dropped an old school gem which cleverly combines demode dutch rave sound, alla Go Bang! Records, plenty samples and vocal samples, old schoolish pianoesque synth stabs, Detroit techno harmony and a very likeable, open minded and approachable sound of the music, which is fabulous to experience in a club, yet simultaneously, due to many influences and sources of inspiration, the record is versatile enough to satisfy the exhausting individuals who'd prefer to kick it back in their apartment and enjoy some vintage electronic music magic, as well as those who want to lose it on the dancefloor to some time resistnat audio frequencies on its last legs, refusing to succumb to history's unpitying clock hands.
Basically, to keep it short and simple, this is a release strictly for those in the know. If you've cherished stuff such as "Antisystem", "Mysterious Traveller", and releases which had more light shed upon them such as Speedy J's debut "Ginger", Quazar's dutch evergreen "Seven Stars" album, and the early, melody driven Detroit treasures like the Pod release, then this is another pearl you really want to own.
If you have been around for a while, and are nostalgic, or just in the mood to grab hold of one of them albums from way back when electronic music seemed like a genre which knew no limits, a phenomenon able to vacuum ideas from all over, form a collage out of used stuff, and still come out with something totally unique, well, then you need this. If you miss those days when you sat by the speaker and thought how the sounds penetrating your ears knew and had no boundries and obstacles they couldn't overcome, then this is another one of those exciting pieces of plastic which should crash in your life, and remain hard to comprehend or define, not due to its lack of quality or ideas, more because of the fact there are so many of both, you will have a hard time to accommodate "7th Sense Presents: The Assembled Tracks" under any given genre tag you have at your disposal.
It will cost more than the average consumer is willing to spend, but then the average customer can go ahead and buy the latest Deep Dish remix of a reworked classic which was already a remade attempt at outshining a tribute to an ancient Dianne Warwick masterpiece which was covered by my grandmother's son in law back in 1982. In my opinion, this is an A+ release, and most definitely not everyone is going to share my enthusiasm, but then again, if everyone did, then blind devotees like myself wouldn't ever get a chance to go out there and cop gems like this one!